We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for my 5th visit in July”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #605 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Returning for my 5th visit in July”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I am looking forward to my 5th visit of 18 days to The Tavistock in July. I love this hotel. As other reviewers have pointed out it has state of the art 1950's decor and looks a little worn in places. However, from my point of view that makes it comfortable. The hotel and staff are both very welcoming.

The location could not be better - 3 minute walk to the tube and served by several buses. The square across the street is beautiful and has benches allowing a restful visit. Sunday afternoons reading The Observer in Tavistock Square is very relaxing.

The breakfast is excellent. The breakfast staff are very friendly and some of them are long term. Don't forget your Breakfast Card,

There are no little bottles of body wash or shampoo. I drop by a drug stores (chemist?) and buy a supply to last my visit. The cost is low compared to the savings on the room rate.

I have researched extensively and cannot find another hotel that is better value. Accomodation that costs a similar amount usually has a drawback such as no elevator and narrow walk up staircases.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fridges. the 07 single room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    983
    843
    322
    178
See reviews for
410
879
263
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went to British Museum exhibition, so very easy to walk, and handy from Euston where we arrived. Had to have a twin room as no doubles available, and facing onto the inner courtyard. Not a terrible problem as only using the room to sleep and shower. However, it was cramped, very stuffy and hot (in March) so sleep was not easy as opening the window was too noisy. Wi-fi only worked in the foyer, so if course this was packed with people. Not too good when you are trying to work out routes and places to visit.
On the upside, breakfast was excellent and restaurant staff were superb, they deserve great praise.

Room Tip: Go for higher up and at the front, if possible. Better views and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marydon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Happy with Hotel for the price...Good English Breakfast, the staff were very friendly and quick with your Tea/Coffee served by them.......The only draw back was the hotel was too HOT, even with the radiators turned OFF.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We got a budget deal through Trivago on our weekend stay and for what we paid we have no complaints. We had a twin room on the 7th floor which was comfortable and had all the amenities we would expect from a three star hotel (it's rated as four star). The bathroom was a bit pokey and the room itself a little bit spartan. Perhaps some pictures on the wall to brighten things up? Breakfast was buffet style so plenty of it, lots of choice and it was reasonably cooked. We didn't use the bar or eat in during the evening as we had a dinner booked elsewhere.

The location is very good, on several bus routes and not far from Russell Square underground station (Piccadilly Line), Euston and Kings Cross/St Pancras. Its about a 25 minute walk to the junction of Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street and another ten minutes to Leicester Square or Covent Garden.

I think I might feel a bit dispapointed if we'd had to pay full price, but we'll be on the lookout for deals here as we would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, especially on the lower floors, but the views are better at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcubitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Everything about the room was 'acceptably adequate', without any aspect being plush, or luxurious. Price of the room was reasonable for being in central London, and only ten minutes walk away from main stations and underground made it hugely user friendly. The first night (of three) we were granted a free three-course meal in Jacques (next door), but you could only select from a very limited and uninspiring menu with this offer. The portions were certainly generous, well presented, and it filled a need we had for quick meal before a show, but doesn't reflect particularly well on the hotel itself. I would rather have had a '£20 off' voucher to use there, and then would perhaps have enjoyed the experience of dining at Jacques rather than just tolerated it. Decor of the restaurant was a bit drab and plain. Breakfast in the hotel was a far better experience; the continental breakfast offering is very limited, but the cooked breakfast bar allows for a good and happy start to the day, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Would I stay here again ? Yes - it was quite adequate, very well positioned, and overall quite reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms that open on to the street don't have air conditioning, so it you like a bit of fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeBoulevardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Good location, but otherwise just an okay hotel. The breakfast was minimal. You'll be better of having breakfast at Costa or getting something at Tesco Express (both are located short walk from the hotel towards Russell Square station). The shop right next to the hotel is expensive, wouldn't recommend unless you're in a hurry and absolutely need something.

The wifi does not work in the rooms. You can get a password and username at the reception, but it only works for four hours (less if the wifi kicks you out, you'll need a new combo to log in again).

The shower was difficult to set to a nice temperature. There was no shampoo, just pieces of soap that were replaced with new packages after each cleaning. I was very disappointed by this. Such horrible waste!

The teacups in the room hadn't been properly washed. When I poured water in them, I got a greasy layer floating on the surface and the tea immediately coloured the cup brown. Neither happened after I washed the cups myself. The remote control was dirty as well. Though I'm very happy there was a kettle and tea in the room.

Otherwise the room was nice and clean (though fitted carpets are disgusting no matter where you go). The staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to London in Februaryto see a show that had been pre-booked as a gift for us. Usually we drive everywhere but this time we decided to take the train....... After a stressfull journey due to train changes & delay etc we arrived at our hotel.
Check in was easy but when we got to our room it was a twin & not a double. I phoned down to reception who said to go back down. Our room was changed without question.. no problems.
Our room was clean,warm and comfortable.Breakfast was excellant and there was lots of it.
The Hotel is situated within walking distance to the tube station,theatreland, good shopping area & lots of places to eat Our stay was nice despite the cold weather and yes I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie-Dawn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#252 of 1,068 in London
1,745 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#125 of 1,068 in London
1,221 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#77 of 1,068 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#473 of 1,068 in London
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing