We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #574 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our first stay at this hotel, which is excellently placed for getting to all the major attractions and reasonably priced by London rates. Our room was smallish but reasonably comfortable; at the back away from the main road so no traffic noise - but all these rooms suffer from a constant "hum" from the kitchen extractor fans. Long queue for breakfast; and once we did get a table it is a bun fight to get to the buffet breakfast ingredients. However, the food was of a good quality. Left our bags with the hall porters for a few hours; and felt the 50p per item charge to be worthwhile.

Room Tip: None seem to be noise-free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 2,693 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have just returned from staying in the Tavistock hotel this weekend. I don't usually leave comments but I thought this was worth one. We arrived at Euston station at 9 o'clock, and in the hotel by 09.20 am. . We asked if we could leave the case in the hotel as check in is not until 2 pm. The reception staff said if we waited approximately 10 mins, , there may be a room available soon. Within 5 minutes, there was a room available. The staff were so helpful. We had checked in and where out of our room by 10 am, Outside the hotel was the big bus tours, It cost £58.00 for both of us, This ticket lasted for 2 full days, hop on and off whenever we wanted, plus it included 2 river cruises and 3 walking tours if required. It was definitely worth the money .On our 3rd day, we walked to Covent garden, which took us only 20 minutes stroll, where we seen a show and enjoyed the atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this hotel for location, friendliness of the staff, and also for Jacques bar were the prices were really good for food and drink. The full English breakfast each morning was well worth going for, everything you would expect was there. ,. The hotel was clean and our room was changed daily. The hotel may need updating but personally, for what it cost, it was fine.. We will be booking this hotel again when we visit London again. .. There is not anything we could complain about. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Could not really say, We looked out on Tavistock Gardens, No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in the 'Tavi' on a number of occasions for work, but his was the first time I visited for a pleasure trip. This hotel is great value for money and is a very convenient location, within walking distance of Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston stations, as well as a short walk to Russell Square underground station. The hotel itself has a faded charm all its own, a bit run down, looking as if it has seen more salubrious days, but still retains its own character. The rooms are clean and tidy although there is a 'no frills' policy which I didn't mind given the price and location. You will need to take your own shower gel, shampoo etc, only a few small compementary bars of soap given. Another tip is to maybe take a small towel with you, we only got one small towel each, although these were changed daily and we managed ok. Breakfast offers a good selection of all the usual offerings and a lovely cup of tea! The staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Only shortcomings are that the rooms, and hotel itself, are over hot even when the weather is not. You will not need to take warm nightware! The other thing is that there is some noise issues in some of the rooms. There is a bowling alley at the back, as well as a very noisy aircon system. Also avoid any room directly next to the lift, or you will be disturbed into the early hours wth guests going up to their rooms. Your best bet is a room at the front, as these are quieter even though on the main road. I can't comment on how easy it is to move rooms, as it didn't bother me enough, but as I said, staff were very helpful in other ways. Just one thing I would also mention is that the online booking system from the hotels' direct website is a bit odd, and I was directed to different sites, which worried me a bit that the booking wasn't done properly, but in fact, everything was fine. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a budget trip to London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front and away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent the weekend in London taking in a couple of shows and seeing the sites. The Tavistock was the perfect base for us being so close to transport and walkable to the theatre district. The room was great value and the breakfast was superb. The staff were all helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is ideal for an overnight stay in London. Very cheap but also very good quality. Check in was quick and easy. Rooms were basic but clean. Breakfast was average but can't complain as it was free!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I would recommend the Tavistock for a short stay, for the excellent location, especially considering that it is affordable for central London. Otherwise the hotel is in urgent need of a modernization.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Maria Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I regularly stay at the Tavistock. It provides everything necessary for overnight stays at a very competitive price for London. No frills but pleasant clean rooms and good service. Good central location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#507 of 1,078 in London
3,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#879 of 1,078 in London
8,265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,078 in London
1,272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,078 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $102 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing