We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tavistock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$251
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$261
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$174
$166
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$225
$171
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$236
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$1,049
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,762)
Filter reviews
2,762 results
Traveler rating
307
1,065
878
331
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
1,065
878
331
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squareimperial hotelsbritish museumjacques wine bareuston stationfull english breakfastrooms are basickings crossbudget hotelbuffet stylebreakfast staffcovent gardensister hotelexcellent locationtea and coffeepiccadilly linest pancras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,827 - 1,832 of 2,762 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Me and my boyfriend went to London on February and we had no ideia of what kind of hotel we would find there. When we arrived at Tavistock we were very pleased with the location (really near teh center), the room (bigger than we expected, considering we were in London) and the staff (very helpful and nice). The breakfast was simple but ok.
It's not a five star hotel, but it's an excellent choice to everyone who wants to see london and not spend a lot of money!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank joanainha22147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Hi.. I stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights between 18th - 21st Sept. 2007.
I was expecting some horrors, however was surprised by some aspects of the Hotel:
Positives :
- Very good location. Close to the tube stations (a) Euston & (b) Russel Square.
Ruseel Square is the Picadilly line connecting Heathrow and Euston is the Northern line. This offered me great options when I wanted to move about in London using the tube. No distance is far if you use the tube in London... (Tip : Buy your Oyster card immediately on entry to London at the first tube stn. (Heathrow or any other airport).
- Very Clean Hotel, couldnt complain on anything about cleanliness. Also staying on the upper floors is recommended.
I stayed on the floor 7 which was excellent. Lack of airconditioning means it can get stuffy in the room and you will need to open your windows. There is a distinct food smell on the inside of the courtyard which can be a concern if you are on the lower floors and not have the road side rooms.
- Value for Money pricing.. the hotel is not overpriced for the convenient location, clean room and ample hot water. Efficient if minimal breakfast. (Service in the restaurant could be better).
- The open space / square in front of the hotel is a boon and almost an extension of the hotel. Good to spread your arms and take a walk.

Negatives :
- Not a hotel if you are looking to enjoy the hotel and the service. The hotel is a very efficient, comfortable place if you need to move about in london and use the hotel room and services sparingly.
- The lower floors may not be very good.. so insist on higher floors.
- They always treat you better when you book through BA holidays.. you might get a better room choice as compared to others.
- The Philipino service could certainly be much much better.. not very friendly. Almost had to plead for my tea / coffee in the restaurant.
- Do not allow late checkout or early checkins.. so be prepared.. no amount of requests will yield anything from them.
- Very slow reception. There is always a queue there.. and be prepared to be standing with your luggage.
- Entry Smart Card stops working often. In 3 nights, i had to get my card programmed thrice. This meant first going to the room and then coming back all over again to the reception and after that standing in the queque.. This was the biggest let down.

Overall, however I would still consider staying at the hotel again. But strictly if you need a budget hotel and are planning to be out of your room most times.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ashish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Our experience with this hotel was not good. We stayed in a room on the second floor which backed on an area that had something to do with ventilation. There was some kind of vent noise emanating from the area which lasted for two or three seconds every 10 seconds all night long. Not to mention the dumping of garbage or whatever . So you could not leave the window open because of the noise. This was nice because it allowed us to hear the TV in the next room going till after midnight.

The free continental breakfast featured kippers, or at least some kind of smelly fish, as well as toast stored under a heat lamp, which was a new feature to me. Left it with a kind of rubbery texture and with no chance of burning yourself.

The one good thing is that it certainly encourages you to stay out as long as you can and enjoy London.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank grumpy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for two nights.Reception was very efficient and speedy.Rooms were small but very clean,good ensuite facilities.Breakfast was good and waiter service efficient and friendly.The only complaint I had was when checking out,I politely asked one of the porters to call me a taxi,he politely asked me to go out into the street and flag one down!The other porter who was already outdoors hailed us a cab.The hotel is in a great area with a few good restaurants and shops to choose from,also it is an easy walk to the centre of London or easily reached by using the underground which was nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank conii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed in Tavistock 4 nights. Room was very nice and clean. There was enough space for two travellers and our baggages. We asked room from courtyard side of hotel and it was very quiet all time. Location was just superb!! I highly recommend hotel and also I will be there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ajjp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews