We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and cramped”
Review of The Gate

The Gate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gate
Ranked #794 of 1,063 Hotels in London
lincolnsire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and cramped”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Great location. Very cramped accommodation. Bathroom was filthy with dead spiders, cobwebs that looked like they had been there for months and the toilet was dirty! Breakfast very basic. We left dirty towels in bath for replacing as instructed and when we returned they had been hung in bathroom to dry out!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairevLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Located at very nice neighborhood. Transport to mayor city atractions is very easy. Room is tiny, tiny, and no so clean. Rugs need to be cleaned badly, Breaksfat is fare. People is nice. If you drive a car is not a good place to stay because it is in the congestion area were you have to pay 8 GBP a day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadarosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed at the Gate Hotel for the second time now Once last year and once this year. I have to say the new owner has done a lot of work and renovation to the hotel and it looks great, a real fresh look to the rooms. A very warm feel to the place. Very close to the station and the location on Portobello Road itself is great. Breakfast is served to your room and it was fine, all you could ask for in a continental breakfast and it is included in the room rate, so makes it very reasonable. Would definitely recommend the Gate Hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and warm feel of hotel
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uksmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Clean, easy Tube access, plentiful breakfast, great host/owner. Best location: Street market , restaurant and stores nearby, nice, upscale neighborhood. Cant beat the rate! Jasmine, the owner/host is very helpful, personable and accomodating to your needs. I will stay there again!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank RZPhyxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

I stayed at the Gate Hotel for the w-e and I think it's ok if you don't expect so much from an accommodation.

The location is great (2 minutes fro the Tube and in Portobello Road) but the room is awfully small and old !

Moreover, the towels are not changed everyday !!!!

Having the breakfast served into the room is relaxing and romantic but a little bit scanty...

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

I booked this hotel mainly because of the convenient location and value for money. But to be honest I would have rather paid more and stayed somewhere pleasant than the horrible room we were given.
The exterior of the hotel is lovely and is opposite a great pub. It's also 2 minutes from the tube so access to all the London sights is quick and easy.
However, the room itself was cramped and smelled stale. The curtains looked very grubby and didn't even fit correctly. The en suite bathroom door barely closed and the shower head attachment was broken. Also, when our neighbours went into their bathroom it sounded like they were in ours!!!!
The breakfast was, to say the very least, disappointing. We were expecting bread rolls or croissants. Instead we receieved 2 slices of toast each, cornflakes, a pot of yoghurt and a pot of hot water!! When we asked what the choice of cereal was we were told there was none. Added to this we got only one portion of butter each.
All in all this hotel is quite simply a base. You really don't want to spend any time there at all. My advice is just to stay away.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank champagnebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Great location on Portabello Road. Quiet at night. The luxury Double was fairly small, and basic but adequate. Tea and coffe in room, and a comfy bed. Owners quite helpful. You pay for the location, and the size of the room is probably a fair reflection of what you'd get in other hotels in London. Less than 5 minutes walk to Tube Station and
a great range of reasonably priced restaurants and pubs.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sally-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#570 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#380 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#791 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#362 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Notting Hill
QHome London Portobello One
QHome London Portobello One
#390 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate

Property: The Gate
Address: 6 Portobello Road | Pembridge Road End, London W11 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #794 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Gate Hotel London
Gate Hotel London
The Gate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing