We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy in Hampstead”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #478 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy in Hampstead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

All I could have asked for as a woman travelling alone. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the first impression of my room was before I even entered: I could smell how clean it was. The room was small, but very well planned and I didn't need anything more. The bathroom was new and clean. A real treat to be in London but also away from noisy tourist districts to have a quiet night's sleep. The food was lovely, and the website very specifically indicates it is not a fancy breakfast. There was plenty to eat, and the coffees were individually made to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
72
63
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at La Gaffe, especially due to the nice attitude of Lorenzo (the landlord) who was very kind and caring to us. The rooms are nice though a bit small, but very clean. Only a few minutes walk from the underground station which is very convenient.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back to avoid noise from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Paying the low price for a double room with double occupancy, it would be unfair to be too critical, but the room really was pokey and the bathroom would be impossible for anyone above average size. Fancy siting a hair dryer on a wall with no view of a mirror! Bed was a bit hard for our taste.
We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival and had a good meal at a fairly reasonable price but breakfast was not very inspiring.
Having said all that, the room/en-suite were beautifully clean and most of the staff pleasant most of the time.

Room Tip: Room 16 was in an annex at the back so was quiet and on the ground floor but very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lorenzo made us feel at home as soon as we walked in! What a super, quaint (originally a shepherd's home in the 1700s) hotel just a few minutes from The Heath and the Hampstead Underground stop. Lots of cute shops, pubs and restaurants all around. Fantastic neighborhood feel, just minutes from the "country" of the park and 15 minutes from downtown London on the Tube. Best of all worlds. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is super-delicious. Breakfast is included in the price, and the room price was easy on the wallet. I will definitely head back to La Gaffe on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodFunNSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked La Gaffe on ratings through Trip Advisor. We loved the place! Lorenzo runs the family owned establishment and was so friendly and accommodating. They also have a quaint restaurant that you go through to get to the stairs to our room. Very narrow stairs, small doors, but the room was nice, just large enough for two and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has been renovated with great shower. We stayed in room 13. Free continental breakfast, standard fare, good cappuccino. About a 1/2 mile from the TUBE, same street, easy walk. Never got an opportunity to try the restaurant for dinner, but wanted to, the aroma around the place was fantastic. Would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

After reading the reviews here I expected something exceptional. However I have paid a lot less for more in London. Don't get me wrong. The shower was excellent. The host was a really nice friendly guy but the room was poky, needed a shade over one window to keep the light out and the bed was tired. However the breakfast was adequate, the tea was hot and fresh and the location good. I will go again but book direct to get a better rate more suited to the room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister, niece and I stayed at La Gaffe for nine days in August on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there several times. And now I highly recommend it for anyone seeking a very clean, very welcoming, very convenient small hotel with a delightful breakfast included that also has a wonderful restaurant. Truly, after sightseeing all day, our return to La Gaffe felt like returning to a home--always a warm welcome and calm surroundings. The rooms are very clean and the staff is always helpful. Lorenzo, the proprietor since taking over from his parents, is always cheerful, as is the rest of the staff.
We stayed in two rooms during our stay. We were expecting small rooms (as we were told when booking the rooms) but, while the rooms are on the small side, there was more than enough storage--for three women, even! And, surprisingly for a small hotel, the bathrooms are not tiny, but roomy and clean with modern fixtures. The rooms each had tv's, hair dryers, and coffee/tea fixings, but we never made coffee in the room as Lorenzo makes the best coffee drinks!
As three women, we always felt safe walking around Hampstead and, especially, the 3-5 minute walk from the tube station to La Gaffe. The convenience of the tube station is a big plus for staying at La Gaffe. By staying at La Gaffe, you get to enjoy a calm, quiet, beautiful area of London, but only be a 15-20 minute tube ride to all of the sights. Actually, we made it a point to have dinner at La Gaffe the majority of our nights in London. The restaurant is a very good value--wonderful food (freshly made) and wonderful service.
Hampstead Heath is just up and across the street and it is a wonderful place to stroll.
I'm going to stay there again this fall. I can't say enough good things about La Gaffe!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#621 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#482 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London, England
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing