We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and down to earth”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #584 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Initially I was concerned when I read some of the reviews,I need not have worried my room on the third floor facing the side of the square met all my needs.Comfortable bed,clean bathroom with lots of hot water,flat screen tv,tea and coffee in the room.If you needed anything all you had to do was ask and reasonable request were met.The breakfast was more than adequate and it was lovely to have tea and coffee served at the table.I have to say have stayed in pricey hotels and breakfast can be like an army assault course,this is not the case here a very relaxing feeling that went with the Art Deco surroundings,it must have been a stunning place in its heyday.The one thing I found annoying was the amount of whinging guests looking for things to complain about,I can only imagine they were trying to get a discount on what was already brilliant value,I would have no problem recommending the hotel to colleagues and friends.I also found the staff I came into contact with polite,courteous and friendly,then again it mind depend on how you speak to them so ye sow so shall ye reap.

Room Tip: Turn your radiator off as soon as you get into the room it will avoid the sauna effect unless it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Large busy hotel Initial impression was desperately in need of a refurb. But the staff were always helpful ( if a bit deaf when you wanted coffee at breakfast). Room clean and mid sized. Very, very hot at night but I was on the top floor lower rooms might be better. Breakfast was fine but didn't eat any other meals in the hotel as people said the food was cheap ish and poor quality. Only paid £79 a night for a double room including breakfast so for a mid week high season central London hotel not bad.

Did fel sorry for the tourists as really was quite shabby. With a bit of TLC the 30s decor could be Beatiful.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8 floor very hot and lifts can take a few minutes as they get full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarwickshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. Mainly chose this hotel because of the location and the price. Our room overlooked Tavistock Gardens which was nice. Nice sized room, and fairly comfortable bed. Good that we could adjust the bedding to suit. Most hotels these days don't layer their beds, and you either have a sheet, or a hot doona. The rooms were too hot. The airconditioning needs to be turned down. You shouldn't have to open your windows to cool your room down.The pillows however really need to be replaced. Nice to have a room with a bath. Ample breakfast in nice breakfast room. Chose not to pay and extra 5 pounds each for the option of a full breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can it is nice to have a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I found it very comfortable with an excellent breakfast. But there were failings.
Firstly, although there were tea and coffee facilities there was only one tea and one coffee per person.
Secondly, when it came to running a bath I couldn't turn on the cold tap so had to wait until the water had cooled down enough!
Thirdly, when I tried to pull out the bath plug the chain came away so I couldn't drain the bath! It would take a pair of pliars to remove the plug.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

stayed twice april and may.both times in room on second floor facing a roof in centre of buiding.room was hot but window opened so was ok if a bit noisy.the only noise was the odd door shutting.no extractors in bathroom so was very steamy.cooked breakfast looked ok but continental consisted of toast like rubber as it was pretoasted and left under a heat lamp, 3flavors of corn flakes and packet juice.coffee terrible but lady serving it was helpful.All the upstairs carpets and walls looked rundown but public areas in reception were ok.all in all,small rooms,a bit shabby but fresh linen every day. Tthe great thing was being on piccadilly line direct to heathrow 3 pound offpeak

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidneyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Tavistock for a week in May. The hotel was recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. The 4th floor room was very clean and reasonably quiet considering that it overlooked a fairly busy intersection. The bed was a little lumpy but being exhausted taking in the sights soon made for a good night's sleep, despite the mattress condition :-). It was great to make tea in the room was most welcome after a long day of sight seeing in sometimes cold, and rainy, weather. A full English Breakfast buffet was included with the price and was great, especially the scrambled eggs. Hot tea/coffee was served by very efficient and kind dining room staff. The location was excellent, between the Picadilly and Northern Lines, and getting to and from sight seeing points and Heathrow was a breeze. Free Wifi was available in the lobby and bar areas.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a weekend stay.
The rooms are small but servicable.
Whomever changed the windowsill in my room (plastic, not my taste) should have been supervised to ensure they replaced the torn wallpaper.
The extractor fan in the bathroom of room 830 does not work, but I'm sure they're aware of that, having been made aware by the chamber staff.
Nylon backed foam rubber blankets on the beds! Who would have believed it?
No bath towels supplied, but I daresay they would have been available on request.
Why is the bed on casters? Try and read in bed and the bed will roll away, only 9" or so, because that's all the room there is between the bed and dressing table.
Satellite TV is not as advertised, fewer than 10 channels.
Breakfast is good, you can hardly go wrong with this though.
The art deco bar is strangely uncomfortable, until you realise all the chairs and tables are 6" too short. (same for the foyer tables and chairs) Were the people of the 1900's that much shorter than we are today? For goodness sake hang that art deco mirror clock (above the bar) from the wall instead of propping it up against the wall, it would look so much better.
The entrance to one of the bars has a Tiffany style leaded glass pillar, pity the other one has not been repaired

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the seventh floor may be best, far enough away from the disco in the basement. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewarth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#515 of 1,076 in London
3,579 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#873 of 1,076 in London
8,163 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#565 of 1,076 in London
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,253 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#285 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing