We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change...”
Review of Mums Bistro

Mums Bistro
Ranked #9,456 of 23,025 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Change...”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Well I have lived in this area since 1974 and this place was often a bit of a dump, It changed hands a while ago, and My wife and I have looked at it and thought perhaps we should give it a try, My wife went a week or so earlier with a friend and said hay this is good, I will take you, and so last night very tired after a long day and a 300 mile drive I said, lets unwind locally. I like the atmosphere, the food, the service, the ambiance in fact everything. It really is like being in someone's dining room, with special attentive service. Middleton Road / Whittington Road is a bit of the beaten track, its not the high street, by hay, find it give it a try I think you will now be disappointed. . Good Greek food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went here based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Eclectic style and ambiance made for a great night. The food was tasty, the staff friendly, the barman made a wicked Margarita. Only widh we could have stayed for live music but we had tickets for a gig at Alexandra Palace. When we asked the manager how long it would take to walk there he insisted on giving us a lift up the hill. We were on a weekend in London, if only we lived nearer we would be regulars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FambridgeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mums lounge”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Went to this wonderful little restuarant the other night,and boy was it worth it.Food was amazing,we had the meze between 6 of us and couldnt finish it.Great atmospher in there and the young owner was really very helpful explanying about the food, good selection of lagers and wines, the girls really liked the cocktails and we will be going back there again very soon.
Well done and thanks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A local gem we need to keep!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My Partner and I have just moved back into Bounds Green having been in Brighton for 2.5 years. We were amazed at how much the area had changed and were excited to see the addition of Mum's Lounge - although the bizarre name gave us some hesitation.

Early on a Friday evening we decided to give it a try - we almost baulked when we had to squeeze past a group of young Greek men smoking at the entrance, but are glad we didn't worry about the first impression. The bar and restaurant was practically empty and that and the rather 80's eclectic decor again made us wonder if we had made a mistake.

Service was impeccable and friendly and we soon felt welcome. Ordering a nice bottle of NZ wine and the Mezze for two we relaxed a little despite the lack of atmosphere and settled into enjoy our meal. We were astounded at the quality and quantity of food! Value for money does not begin to describe this! We simply could not eat all the food and the fabulous waiting staff insisted we take the leftovers home - which our dogs very much appreciated.

If only the place was busier and had a bit more atmosphere I am sure this place would be local treasure. Come on Bowes Park and Bounds Green support Mum's Lounge and keep it in business!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a top place for a hangout”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

a good choice of food,nice layout, a good drinks menu, nice family of owners and waiters who are all round friendly people..the place is a hit with the locals as well as regular diners whom i often notice..also if your tottenham fan the place covers most games..keep up the good work guys!! X

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mums Bistro also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Mums Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing