We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Gaffe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #471 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Onchan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Gaffe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in September and felt at home here. The lunch we ate was perfect and inexpensive. The welcome is very warm. The bedrooms are small, but how much time do you spend in a bedroom? And despite my fears of our room being noisy as it overlooked the road I slept very well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne901_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    68
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
71
63
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at La Gaffe for just one night. I wished it could have been longer. I used to live in Hampstead so I knew the location was perfect. I was also expecting the room to be small as it says on their website as well as previous reviews, and although small it was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. This is also reflected in the price, as I paid £75 for a single room, if I had chosen to stay at the Premier Inn, it would have cost £127. The big plus for me being a women by myself was I felt safe, secure and eating by myself at the restaurant along with other single people, didn't make me feel uncomfortable. The restaurant serves really good food at reasonable prices. Lorenzo who has taken the hotel over from his parents is such a lovely guy and told me the interesting history of La Gaffe. I am looking forward to staying here again and in beautiful Hampstead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent a weekend in London and wanted to stay in Hampstead. I hadn't much choice since this is probably the only accomodation in Hampsted, anyway I wasn't disappointed. The position is perfect, 5 min walk from the tube and very close both to hampstead hill and hampstead heath. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The room was small but well kept and cosy. We didn't need much space so we appreciated it. Most important, the price was very reasonable. Loved the atmosphere, looking forward to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andregelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent five nights here recently. Location was great. On the Northern tube line so easy to get everywhere. However the rooms are very small and cramped. We also found the mattresses to be worn and killing on our backs. They do a basic clean of the rooms everyday but we did discover that the bed sheets are not changed regularly and the bed linen is very worn. Basically this is a basic B n B in an upmarket part of London. Our rate included a light cold breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have stayed here several times. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms. Much better than staying in the standard modern hotel. La Gaffe has character and a warm feeling. Great and convenient location and superb restaurant. GL and LL Sarasota, Florida, USA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

as you go home ...hotel with real 3 stars confort, good food for London standards both for breakfast as well as in the hotel's restaurant, and above all Lorenzo, the owner , who is absolutely special.

Room Tip: The family room for 3 persons includes a double room plus a single room with one bathroom for both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and always look forward to returning, it truly is a home away from home. It's a very desirable location, close to the Heath, main street of Hampstead and the tube station. Whether a short of long stay, there is nothing more delightful then getting out of the city into the fresh air of hampstead, in a very short amount of time. I also suggest walking into the city if you get the chance, and then definitely the tube or bus back! It's a lovely walk through Belsize Park, Chalk Farm, etc. Lorenzo and the rest of the La Gaffe family are the most lovely group of people you could hope to meet while travelling. I've stayed in a number of the rooms and never had a problem with cleanliness or space!!! The restaurant is also amazing, thoroughly recommended for the food, the charm and the views!

Room Tip: The main street is noisy during summer, but not until very late at all. I honestly would stay in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#541 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#488 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#56 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#626 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brook Green Hotel
Brook Green Hotel
#341 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London, England
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing