We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel at least 3 times a year and find the service and the comfort always consistent. the breakfast planning suits also no bun fights for toast, tea and cofee like a lot of the 3 and 4 star London hotels, we will be there again in 6 weeks time and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    843
    737
    282
    154
See reviews for
329
738
238
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

stay here when we are in london working,bit dated art nevou type buffet breakfast from 7 am.clean and helpfull can be noisy above bowling ally at 2am but good value for central london euston station 10min walk underground 5 mins walk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thfis hotel is not in the luxury category but is clean and comfortable and has some individuality when compared with others in the same price range. The breakfast was good and the staff efficient. Will certainly stay there again. The location is very handy for Euston Station and central for shopping and theatres.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay here regularly when in London. Great value and whilst not a luxurious hotel, certainly good for 2-3 nights in business. The staff are consistent (amazing in a London hotel) and there are some great stalwarts at breakfast. Been staying here for years and whilst the offer has not changed much, it draws me back. The company also runs the President (better, more expensive) and the Imperial (better again and even more expensive). Definitely consider this for a reasonably priced break hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms on the first floor are new, the other really old. Concierge employees are not kind at all and every question disturb them deeply; if you have to ask something to the room service, they GIVE you the phone, they prefer not working and stay impolite. Some rooms are not heated when you arrive, need two days to open heating; there is no middle or heating strongly and you feel bad or really cold; you can choose your season. Restaurant is ok even though most of employees or doorman not friendly.

Room Tip: If you have no choice go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here on business last March for 4 nights. The hotel is very basic with small rooms but the location is very good for getting around the city. I had a room at the front of the hotel which meant I got a very poor night's sleep for my full visit due to the constant traffic and sirens,etc. the tariff is very fare for central London - paid £70 per night on a bed and breakfast rate. As I was staying there for more than 3 nights, I was also entitled to a free evening meal on my first night in their hotel restaurant or you can use the voucher in one of their other hotels/restaurants which are down the road. The food is type you may cook at home such as curries or salads. Breakfast is a buffet style with some choice such as a cooked English breakfast or a continental selection - it was all fine.

The benefit of the this hotel is the location - only a short walk to Euston Road and just up from Russell Square. The hotel is secure which is always nice when you're a female travelling alone.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms at the front if you are a light sleeper; however, with the location of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed here at the beginning of december and from the minute. we walked in we loved it although we arrived early the staff were still. very helpful the porters gave us options on travel we decided to do the london tour and thoroughly enjoyed it when we got back to the hotel our room was available we got there and the room was very nice and comfy before we knew it it was time to go out the porter even flagged a cab for us the next day we had breakfast which was all you can eat buffet very nice soon it was time to leave and right up to leaving the staff were ace .... I'm definitely booking to come back soon good staff good food good room. 5 stars

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soco1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Russell
Hotel Russell
#426 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,834 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#331 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#149 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#50 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#412 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares. The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Priceline, ETB, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing