We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #434 of 1,078 Hotels in London
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is a gem find in a good location near to Paddington Station and underground. The No7 bus to Russell Square gets you to Oxford Street shops in 15 minutes. Continental Breakfast is sufficiently adequate. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Watch out for the twin beds on castors! Soap & towels provided. Good luggage storage facility.
First floor rooms are quiet if the window is shut!
Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.
Will use again as the location is excellent with shops and restaurants just around the corner, and taxis can easily be hailed too! (£13 from Kings Cross/St. Pancras)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    202
    75
    9
    7
See reviews for
90
121
57
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

If your looking for a clean, comfortable, good value hotel in a nice location not far from the city centre then look no further. Its situated on a quiet street a few minutes walk from the Lancaster Gate underground station. There's a really decent pub 'The Mitre', a couple of Italian restaurants and several cafes along the street...saying that we tried the 'Taormina' restaurant were the food was fairly average but the staff were really good. Its also right beside Hyde park if you fancy a relaxed walk in this picturesque area. The hotel itself is quite quiet. The staff are polite and the hotel provides the standard continental breakfast. Although its not the Ritz I rated it 'very good' for all the above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billybastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Whenever I go to London, I try to stay in the Youth Wing of the Lancaster Hall Hotel. Why? Because it is one of those hotels, where you know exactly what you are going to get, no bad surprises. The hotel is very close to several tube stations which makes it very interesting if you have a busy schedule ahead of you. The hotel rooms are specious, clean and have everything you need. You have a sink in your room but bathrooms are shared, however, there are toilets, showers and even baths, these facilities are always clean. The staff is always nice and the check in desk is open 24/7. You have to leave your key at reception, instead you get a little card you show every time you come back, so that the receptionist can give you your key. This is great, because at no time do you have to be worried to lose the key! The breakfast in the morning is definitely worth going to. It is a buffet of bread-rolls bread, cheese, cold meats, juices, coffee and tea, fresh fruit and cereal. I enjoyed it every time. Really, there is nothing negative I can say about this place and on my next trip to London I will, most certainly, stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Why outstanding, you might ask? Simply, value for money.
I stay in London a lot and Lancaster Hall is my No1 choice.
Warm in winter, airy in summer. Clean, comfortable yes and I would say the rooms are large by London standards. Youth wing is great value if you don't mind a shared bathroom and toilet. (Ensuite washbasin). Hotel rooms are fully ensuite with kettle for tea/coffee.
Breakfast choice is bread, huge croissants, cheese, meat, boiled egg, cereal, juice, fruit or yoghurt, tea, coffee. As much as you like.
Soap and towel are provided but if you like shower gel or shampoo there are local shops open late with Sainsbury, M&S and Boots in Paddington station. Lots of restaurants of all nationalities and fast food nearby. Khan's is an Indian favourite in Westbourne Grove (10 minutes walk).
Proximity to Paddington national rail station and Lancaster Gate tube gives choice of 5 tube lines and many bus routes; you can easily get to anywhere in London. Hyde Park 5 minutes walk, Oxford St 5 min tube, Big Ben 15 min tube, Heathrow 15 min Express train, Stratford Olympic Park, far side of London - 25 min tube. Kensington, Knightsbridge 20 min walk through Kensington Gardens.
In all, a great package.

Room Tip: For a London street, it's quiet. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Lancaster Hall Hotel is a good place to stay if you are on a budget. I stayed there for the Olympics and it met my needs very well. It was clean and small, but quaint. It is close to the Lancaster Gate and Paddington tube stations which was quite a plus as walking is a challenge for me since I use a cane. The hotel staff were very gracious and accommodating as I had a lot of questions as to how to get around to various tourist sites.

The breakfast was good and they always had my favorite, croissants, butter and strawberry jam. If i didn't eat breakfast there then I went down the street to Sheila's (Maria and her staff are very nice). After breakfast I would go roaming around London on the buses and before returning, I would get my dinner, bring it back to the hotel and chill for the evening.

I did run into a snag as many of the stores and restaurants in the area did not take VISA, so I had to go to the ATM and get pounds. Other than that, I think the hotel is in a great spot.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nat_P2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Clean, comfortable, easy access from Paddington Station.
Breakfast is simple and basic but adequate for the price. Breads, cheese, meats, cereal, juice and fruit or yoghurt.
You need to take your own shower gel and shampoo but there is a shop 2 mins away open until midnight.
I would stay again though the street was noisy and we needed to window open as it was hot! Can't blame the hotel for that though!
bar is clean and reasonably cheap for London £5.80 for 2 pints!
cost just under £100 per night for 3 of us to stay in one room which is reasonable in London price terms.
local restaurant were lovely and quite anew to choose from from a wide variety of nationalities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family of three stayed here during the Olympics. Price was very reasonable at c.£100 per night especially including 3 breakfasts. Breakfast is basic- breads, cheeses, cold meats, boiled eggs and fruit juice (unrefrigerated)- but is an adequate start to the day. Rooms are small and basic but clean and comfortable- take your own shampoo & shower gel etc. Reception is staffed 24 7 and the bar serves beer at under £3 per pint. To those who ate bothered, the majority of guests were German (tour operator links possibly?). The street is noisy but that's hardly the hotels fault. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from Paddington station. I would stay here again for a cheap and basic family break in London.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#547 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#482 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#477 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#292 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#162 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#562 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hall Hotel
Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall
Lancaster Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing