We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic,small,friendly hotel”
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #428 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante,Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic,small,friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to visit Highgate cemetery and surrounding areas.
This hotel was ideal,it is small but very friendly.Clean small but well equiped rooms and the Italian restaurant is superb.
We are not always easy to please when we stay in hotels and especially Spanish ones where we live are not always up to scratch but we had no complaints about this one !
The breakfast was buffet but perfectly ok.
Our room was at the back with a small road running past but was not noisy at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    74
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
75
66
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I went to London for a school trip. It was a first time to Europe for many of the students...and La Gaffe made us feel right at home. Lorenzo and his staff provided our group with great hospitality. They are very personable and made the best coffee in the world!!!! La Gaffe is located in Hampstead, which is only 4 miles from central London. Great location and astounding staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I booked lodging at La Gaffe for a group so you can imagine my relief when all 8 members were delighted with our 7-night stay. Like many hotels in Europe, the rooms in La Gaffe are small and simply furnished. You get the sense that you are in someone’s charming old house that has been converted to accommodate many friends. The owner, Lorenzo Stella, is actively involved with the daily operations of the hotel. He continues what his parents began over 30 years ago and has just the right personality for the job. His interaction with guests is professional, welcoming, and companionable all at once. The rest of the staff mirrors this example and by the end of your stay you are calling everyone by name.

A daily breakfast of cereal choices, yogurt, several different types of bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and a yummy marble cake is included. You will also have a choice of coffee, latte, tea, or juice to drink. My group had no desire to eat breakfast elsewhere as there was plenty to choose from to afford variety. The restaurant is open most days for lunch and each night for dinner and serves some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten. Prices are very reasonable and the quality is excellent.

I travel A LOT and this was my eighth visit to London over the past decade or so. I have stayed in different locations and neighborhoods each time. No more. La Gaffe in Hampstead will be my new base in London from this point forward. I have read the other reviews and think that some people would prefer the standardization of a large chain hotel where the rooms, pillows, duvets are the same anywhere in the world. But if you are NOT one of those people and want to experience a family run hotel where they greet you each morning as an old friend, and every evening to ask about your day then La Gaffe is for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaEsteroFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

For this first time business trip to London, this charmed family operated hotel was an oasis from the hussle of the city and only 4 miles removed. Easy access to all our business needs both in the area and withing the city limits as well. The tube is a quick walk away from the front door, opening all the attractions to London to you without the 24/7 rush of the city.

The rooms were what we expected, quaint, clean, typically European. The staff were pleasant and always offering assistance. Breakfast was included daily. Cozy restaurant setting with scrumptious Italian dishes that were hard to resist. Being Italian myself, that is something I appreciate experiencing.

Definitely a return trip is planned. Thankyou Lorenzo, Guiseppe, and Saldi...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlanyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I read a whole pile of reviews of this hotel before I booked, so I was a bit shocked on arrival. The photos of the interior made it look much fresher and spacious than it really is. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly, and the location is wonderful-very close to good restaurants, pubs,shops and the tube station.
However, the rooms are tiny and furnished circa 1960 with dark old fashioned mismatched furniture. The room was clean but the bed was very small. Mattress reasonably comfortable but pillows AWFUL- and the sort that make you realise many heads have slept on them. No duvets but one blanket and a counterpane (although there was a spare blanket in the cupboard). The bathroom was TINY but the shower was adequate and the water hot. The towels are old and need replacing. I didn't expect mega luxury and I didn't get it, but at £100 per night I would have expected a little more. Many people have commented on how refreshing it is not to be a chain hotel, but when you come upon a place like this you realise how reliable the chain hotels can be. I'm afraid its a chain for me next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flottyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

A lovely small family hotel, excellent location close to Hampstead Underground Station. The owner and his staff were attentive to every request and went out of their way to make our 8 day stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is impeccably clean, the breakfast was very generous and was a great way to start each day. The restaurant is first class and not that expensive by London standards. The only drawback was the small room, but it had all the ameneties we needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berstein01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I cannot get over how much I enjoy staying and eating here. Lorenzo, Guiseppe, and Mr and Mrs Stella are such gracious hosts, and you find that you are often eating and chatting with other loyal regulars.
YES, rooms are small, and a bit quirky, but that's part of the charm. This is a family owned hotel, not a chain; rooms are clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The food is delicious, more than plentiful, and such value for money...and it's all in Hampstead!
Try it...once you do, bet you'll be back..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#613 of 1,068 in London
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#608 of 1,068 in London
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#484 of 1,068 in London
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
4.0 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#603 of 1,068 in London
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London, England
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing