We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Levin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Levin
Ranked #335 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel in a great location. My husband and I stayed here just for a night on our way home to Boston. Knightsbridge is great area to stay in if you are visiting London for a short time. The hotel is right next to Harrods, and very nearby Hyde park. it's a lovely walk to the Palace.

The hotel staff welcoming and courteous. Rooms and bathrooms clean and very nice. I would come back for another stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dera Guest,
I was delighetd to see your review and I am verry happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your good comments to the rst of my team here at the hotel and I look forward having the pleassure to welcoming you again in the near future.

Very best regards
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    56
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
79
205
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Levin for years. It is small and cozy with a helpful staff ably run by Harrold, who will take good care of you. Its location across from Harrods and a stone's throw from Harvey Nichols in the heart of London's best shopping including (Sloane St., Brompton Road and Beauchamp Place) and within eyesight of cab stands and double decker buses. My husband and sometimes walk to Piccadilly and the hotel is near the V&A as well. It has a wonderful little restaurant below the entrance which has a GREAT breakfast, good coffee, and lunch or dinner. It is popular with people who are not staying in the hotel as well. My husband and I often have a light dinner there after we come in from the airport. One other important detail. They have nice pillows. Having recently stayed there after 2.5 weeks in Asia, we were thrilled to sleep on soft pillow which don't throw your neck out. The hotel now sells the Levin Vineyard red wine and a beautiful jelly made from the wine to use with meat. There is nothing not to like about the hotel, but if you are looking for huge bedrooms and fancy schmancy bathrooms, it may not be for you. We have traveled worldwide and stayed in the best, and this is where are heart is when it comes to London.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Basil Street and with a fireplace (non working) but nice to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time in writing such a glowing review on TA.
It is always our pleasure to look after you when you come to London and stay with us.
We are very spoiled with our location right in the middle of the best shops London has on offer.
Sorry to hear that our home made jelly has been taken away from you and this is something to remember for next visit packing it in the right place.
Thank you once again and we are all very proud being part of such a great team delivering great service to all of our guests time after time.
I`m looking very much forward to welcoming you again on any future visits to London

Best regards
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Levin with our two teenage sons and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in London. By the end of our stay we came to think of the Levin as our "home away from home". First, the Knightsbridge location is ideal. You are literally around the corner from Harrods and the Knightbridge tube stop, as well as world class shopping, wonderful parks and incredible restaurants. The rooms are modern and clean and incredibly quiet (I don't know how they make the rooms more quiet than ones we had in smaller towns). What sets the Levin apart from other hotels is their outstanding service. From Harald, the manager, who ensures that your every need is taken care to the staff in their restaurant, The Metro like Rob, who is better than any guide book. When you add the delicious breakfast served to order each morning you can see why the Levin has all the details of being a top notch hotel figured out. Thank you to the Levin for a memorable stay. The Armanino Family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
The team and I were very happy to read that you and your Family enjoyed your visit at The Levin Hotel
I will let Rob and his staff knows that you liked the breakfast and you also liked all of Rob’s local tips and suggestions he gave you.
I will share all of your lovely comments with all of the team and I would be my pleasure to welcome you back on future visits to London
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Levin is where we prefer to stay, when we visit London. It provides a quite different experience from the bland corporate style of the big chains. Ideally located, intimate atmosphere, immaculate rooms with every convenience that you need for a comfortable stay. The Metro Restaurant is a gem. Whether it is early breakfast or through to a late evening meal, the unpretentious menu just hits the spot. Of course, it is the staff who make the difference! Whoever you encounter, whether it be one of the ladies who care for your room, or the manager, whose presence is evident, unlike most hotels, they consistently deliver the best example of customer service in London.

A taxi driver returning me to The Levin, spontaneously remarked that 'the concierge has the reputation, with taxi drivers, of being the only concierge that treats them like human beings'.

We look forward to our next stay at The Levin.

Norma & Michael Marks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelmarks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I were very happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit at The Levin Hotel
I am so happy that all went well and you had a good time.
I will share the comments with all of my team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Harald Duttine
Hotel Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Levin Hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel, located in the heart of Knightsbridge. The rooms are spacious, modern, clean and always have a gorgeous refreshing smell when entering the room (including the Hotel Foyer). Housekeeping is twice a day. The bathrooms are marble with lovely amenities which are generously replenished daily. Their complementary continental breakfast with fresh produce is a wonderful way to start the day.

But most importantly, are the outstanding staff that work at the Levin.

This was our 6th stay at the Levin Hotel – and we have rebooked again to stay there in 2014!

Thanks to Harald and all the staff at the Levin Hotel for welcoming us back again this year and we look forward to staying again in 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matetsi882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I were very happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit at The Levin Hotel
I am so happy that all went well and you had a good time.
I will share the comments with all of my team and I am delighted that you booked again with us for your next visit.
I am very much looking forward to welcoming you once again to your home here in London
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our room was extremely small. It would be ok for one person, but never for a couple.
Very unconfortable in the sense that there was no room at all to open our (small) weekend suitcases. It had to be done on top of the bed.
Positive: It was very quiet. And almost "inside" Harrods.
Negative: Our bathroom garbage bin was full, from previous guests, as we checked-in. Awful.

Room Tip: One person per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We always appreciate and take very seriously any feedback from our past guests.
The room you booked was a classic double room with 25 sqm what is normal for London standards and I`m sorry you felt there was not enough space for you.
Whilst you stayed with us all of our of our bigger deluxe rooms had been fully booked and we had no possible way of changing rooms during your stay and I’m really sorry about that.
In regards to the bin I do apologise and I can guarantee you that this has to be a one off and I will investigate and find out how this happen.
We getting so much praise and positive feedback in regards to our cleanliness in our rooms
And I`m really upset that in your case we not leaved up to our standards
But I’m please that you find that our location to be good and quiet.
If you wish to return at some point please contact me directly as I would very much like to handle you’re booking personally
Kind Regards
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We normally stay in large corporate chain Hotels so it was a gamble when we booked at the Levin for 4 nights at the end of June . Well the gamble was worth it , what a surprise we were met by the manager Harald at the door on arrival and immediately shown to our room.
The room was a good size for London and very elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean and well presented - the bathroom was bright and modern although a little small , definitely only a 1 person bathroom! never the less very pleasant - I dont know why Europeans insist on a shower in a bath , we would have preferred a shower cubicle alone which would have been more spacious.
Jetlagged we thought we would eat in before bed so ventured down stairs to the cafe/bar/breakfastroom for a light meal - The staff there again were fantastic and felt like we were in a little country pub , very friendly and chatty, The meals are simple but delicious with a good selection of wines.
Over the 4 days of our stay the staff got to know us which is a very nice thing as opposed to the large hotels,
On checking out we needed a taxi to the railway station , Harald the Mananger went beyond his duty in securing one for us at a time when finding a taxi is very difficult , thankyou things like this makes a difference to the memory of yor stay . Overall we can not recommend this hotel highly enough to anyone wanting a more personal experience in a perfect location in London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeT1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time in writing such a positive and good review from your recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to see good reviews like yours.
I am so happy your gamble paid off and you had a good time
I am pleased that all went so well for you and I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.
Take care and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#36 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#197 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#660 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#264 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Property: The Levin
Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing