We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #572 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and is very reasonably priced at only £69 for a single room including breakfast.

For the business traveller it offers a no frills package. A clean room with a good bed to get a decent nights sleep and a invigorating shower to wake you up in the morning. My only criticism is that reception is painfully slow, not sure why but on every visit to the hotel it seems to take an age to check in.

All in all if you are looking for a budget hotel in central London, then you will not go far wrong with the Tavistock.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,693 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

For the price, we thought this hotel offered a very good deal, especially as it is in such a convenient location. We had a double room on the 6th floor, overlooking the square.The room was small, but clean,& the bed was comfortable. The room was quite warm, even thought the radiator didn't appear to be on, but the weekend was unexpectedly spring-like, so it was a case of windows open...
It was not overly noisy, given it's location, but it is London, so expect ongoing traffic sounds & sirens to punctuate your sleep, or even better, pack earplugs!
The bathroom had both shower & tub, as we had requested, and again, this was clean, with towels & soap provided.
The bar alongside the reception area was also reasonably priced & had nice squashy sofas (appreciated after trudging around the British Museum). The Full English Breakfast next morning (included in room price) was good & abundant. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful, & we made use of the bag storage facility: free prior to check-in if you have a reservation for that day & 50p per item after you have checked out.
All in all we felt that for the rate charged for the room it was good value, & would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the square for aesthetic reasons (nice to see trees out of the windo...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank U_k_KarenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here just before Christmas as I was attending a function and it was cheaper than a cab fare home.
My room was reasonably clean and located at the end of a corridor so fairly quiet. The only window looked into a light well, but for the few hours I was there it was not a major concern. The bathroom looked in need of an update and the towels were v.thin, however at least the shower had good pressure.
My colleagues and I met in the bar for a drink before going out and the service was good and the prices reasonable for central London.
I did not have time to sample the breakfast as the buffet was too busy and I needed to get to work but it looked ok and was included in the rate.
There was some refurb work going on at the hotel and as I was leaving in the morning around 8am the sound of powertools was quite loud, this had only just started so ok for me not so good if you had wanted a to get up late it would have been a pain.


All in all if you are looking for a value hotel that is well loacated it fits the bills

Room Tip: One that has been refurbed atnd at the end of a corridor away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Tavistock hotel is in a great location for a short stay in the centre of London. As mentioned in earlier reviews it is close to the rail and underground stations. However when we arrived I asked for a quiet room and was given a room on the 8th floor. The room was like an oven it was so hot. We turned the radiator off and opened the window to cool the room down, but the room never cooled down and we had to sleep with the window wide open and only a sheet on the bed as a cover. With the window open (our window looked into a central open area which must be above the kitchens) we had a constant noise of extractor fans and smell of food wafting into the room. I would hate to think what it is like in the summer as there is no air conditioning and our stay was in February!! The room was small which you can expect in London but so was the double bed and my husbands feet hung out of the bottom of it. I have to say that the room and bathroom were clean. Only 2 coat hangers in the open wardrobe area but plenty of drawer space. Small bars of soap in the bathroom but no shampoo so bring toiletries with you. A kettle is provided with only 2 packets of coffee so again if you like a cuppa after a long day sightseeing bring extra coffee and coffee mate. We only had continental breakfast offered with our booking and went down to sample it the first morning but only had a slice of toast and disgusting strong coffee which practicaly took the enamel off your teeth. So after that we found a cafe to have breakfast. Giraffe is very good, located in Brunswick centre which is close to hotel where you can have tea or coffee and bacon, eggs and toast all for £5, this centre also has high street shops (Coast, Hobbs, Joy, French Connection, Benneton) as well as Restaurants such as Strada, Carluccio's, Nandos, Yo sushi and GBK and a Waitrose. Would I stay at the Tavistock again, probably not I think I would shop around and get something a little better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is what one might describe as a decent and not too expensive hotel in central London and it merits extra points just for this. Part of the Imperial Group, it is in Bloomsbury within easy walking distance of several restaurants, shops, Russell Square Tube station and bus routes. It is also within easy reach of some of the London University Buildings (Senate House etc.) and the British Library. The accommodation is minimalistic but pleasant and functional, full English breakfast is included in the price of the room and the standard of cleanliness is quite good although not infallible. (I could not work out why I was given an absolutely filthy bath mat). Each room comes with its own bathroom. The hotel also houses one wine bar which serves meals until 10pm and one pub-style bar. Service is unobtrusive and efficient. Certainly worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors if looking for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I use Tavistock often when on business in London, £69 for a clean single room with breakfast is good value. If you can get a refurbished room on the three floors that have been done, they are repainted with good mattress. I book direct and can always get a room there even in busy times. I see many reviwers here are folk with four or so in one room, I'd suggest that most of the rooms here are small an suitable for one or two. Never had any problems, once the bed was very sogggy, went back to reception and had another room which was fine.

The breakfast is basic but fills you up, I see package tour folk only have "Continental" which is just really cereal, tea and toast.

The rooms are warm and clean, and if you get ones away from main road very quiet. If you book online at the Imperial website and stay two nights you get a free dinner first night, the food I had was excellent.

I dont know why so many moan about this hotel. It doenst pretend to be a luxury four or five star, but as a good budget option to a dodgy guest house I think its an excellent find.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uktallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very poor customer service. We got given a put-up broken metal framed bed shoved into a room because there wasn't enough beds for that room. There was mould on the bath and 2 thread bare dirty towels (and there was 4 of us)

After bringing the problem to the attention of the staff they tried to charge us extra for a room change.

A very poor excuse for a hotel and I would not recommend it. Rude inconsiderate staff, substandard accommodation and bad service.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunBear91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#506 of 1,078 in London
3,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#880 of 1,078 in London
8,267 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,078 in London
1,272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,078 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $101 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing