We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- service average and can be noisy but good value hotel round the corner from British Museum”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on training with Breakthrough Breast Cancer and the hotel was arranged through them. Otherwise I never would have thought of staying here. My room was lovely with a great view of the square. I would have traded that view, however, for a good night's sleep. Whether but was the bar, two floors below, or the bowling alley just beyond that, something was bellowing out music with a heavy bass until 2am. Food in the bar, and the Full English Breakfast were nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Lin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last January I stayed 5 nights at Tavistock Hotel and I love it!
Excellent localization: near Russell Square Tube Station, British Museum, University of London.
The whole staff was so kind: every time I need something they were ready to help me.
My room was comfortable and clean: I will never forget the sweet smell - I think it was lavender - on my bed!
Through the window I could see snow covering the Tavistock Square: teardrops fell from my eyes <3
The only thing I think that could be improved is the breakfast: I miss hot chocolate, cupcake, cheese, yoghurt, croissant ;)
Next time in London, I want to stay at Tavistock Hotel again!

Luciana Palhanos (Rio de Janeiro - Brazil)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuRoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a rail deal with 2 nights accomodation with complimentary 3 course evening meal on the first night. The hotel is ideally located just 10 minutes walk from Euston. The hotel is overlooking the square. We were on the 8th floor. The rooms were dated but clean. Reception staff effecient. I was particularly impressed with the concierge who was very knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was interesting...the staff were unfriendly and even bossy. We sat at a table set for four and was told to move to a table for two! No smiles or pleasantness on either morning. Breakfast itself was a help yourself matter and was ok. Although the evening meal was complimentary, it was aversge and I wouldn't have been happy to pay for it. Overall for what we paid was a good deal, located well and ideal for what we wanted which somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep after a busy day and night of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetters8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a masterclass in how to run a budget hotel. I defy anyone to find better in London for the same cost per night. Clean rooms, TV, kettle and decent en suite. Much better than Travelodges and much cheaper (if you can't book in advance).

The room rates here don't get higher as the hotel gets full. Same price a month in advance or arriving on the day save for the occasional online offer.

I paid £204 for a double room for two nights including tax and breakfast and got an offer online for a free three course dinner for two. In London that is about as cheap as you can get AFTER tax.

If you expect luxury you will be disappointed. For those that complain about the staff, they are not rude, it is just that English is not the first language for many of them (as in most London hotels) but they are efficient. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable.

Food in the restaurants is average but as it was included I can't complain. Portions are hearty though; no one left feeling hungry.

I had no room noise although I did overhear someone complaining about noise from a road. In my experience this is the same as any inner city hotel anywhere in the world and not worthy of complaint.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zammeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is the second time at the Tavistock. For the price it is excellent value in central London. The location is perfect.
This time was better than last,the room had been refurbished and had a trouser press and a hair dryer,and the ridiculous keys on long pieces of metal changed to card keys. The only thing the rooms lack is a safe. Breakfast is not the highest quality but perfectly ok. Apart from a rather miserable unfriendly blond girl at check in the rest of the staff were very friendly and nice. I have stayed at the Imperial and Bedford and think that the Tavistock is now the best value. As others have said it is very hot in the rooms and you have to open the windows so if you are facing the street it could be very noisy,so I would recommend asking for a quiet room.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Julian169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the Tavistock again as its excellent value at only £75 a night. With meetings in Oxford street, the Tavistock offers a great central location being only a short walk from Euston station.

The hotel is clean, quiet and with a good shower, all you need on a business trip.

You don't get any niceties, no shampoo or shower gel but at this price its not too much to ask to take your own. Oh ladies be warned there isn't a hair drier but I believe you can request one !

I personally breakfast elsewhere as at the budget end of the market the ingredients aren't the best however my colleagues didn't have any issues with it.

Room Tip: The rooms on floors one to three have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like to walk in London, need connections -Euston station is close nearby. Good restaurant, nice breakfast, Lobby is good, nice to sit in follow travellers or BBC, Weekend television english humor. There is a nice park outside of the hotel, famous of it's equal attitudes, seen lovers' affairs. If you are not in need of ***** choose this hotel. Personnel is friendly and english spirited, you will truly need an umbrella. While in restaurant, remember to salut you're neighbour. I remember how it was to speak with an young boy in french during breakfast. There was no baquette, toast and marmelade, egg and bacon. You may however order some additional dishes, you get a refreshing cup-of-tea, even russian tea in samovar,

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank lill-lenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,077 in London
3,622 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#876 of 1,077 in London
8,215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#565 of 1,077 in London
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#286 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $103 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing