We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampstead is changing...but thankfully, not La Gaffe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #480 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hampstead is changing...but thankfully, not La Gaffe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I was back in London for a course; arrived Monday evening. I was met by Lorenzo as if family had returned; as usual, my room was very quiet, well appointed and SUCH value for money.

My evening meal was stunning; freshly made, and a Starter, Main (Spaghetti Gaffe), 2 glasses of wine and coffee for under 20 quid...in Hampstead!

Breakfast is such a treat; coffee to die for, and a cold buffet that has everything you could want.

Hampstead is losing pubs and local restaurants...but La Gaffe is still here, and still treating guests as friends. Go there...worth every penny...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
71
63
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

La Gaffe is a 5 minute walk from Hampstead underground, which takes you right into the centre of London in about 10 minutes. We paid a bargain £95 a night for a double which was exactly as described on the La Gaffe website. Given the location, and that Hampstead has more restaurants and pubs close to each other than you could ever possibly visit, as well as a large variety of shops and cafes, this has to be my top value and a must stay hotel for London.
The room was very clean and the bathroom looked like it had been newly fitted. The website explains the rooms are small, and they are, but that shouldn't put you off. My sole complaint about this hotel was the uncomfortable bed (cling onto the edge or roll into the middle), but that might be just the one room. We didn't get to try the buffet breakfast, but the staff were always welcoming and charming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

My family and I had a perfect experience at La Gaffe: charming, delightful and very helpful staff, a lovely and comfortable room, excellent breakfast. We also ate dinner at their restaurant twice, and that too was quite good. La Gaffe's location couldn't be better either; just a tube ride away from central London, yet containing the peace and serenity of a small village. Leaving there after one week felt a little like leaving home, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poet059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

La Gaffe is a gem. The rooms are cozy, clean and reasonably priced with breakfast ( and great coffee) included. The food at the restaurant is excellent and I had some of my favorite meals there. The location is absolutely wonderful. Hampstead offers so much - beautiful parks and the Heath, historic places to visit, great pubs and restaurants, art, theater, and yet is close enough (15 minute tube ride) to central London. But more than anything, it was the beautiful energy of Lorenzo and his staff who made London an unforgettable experience. La Gaffe is a family-run hotel and the friendly personal atmosphere, helpfulness of the staff and dedication to their guests is what makes La Gaffe stand out. The Website is really well-done and definitely does a good job of taking you there. I can't wait to return to London, but just as much, i can't wait to return to La Gaffe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

La Gaffe is a great find. We were made very welcome and our host was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and pleasant. Hampstead is a wonderful place to return to after a day of sightseeing and a charming place to be in--a village on the edge of London. If you are very tall or large the small bathroom might prove to be a challenge, but otherwise this is a delightful B & B above a very good restaurant!

Miriam and Paul

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotheaBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

I recently stayed at La Gaffe in Hampstead and all I can say is the welcome, atmosphere and food are fabulous. Lorenzo and his team work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. I hope he gets some Hendricks gin before my next visit!!
The rooms are not the Ritz, but they are clean, tidy and very nicely presented. You get a good nights sleep in this quiet and safe area of London.
Will be staying again when next in London.
David W

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had the unfortunate luck to stay in the most shabby, uncomfortable, overpriced B&B I've ever come across. The room, which hardly fitted the four-poster bed was dirty, hot and badly kitted out. The bed was so hard a 1950's camp bed would have been more comfortable. The TV was new, but the small desk, the rattan chair (who has rattan chairs any more?) and the bathroom had seen better days. I'm not sure what has happened since 2003 when La Gaffe won a price for best value in the Which guide. Were the gold plated taps, plastic bath with a jacuzzi and a film-star mirror lights (one bulb of which wasn't working and the rest were mismatched) less worn out then? And one would assume that the crack in the basin occurred some time after 2003. But worse than the shabbiness of the room was the inclusive breakfast. At £125 per night in Hampstead one would expect more than a self-service meal of sliced bread (to be toasted by the customer), a few slices of suspect-looking and tasting cheese and ham, over-cooked cold eggs plus some cereal stored in plastic containers and a pot or two of warm yoghurt. The coffee was the only redeeming feature, the only item bought to the table. I felt most sorry for a German couple who meekly asked if there was a chance of some fried eggs. 'No,' was the short reply. Surely in London the least a tourist could expect is an English breakfast?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helsbells02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#546 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#620 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#492 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London, England
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing