We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“musical trip to london”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“musical trip to london”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

my daughter and I are just home from a 2 night stay at the Tav. What a great place to stay.We arrived from Scotland at 8.30 a.m walked 5 mins from Euston station and we were there. The girl on reception checked us in straight away, no messing about with times. room 351 was more than we were expecting from previous comments, the shower alone was worth the money. we don't know London so armed with out wee map off we went. We found all the hotspots all within walking distance of the hotel, so much so we were walking around for hours and kept finding somewhere else of interest round the next corner or over the street.We booked seats for THE BODYGUARD and already had tickets for THE JERSEY BOYS both of which were BRILLIANT. next morning buffet breakfast , all the usual stuff, which was very nice and hot. So all in all the tavistock hotel was fantastic and would have no problem recommending it or using it again for any future visits to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janicesavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    954
    816
    311
    167
See reviews for
390
845
257
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well, as they say, you get what you pay for. In this case, the Tavistock Hotel for ₤78/night, including full English breakfast and, thanks to a special being offered, one free dinner. To be fair, I've paid less for much better via Hotwire (most recently, the wonderful Crowne Plaza in Shoreditch for $100/night), but no great Hotwire deals were available for the two nights I needed a hotel in London. I've stayed twice at other Imperial Hotels and always found them inexpensive but dated and in need of an update. The room was on the 6th floor and facing Tavistock Square -- a beautiful view, a great location, but beware -- noisy due to the traffic below and no air conditioning or fan options in the room so either a warm room with windows closed (relatively quiet), or a cool room with windows open (great fresh air, but noise). Mattresses were about as saggy and springy as I've felt in a hotel, basically as bad as a sofabed with the springs poking out as you try to sleep. The room was fairly clean, the sheets had hair and discoloration from previous guests despite clearly having been washed, and they also smelled bad (I suspect some kind of cheap laundry detergent). Great water pressure in the shower! Wifi only in the lobby. Breakfast frankly stinky and disgusting. Dinner at Poppadom Express, an Indian buffet, basic but not bad. Got the picture? If Imperial Hotels ever updates their properties, they will be able to charge a lot more given the great location on and around Russell Square. So cheap and so-so, or expensive and nice. You be the judge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights after being booked there because it was close to our headquarters in Tavistock Square. Price wise a bargain since there is also a restaurant come cafe attached with very reasonable light meals. There are also a number of decent pubs in the vicinity as well as proximity to two main railway stations.

Back to the hotel- the room was clean and quiet on the 8 th floor and very compact. The heating is however not regulated and so can get quite hot, so I switched off the radiator for the duration
of my stay and opened the window which has a safety catch. There was a relaxing chair but because of the size of the room, it was tucked under the open plan clothes hanging area. There
was no safe in the room or Internet which was only accessible in the lobby which can get quite crowded and noisy. The breakfast staff were very polite and the buffet continental as well as English breakfast menus did not really vary at all, however there is reasonable choice.
Would I go back- perhaps, since the size of the room can become somewhat claustrophobic. I would have to bring my own travel size toiletry. I understand there is refurbishing going on, which is probably a good thing since the floor boards in the passage on my floor were squeaky. Not sure why one has to pay 50p for storage if you have your suitcase kept after checking out- could be complimentary.
I had asked for an early check in and the hotel agreed because my flight arrived early in the morning. This was not honored, so I hung around till well after 1 pm before showering in preparation for afternoon meetings starting at 2:00 pm

Room Tip: Room 835 was quiet and away from the busy lift area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed from April 5-12 with my 2 adult daughters (2 twin beds and a rollaway cot). I asked for and got a room facing the park higher up (5th floor). Our room had a bay window which added more floor space (needed for 3rd bed). There is some traffic noise with the windows open but the view is worth it. It is not fancy (some peeling paint from water damage) but it was clean. Only soap is provided but I knew that beforehand and brought toiletries. Lots of hot water and very strong water pressure in shower. Hair dryer is available from housekeeping with a GBP20 deposit. Kettle, tea, coffee, cups and glasses in room. Continental breakfast is very basic but no different from what I eat most days (bran flakes) anyway. I could have had English breakfast for a few pounds. The staff were accommodating and friendly (especially the lady serving coffee and tea at breakfast). Location is FANTASTIC. 3-10 minute walk to 3 tube stations (Russell Sq. station is on the line from Heathrow, if you buy an Oyster card at Heathrow, it costs GBP3 after 9:30 a.m. to get into London - it takes about an hour), 3 train stations, Oxford St. buses, the British Museum. There is a small grocery store around the corner where I got apples for 49P and little jugs of milk for 59P (I prefer real milk in my tea). The store has a wide assortment of food and beer and wine if you don't want to pay restaurant prices for every meal and they were giving a 10% student discount on most things. We were out most days for 10-12 hours so we just needed a place to sleep and it fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebest55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A comfortable room at a reasonable price. No luxury toiletries but essentials such as soap. Tea and coffee in the room I liked the fact there was a wardrobe, not just an open hanging space that is usual in business hotels these days. Lots of very hot water. Towels thin but effective and always changed. Good lighting in the bedroom.

Downstairs, free wi-fi in the lobby and bar, none elseswhere. Concierges excellent, rushing out in the rain to find taxes etc. Breakfast room hot, tables small, buffet breakfast with the usuals, but tasted better than it looked. Toast already made which is good for time and turnover so fast that it was still crisp.

This hotel is part of the large Imperial group and other than breakfast, food and coffee was only available in a small bar. You were directed to the other hotels for a variety of resteraunts.

It was very adequate for a stay where you were out all day, and for London, very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed at this hotel from the 8th april to 11th april on a superbreak through the coop travel. Arrived mid afternoon and was dealt with by reception in a professional manor , firstly we were allocated room 309 which is on the front of the hotel third floor unfortunately when we opened the door to the room someone was already staying in the room. Upon discovering this we informed reception who resolved our dilema very promptly and we were reissued with room 305 once again front of hotel on third floor.
GOOD POINTS
Room: - double room with bay window and ajoining door to room 304, room itself was clean and adequit ,onsuite bathroom with shower,soap provided , towels changed daily , bed comfy , extra bedding if needed can be provided , tea and coffee facilities, small flat screen tv with many channels national and international .
Food :- breakfast was good plenty of choice both english and continental , dining room spacious tea and coffee brought to table , tables cleaned , no having to wait for a table ,waiter waiting to greet you on arrival in the dinning room,no queuing for food everything replenished promptly.
The tavistock is in a central location surrounded by many eating places so cannot comment on any aspect of evening dinner or snacks .
Wifi is available by obtaining a piece of paper from the porters desk.
Luggage can be left for a small fee prior to departure as locked away for safe keeping we never asked how much but i believe that it was approximately 50p per item no matter how large or small.
NEGATIVE POINT
Due to the location of this hotel which is surrounded by both main roads and utilised by both cars,buses,lorries the outside noises can be quite annoying at times.During our stay we were constantly awakend in the early hours due to sirens of emergency vehicles transiting past our hotel to the surrounding hospitals.

Room Tip: Would advise to request a quiet room and not on the front of the hotel away from the main road and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridetobe6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

wonderfull location.very clean staff very helpfull and friendly.breakfast was excellent for the life of me dont know what people complain about as i had read on reviews that it wasnt up to much well that was a load o rubbish.i was there with my son and grandaughter and we all loved it.would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#445 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #582 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares. The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing