We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay yet again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,089 Hotels in London
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay yet again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Tavistock. My rating is based on value for money, location, cleanliness, staff friendliness and breakfast and other facilities. Guests should not expect a 5 star luxury hotel for the budget price, but everything you need is provided by this hotel and I have stayed there many times over several years and have always been very pleased. The location is second to none, close to Russell Square tube and the British Museum etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and even ones overlooking the street are very quiet. Tea and coffee making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melchior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    954
    816
    311
    167
See reviews for
390
845
257
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel as it is very close to Euston station (5 mins walk)
Totally satisfactory for a short stay, the rooms are clean & comfortable, if a little old fashioned.
Not five star, but if you just need a bed and a decent breakfast for a very good price, look no further !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice clean hotel, staff are friendly. Housekeeping efficient, although the rooms are on the small side, (really small). Breakfast was good, variety a little slim, as there was no cheese!
Excellent location of hotel. Close to all the major sites in London. I walked with my daughter to the British Museum, Oxford Street, Covent Garden, and Trafalgar square!
Had a wonderful time, the hotel was a good place to come back to after a hectic day of shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tavistock for a week and came to love the place! But as anywhere there are pros and cons, so I'll list a few!

Cons -
1. The Internet. There's only free Internet in the lobby, unless you're lucky like me, we got weak signals from level 1. Everyone uses the wifi in the lobby and that slowed things down majorly. Also they use a printed code thing that expires every time you step from one room into another. Extremely annoying.

2. The staff. The staff on general are good but the bad ones drag them down. The breakfast room staff especially, im sorry but old lady with the attitude, you have to be nicer to the guests and not scream at them from across the room. There also seems to be a racial segregation of staff which was concerning. The white staff were all front desk concierge etc where people could see. Same with those of asian descent. They kept the darker races, those of middle Eastern and south asian descents in the kitchens and the breakfast rooms. It was very obvious.

3 the breakfast. It is absolutely sub par. I'm sorry. One can only eat powdery sausages for so long. Tea and coffee isn't hot. It's just a mess.

Pros -
1. The rooms. They're a good size (we had a double) and they come with numerous facilities like hair dryers and the tv has good channels. Our toilet had an issue though but that was solved. Also housekeeping is good, thanks for changing the pillow cases daily.

2. The location. It's a less than five minute walk from Russell sq station. So convenient! Lots of shops and eateries around the area too. Make sure you check out the Russell sq garden area, feed the squirrels!

3. Breakfast staff with the nice arms and lovely booty - you're a fine man!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank raphmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

A very nice hotel, star rating spot on, great location for everything London! Walked to the hotel from kings cross station, about 15 minutes. Russell Square tube station just around the corner. Travelled for a long weekend.and was really pleased with the location. Had a fantastic pre theatre dinner in Hix restaurant Brewer Street Soho.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We made the trip to do a show and some christmas shopping we find the Tavistock situated quite close to euston station so it is very handy and it is of a good overhall standard.

Hubert & Sandra Truman

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hubert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed early December for 3 nights with a party of 6. Good location ,close to the tube and good bus network. Rooms basic but clean and warm. Just quite a lot of noise from the bowling alley below (room 223, stay at the other side , we got moved). Our room was just above and kept us up to 3 am ,although our friends close by where not too upset. We got the free meal deal for staying 3 nights and it was good with large portions. Breakfast was basic but good with attentive staff. Bar basic but very reasonable, pints of beer from £3.10. We where all pleased for the value of this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Away from bowling ally
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank sndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#445 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #582 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares. The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing