We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely intimate hotel stay”
Review of The Levin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Levin
Ranked #279 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely intimate hotel stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent 6 nights at The Levin towards the end of August. We flew in from Australia to heathrow and it was a very easy tube ride on the Piccadilly line directly to Knightsbridge, which is a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff were immediately welcoming and gave us great recommendations for finding our way around. Very handy for V&A museum and Hyde Park.

Knightsbridge is very busy, excellent if you are interested in very expensive super cars, as around Harrods there are plenty. However the hotel is a haven of tranquility, very quiet and enjoyed excellent nights sleep. The bathroom was spacious with a shower over a bath and quality toiletries.

We had a deluxe room, included a sitting area, and was spacious. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice coffee and Rob even found me some Marmite to enjoy on my toast each morning. Great to have wifi available, but it was a little slow and dropped out requiring you to relogin.

Would happily stay again, when next in London.

Room Tip: Deluxe room has plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your time and great review you put on trip advisor.
It is always such a pleasure to read the reviews our guest leave on trip advisor.
It shows us we all doing a great job and our service is of high standards at all times.
I am so glad all went well on your last stay at the Levin and I`m also pleased that Rob found some special treat for you during breakfast.
I would like you to welcome you back to The Levin on your next trip to London please let me know and I am happy to help you with the reservation.
Wishing you all the best
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    58
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
86
215
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is not the place to stay if you want a large, flashy hotel from one of the international chains.

It is just the place to stay if you want a lovely, boutique hotel, in a great location, where the staff makes you feel welcome from the first minute to when you leave.

Two minor complaints. We had trouble getting the WiFi to work, and when it did it was quite slow. The mattress was also a little firmer than I like.

Great location, not two minutes walk from Harrods in a quiet but very pleasant back street in Knightsbridge. Train station around the corner. Cafes and great shopping within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizzietraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, General Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing a review from your last stay at the Levin on trip advisor and I am so pleased that all went well and you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am aware of the issue with our Wi-Fi supplier and we still investigating the matter and hopefully we able to upgrade soon in order for a better and quicker service.
The mattress oh well it is a personnel option and sorry y it was not to your liking but I must say most of our guest say that there sleeping very well and the mattresses are very comfortable.
I do hope you will return to The Levin on your next trip to London and if yes please contact me so I can assist you with any reservations you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I finished our European getaway at the Levin in Knightsbridge. We were so pleased with the location (right beside Harrods) and the quality of the hotel. Although we arrived a few hours before check in time, our room was ready and it was lovely. We had a deluxe room, which gave us plenty of room for our four large suitcases. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated. Our rate included breakfast, airport transfers and a voucher either lunch, dinner or afternoon tea in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was lovely, and we had an enjoyable lunch there one day....it's a great place to unwind with a glass of wine at the end of the day. The property was just perfect, and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and very client-oriented. We will definitely return to this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Book at least a deluxe room if you are shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am very pleased that you and the rest of your family had a great time whilst staying at the Levin
It was my pleasure to look after you and I`m delighted to read such a great review what will help us to stay in top position
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Levin in the near future
Best Wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of 10 recently stayed at The Levin. This was the third time we have stayed here. It used to be called L'hotel..but was completely remodeled and renamed. It is lovely! The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The Levin is located on Basil St which is a quiet street just down the road from Harrods. We feel very at home at this hotel and would not stay anywhere else while visiting London. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebMc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback you wrote on trip advisor
It was our pleasure to look after you and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
We always try and our very best to accommodate all of our guest request
Our aim is that Levin guest`s return back home with good and happy memories
And most of the time we succeed.
Please let me know of any future visits to London and I be happy to assist you with a reservation
Very best wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Levin is a great boutique hotel. Staff is more than friendly, they make you feel home ! location is perfect, justs beside Harrod´s and it´s neighborhood and Knithsbridge subway station. Rooms are comfortable and so clean. Breakfast is excellent, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAccidentalTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much and I am so pleased you liked the hotel.
Yes and we are truly a "home away from home" for most of our guests.
I will share your lovely comments with all of my team and I`m sure there all will be delighted to have a job well done once again.
I hope that we will be welcoming you back to London and the Levin soon.

Best wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is definitely one of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in many luxury hotels around the world. This independently owned property is excellent in every area, from the warm and friendly welcome, the cleanliness of the beautiful appointed bedrooms and the wonderful breakfast. This has been my 5th stay at The Levin and will always be my first choice when visiting London.

Many thanks to Harald and his staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matetsi882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure to have you stay with us again and again.
I am delighted that you feel comfortable and like our service here at the Levin.
We try our best to make you feel at home and make sure you have the best time.
I look forward to have you back again soon
Please let me know of any future visits and I be happy to help you with any reservations
Very best wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic location, just mins from Harrods, only 16 rooms, friendly staff, great room size, everything nice and modern, had a fabulous time and will definitely go back! When u are in london 2 things are important: location and room size, hotel Levin has both and so much more, if u like small and intimate and nice, this is for you :) My favourite hotel for future visits to london :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our location is one of the best and so close to all the best shopping London has to offer and right next to the most famous department store in the world. It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us and I do look forward having you coming back soon. Please let me know of your next visit and I be happy to help with your reservation
Very best wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,068 in London
741 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#287 of 1,068 in London
746 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#512 of 1,068 in London
54 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#365 of 1,068 in London
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Property: The Levin
Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing