We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #467 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“update”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is still possibly the best value for money in London-an excellent basic hotel as many reviewers have said. To clear up a point, I did last year notice the smell of smoke but not this time and I understand there has been a 'no smoking' rule since April 1st.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    209
    82
    9
    7
See reviews for
96
127
59
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are not looking for old world charm and want cheap clean and tidy accommodation surrounded by useful things like tube and restaurants why wouldn't you stay here? The breakfast was fine, had five nights here and it is run well. Ok it doesn't have much personality, but its solid and basic, spotlessly clean and efficient and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seatheworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina di Carrara
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel.Great for the tube just around the cornere, Hyde Park and Kensington Garden a cross the road.Rooms all right breakfast ok. I reccomend this hotel .
Next to two historical Pubs, The Swan and the Mitre, if you want to dine go early because there are not many tables.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddalena1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Third time at Lancaster hall Hotel (youth wing) and same satisfaction. We usually avoid hotels with shared bathrooms, but in this case we don't mind at all, for showers are spotlessy clean and we've never had to wait to use them. Rooms are large and include a wash-basin too. The hotel is very conveniently located (Bayswater Road, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park) with two tube stations at close walking distance (Lancaster Gate and Paddington). The staff are nice and helpful, you can leave your luggage as long as you need on departure and the buffet breakfast is large and included in the price. Absolutely perfect if you're not after luxury but rather a clean, functional, fairly-priced hotel in central London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

5 mins from the tube and just tucked away is a little gem of a hotel. Nothing fancy or wow factor but good value and importantly clean accommodation. Twin room was comfortable with TV and tea / coffee making facilities. It was ideal for a budget stay in London when on business - scores highly for value for money , friendly staff and the continental breakfast was good too. Please dont stay here as I don't wan it to be full next time I to to book!!! :)

Room Tip: High and at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel is in a fantastic location and had everything we needed. Room was clean and breakfast was good too. Front desk people were great and very helpful. After having spent a fortune on hotels when we have come to London, this was a great find which was actually recommended to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus-wonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We first stayed here in 2010 and have stayed on six occasions since then. The hotels rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you need, TV, coffee and tea making facilities etc. Ok it is a bit basic but as a base it is perfect. I didn't understand the previous reviewer who said that all of the rooms are smoking rooms and smelled of smoke as we have never found that and on checking with the hotel they told us that all of their rooms are NON-smoking. Anyway, the hotel is so close to Paddington and they have a brilliant luggage room system and are happy for you to leave your bags there all day and collect them on the way back to the station, also you can leave them there if you arrive before check in time and go shopping. Fantastic. Lots of choice at the continental breakfast buffet. We have not stayed in the Youth Wing so cannot comment on that. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#576 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#476 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#436 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#545 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hall Hotel
Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall
Lancaster Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing