We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but clean and good location”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #585 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Tired but clean and good location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Large busy hotel Initial impression was desperately in need of a refurb. But the staff were always helpful ( if a bit deaf when you wanted coffee at breakfast). Room clean and mid sized. Very, very hot at night but I was on the top floor lower rooms might be better. Breakfast was fine but didn't eat any other meals in the hotel as people said the food was cheap ish and poor quality. Only paid £79 a night for a double room including breakfast so for a mid week high season central London hotel not bad.

Did fel sorry for the tourists as really was quite shabby. With a bit of TLC the 30s decor could be Beatiful.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8 floor very hot and lifts can take a few minutes as they get full
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    968
    829
    315
    170
See reviews for
400
856
262
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. Mainly chose this hotel because of the location and the price. Our room overlooked Tavistock Gardens which was nice. Nice sized room, and fairly comfortable bed. Good that we could adjust the bedding to suit. Most hotels these days don't layer their beds, and you either have a sheet, or a hot doona. The rooms were too hot. The airconditioning needs to be turned down. You shouldn't have to open your windows to cool your room down.The pillows however really need to be replaced. Nice to have a room with a bath. Ample breakfast in nice breakfast room. Chose not to pay and extra 5 pounds each for the option of a full breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can it is nice to have a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I found it very comfortable with an excellent breakfast. But there were failings.
Firstly, although there were tea and coffee facilities there was only one tea and one coffee per person.
Secondly, when it came to running a bath I couldn't turn on the cold tap so had to wait until the water had cooled down enough!
Thirdly, when I tried to pull out the bath plug the chain came away so I couldn't drain the bath! It would take a pair of pliars to remove the plug.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

stayed twice april and may.both times in room on second floor facing a roof in centre of buiding.room was hot but window opened so was ok if a bit noisy.the only noise was the odd door shutting.no extractors in bathroom so was very steamy.cooked breakfast looked ok but continental consisted of toast like rubber as it was pretoasted and left under a heat lamp, 3flavors of corn flakes and packet juice.coffee terrible but lady serving it was helpful.All the upstairs carpets and walls looked rundown but public areas in reception were ok.all in all,small rooms,a bit shabby but fresh linen every day. Tthe great thing was being on piccadilly line direct to heathrow 3 pound offpeak

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidneyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Tavistock for a week in May. The hotel was recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. The 4th floor room was very clean and reasonably quiet considering that it overlooked a fairly busy intersection. The bed was a little lumpy but being exhausted taking in the sights soon made for a good night's sleep, despite the mattress condition :-). It was great to make tea in the room was most welcome after a long day of sight seeing in sometimes cold, and rainy, weather. A full English Breakfast buffet was included with the price and was great, especially the scrambled eggs. Hot tea/coffee was served by very efficient and kind dining room staff. The location was excellent, between the Picadilly and Northern Lines, and getting to and from sight seeing points and Heathrow was a breeze. Free Wifi was available in the lobby and bar areas.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a weekend stay.
The rooms are small but servicable.
Whomever changed the windowsill in my room (plastic, not my taste) should have been supervised to ensure they replaced the torn wallpaper.
The extractor fan in the bathroom of room 830 does not work, but I'm sure they're aware of that, having been made aware by the chamber staff.
Nylon backed foam rubber blankets on the beds! Who would have believed it?
No bath towels supplied, but I daresay they would have been available on request.
Why is the bed on casters? Try and read in bed and the bed will roll away, only 9" or so, because that's all the room there is between the bed and dressing table.
Satellite TV is not as advertised, fewer than 10 channels.
Breakfast is good, you can hardly go wrong with this though.
The art deco bar is strangely uncomfortable, until you realise all the chairs and tables are 6" too short. (same for the foyer tables and chairs) Were the people of the 1900's that much shorter than we are today? For goodness sake hang that art deco mirror clock (above the bar) from the wall instead of propping it up against the wall, it would look so much better.
The entrance to one of the bars has a Tiffany style leaded glass pillar, pity the other one has not been repaired

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the seventh floor may be best, far enough away from the disco in the basement. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewarth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at the Tavistock for one night late last week. Location is good being close to Kings Cross Station and central London. Opposite the hotel is a pretty park/square and the hotel itself has some impressive and beautiful art deco features.

Check-in was stressful and after 15 minutes of waiting whilst the rude and unhelpful gentleman checked the computer we were given the same room number as the other group in our party - we had to query this and eventually got correct rooms. Whilst at reception we also witnessed a member of staff on the phone to what we persume was someone complaining and the conversation ended with the member of staff getting angry, slamming the phone down and saying 'you can p*** off'.

The communual areas are run down and rough. The carpets seem to get worse the higher the floor you are on. Our room was very basic - it was clean from a distance but on closure inspection was very dusty. The bedding was sheets and then itchy blankets - no duvets which I found stange. I am only early 20's so maybe blankets are acceptable? I did miss a duvet and found the sheets/blankets uncomfortable.

There was plenty of hot water and the shower pressure was amazing - there was no extraction system in the bathroom so after a shower it was like a sauna.

Breakfast was fine - I only had the continental breakfast which is included in the room price. There was a fee of £5.00 for the buffet syle english breakfast, which looked acceptable. The staff in the dining room were helpful and friendly.

I accept that the hotel is reletiveley cheap for London but if I visited again I would not choose the Tavistock.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#462 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #585 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing