We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Knightsbridge...”
Review of The Levin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Levin
Ranked #277 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little gem in Knightsbridge...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at The Levin hotel in Basil Street,Knightsbridge for 2 nights Dec 14/15. We wanted to combine our wedding anniversary and some Christmas shopping. We were really pleased with the hotel,situated in an excellent location, a 2 minute walk from Harrods and all the other Knightsbridge stores,meant we could drop off our shopping and not have to carry everything around with us . Our room was smallish but very nicely decorated. The breakfast of yoghurt, fruit,cereal,croissants was more than adequate. We felt this hotel really was a little gem and would definitely go back. Very pleasant front of house staff, lovely young man who was very helpful .

Room Tip: Rom 32 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    57
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
83
213
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Overall we found the hotel somewhat over-rated and had expected more from a hotel with such a high ranking on TA. We have stayed in several other 4 and 5 star London hotels and were looking forward to trying The Levin based purely on the reviews it has on TA. Sadly, our room was very disappointing which is a shame as the staff were very good.

We booked a Classic Double room and were given a room at the back of the hotel. The outlook was very disappointing. The window looked straight onto the back of another building with adjacent office windows that had a direct view into the room. As a result we kept the curtains closed almost all the time which made the room feel even more cramped and dark.

The decor and finishings were immaculate, fresh and clean and tastefully done but this could not overcome the small size and darkness of the room. It was not a comfortable stay.

Location was good although with no taxis available at the hotel itself, you have to walk a short distance to the Harrods taxi line which is sometimes very long, so not ideal if you are used to the taxi service at 5 star hotels and are using them all the time to get around the city. Service was good, food at the restaurant was good. Room service breakfast was poor however.

Bed and linen were very good. Bathroom was very clean, well designed and finished so its compact size and absence of a walk in shower was not a problem and it was comfortable to use.

Overall there are aspects of The Levin that are very good but sadly, these were overshadowed for us by a disappointingly small and dark room and the inability to upgrade due to the hotels 12 rooms being fully booked. I am sure that had we had a larger or brighter room, we would have had a better overall experience as the staff seem focussed on ensuring that guests enjoy their stay thus maintaining favourable feedback on TA.

Room Tip: Avoid classic deluxe rooms - they are too small. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nosfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at The Levin twice now, and we plan to stay there again next year. The beds are incredibly comfortable and she linens are extremely soft. The location is truly unbeatable. The neighborhood it is in is quite fun, and the subway stop in just around the corner, so it's quite easy to get anywhere in London.

The staff is what really makes the hotel so great. They are very helpful with recommendations for restaurants or activities. They always ask us where we ended up eating and what we thought of it, so that they'll know if they should recommend it to another guest.

The hotel is pretty expensive, but we always end all of our European trips in London, and it's a nice way to celebrate the end of a vacation and to unwind a back that's tired from spending three weeks sleeping on mattresses that aren't so great.

We have slept in one of the classic rooms and in one of the executive rooms. They are both beautifully decorated, but, in my opinion, the extra space that the executive room offers is worth the extra money. The rooms all have a front door, a very small entry space, and then another door leading to the room that is just as solid as the front door. The result is zero noise from the hall. We always sleep soundly when we stay here.

The rooms are completely spotless. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittycatParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We arrived early (06:00 am) at The Levin and were welcomed in the most amazing way. Though the rooms were not ready yet (all taken), we were invited to have a great breakfast at the beautiful restaurant. Every effort was made to give us a room before our 11:00 meeting (we just landed from a business trip in Ghana to a meeting in London...). The rooms were great, the bath, bed, internet. Can't wait to come back again and enjoy it. The lift (which is an old london style one restored) is a bonus. Wish had knocked on the owners door to thank him in person.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 281Dafnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us.
Our Staff takes genuine interest in ensuring our guest have a pleasurable stay and I`m glad that was provided for you.
We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Have a great day
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I must say this is an amazing hotel...pictures are soooo real! And they dont do justice to this place which feels so luxury ad yet so homey! I was here with my husband for one night only also considering the price but it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us.
I`m glad you liked our hotel and all went well.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London
Have a great day
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed there this year and both times the staff of the Levin exceed expectations. The bed and the room are great as is the location. It's literally next door to Harrod's and the Knightsbridge tube station. Also, the restaurant (Le Metro) downstairs is great. I can't say enough about the staff--they are fantastic. We'll be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Watkinsdts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hotel Manager
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review on TA.
We are all so pleased that you had a good experience at the Levin Hotel. We were so happy that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we met your expectations. I was also glad that you where pleased with our restaurant. We would like you to welcome you back in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here on my wedding night! We arrived lateish after drinks and the two night staff members greeted us like old friends with huge smiles and genuine congratulations after our big day. What a welcome. Our room on the fourth floor was large, with a corner sofa and table area and large bed and separate bathroom off the corridor. It was very comfortable and had all the mod cons. The bathroom was great with lovely smellies and moisturisers which always makes me happy. We had breakfast downstairs and paid for a cooked breakfast which was delicious. The restaurant staff also offered congratulations which was a nice touch too. Very comfortable stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#42 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#225 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#673 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#347 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Property: The Levin
Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing