We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Ranked #136 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband booked it so not too sure how it compares price wise to other London hotels (approx 100pounds/night). No complaints acout the location, write next to the Thames and the London eye. Extremely accessible to public transport and enjoyable wander around to most of the city sights i.e Westminster, Houses of Parliamant, Buck. Palace etc. Breakfast was not included, but lots of cafes in the area. We had dinner in the hotel one night and it wasn't particularly enjoyable, can find cheaper and better nearby. No air-con so a bit stuffy in summer (yes it does get hot, even for Australians!) but fans provided which helped greatly. Comfortable, average hotel in excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mattykaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,272 - 6,278 of 7,446 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed here during a short break in London from Wednesday March 19 to Saturday March 22.
Our room - 222 - was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and we received a warm and friendly welcome at reception.
Breakfasts were perfectly adequate and I would have rated our experience either 'above average' or 'excellent' had it not been for two problems we encountered.
I developed a heavy cold during our stay so we decided not to go out on Friday night as the weather was freezing but instead eat in the hotel's restaurant 'Slice'.
We turned up promptly for our 8.00pm booking, ordered our food about 10 minutes later and by 8.50pm had received only a bottle of water and a diet coke.
At this stage we explained to a member of staff we could not wait any longer and left the restaurant.
We had dinner in an eaterie across the street entitled 'Locale' which was very enjoyable.
The weather on Saturday was even worse as was my cold and we decided to pay £25 extra to keep our room until 4.00pm when we were due to depart for Heathrow.
We went out for a while but returned around 1.30pm to relax for a couple of hours.
On three separate occasions cleaning staff banged on our door demanding to know why we were still there when checkout was at 12.00noon.
The situation was further complicated by the fact these people could not understand English.
I asked one of the ladies if she spoke French in an attempt to explain the situation. She did not so I went to reception and explained the problem.
However, this proved ineffective and once again a cleaner banged loudly on the door.
A little more communcation between staff would have avoided this problem.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hopingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We travelled with a couple of kids and found the hotel in the perfect location. It turned out to be what we were hoping for, clean, quite and cheap. We booked a room overlooking Jubilee Gardens as recommended by another Tripadviser user, and was not disappointed. Breakfast was awesome, the staff lovely. If we could fault the place it would have been the lack of staff knowledge regarding the services around the hotel. Even some handouts would have been useful. Reception wasn't very reliable incoming messages we never got and our wake up call for the day of our departure never happened, leaving us in frantic chaos as our taxi to Gatwick waited downstairs. Would we go back?...hell yes! but next time with an alarm clock and a few print outs of the local services!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loopies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

If you've stayed in a Premier Inn before, you'll know what to expect.

The price was good for the location - perfect for tourists and convenient enough for my business visit because the tube/buses are close by.

The room was a decent size, clean and everything worked. The bed was actually surprisingly comfortable and I slept very well for 4 nights. The only drawback was that my room overlooked an inner courtyard with a huge array of bins and it was pretty noisy when they were emptied.

Breakfast good value at £7.50 and reasonably quiet at 7.30am. Didn't try the restaurant as there are plenty of good places in the area.

Staff very pleasant and helpful (even though I was directed to a non-existent taxi rank at 5.30am on my last morning!)

If you want a clean, reasonably well furnished room in a prime location, this is a winner. But don't go expecting any character (you'd never know it was in County Hall) or added extras.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerfromkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - This hotel is at the "back" of the old GLC building, on the embankment, behind the London Eye. Excellent central location for tourists. Delivers all you need and expect from a quality budget hotel.

Front desk staff were efficient when I wanted to book for a few weeks time and they were full on that week, they happily spent a while with me recommending and calling other suitable premier inn properties to find a room. Nice human touch.

Massive hotel, but does the job well. We had a very large double room, I guess other rooms could be smaller. Room and Bathroom both clean and modern. Breakfast good value, good choice, hot food and good variety, and efficient despite the size of the hotel.

Biggest problem is its almost always full - but its easy to see why.

Ideal location as base for sightseeing, but you probably need to book months in advance if you want a room. I guess even more difficult in school holidays etc. It is worth taking the trouble to do that for this property though - you wont regret it.

This has got to be possibly THE best location and best value hotel in the entire city. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

There are two good things about the hotel: the location and the breakfast all you can it for 7.5 pounds. But the "Easy Jet" atmosphere is just depressing. No view what so ever, no light, functional rooms full of messages in purple... If you plan to be away the whole day i guess it is ok. Also very inconvenient: you pay everything as you use and before you use: the room rate, the breakfast, internet, everything. Cutting time on check-out.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank underwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stayed for only one night with my two daughters,two friends and their daughters, had three rooms between us. On arrival the staff at reception were polite, pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were huge and had spacious bathrooms with plenty of towels supplied. Everything spotlessly clean. After asking a chambermaid if we could have an extra pillow it was cheerfully delivered within minutes. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast excellent,as much as you can eat buffet style with an extensive choice. Kept us all going for hours!
The service where you can safely leave your luggage after checking out of the room was again manned by polite members of staff.
The location is quite simply superb,just a few minutes walk from Waterloo station its right next to the river and the London eye.
We had a very enjoyable walk back from Covent Garden after an evening at the theatre,it was a clear night and the view from the bridge as we approached the County Hall was quite simply breathtaking!
We all enjoyed a drink at the hotel's bar to finish the day. This 'no frills' hotel is an excellent base and we shall definitely return.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Claire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel

Address: Belvedere Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in London
#86 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $135 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes away from the London Eye, in sight of some of London's most famous landmarks and in the same building as the Shrek Adventure, Premier Inn London County Hall puts you at the heart of the city. - From this central spot, located in the historic County Hall building, you'll be able to see all sides of the capital. And most importantly, no matter what you discover during the day, our spacious rooms and extra-cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's sleep. Directions: Situated in the historic County Hall building, next to the London Eye, opposite the Houses of Parliament. Walking distance from West End and Theatreland. Please note this hotel does not have an onsite car park. However, we do have a partnership with Valet Inspired Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel London
Premier Inn County Hall
County Hall London
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing