We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Levin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Levin
Ranked #276 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Elma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This small boutique hotel is just wonderful. My adult daughter and I stayed for three nights recently and couldn't be happier with our choice. The staff is friendly, professional, and know what they are doing. The hotel is charming and beautifully appointed. The location is just amazing...about one minute from Harrods, about two minutes to the tube, and the cafe on the corner is just steps away and serves wonderful food, a great "tea", and very good coffee. In addition to all of this, it is quiet! It should be noted, however, that this does not come without a price. Our three nights ended up costing 2,000.00 USD. That is without room service or any extras. If the cost does not matter - you couldn't find a better place to stay. If it does matter, (for us it did), think about the quality of your time and the length of your visit. We knew we would only have three nights in London and didn't want to mess around - wanted it perfect. (also FYI - it was about 80.00 USD for cab from/to Heathrow)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daughterofasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLevinHotel, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review.

I`m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It always feels good when we receive good feedback and customers leave with happy memories.
I`m very proud to have such a great team and we will continue to provide excellent service to our customers

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Levin on future visits to London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    58
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
87
216
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Having just had our second visit to The Levin we had a wonderful stay and were cared for in the most excellent way by all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbdouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Where do I start! The Levin Hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever been to, and I have been to numerous hotels around the world and " The Levin " is by far my most favorite hotel for the following reasons:
Fantastic Location: as it is one step from Harrods and many excellent shopping venues.
Amazing prompt services: it will honestly take the wonderful staff members less than a minute to grant your wishes.
Outstanding staff: they really treat you like family and make you feel like home and go to any extend to help make your stay enjoyable and comfortable and will give you fabulous guiding advises concerning places to go and things to do in London.
Restaurant: unforgettable food, Atmosphere and fantastic staff.
I would go back to it whenever I visit London and will recommend it to people looking for an unforgettable Boutique hotel.
Rania AL-Awadi
Kuwait
July 23,2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rania88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at The Levin. The room we stayed in was very nicely decorated, and very clean. But the best part of The Levin is definitely the staff. They were all extremly nice and always going out of their way to help us in anything we needed. When we arrived home, I recieved an email telling me I left some clothes in the room, and asking what they should do with them. This goes to show how excellent their service is, I have left things in hotel rooms by accident before, but I have never been contacted by any of them. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The things that impressed me most with this hotel was:
- location - its two doors up from Harrods and within walking distance (about 3-4km) to other shopping areas, but there are heaps of shops closer than that as well, though they are not cheap shops
- service - the staff went beyond that expected, nothing was too difficult. They do have an optional service charge which we were happy to pay due to their free wireless and the fact they served us their amazing coffee for free after we had checked out but were returning to the hotel to drop off some shopping with our luggage. In addition, when we arrived the taxi's EFTPOS machine was busted and they let us withdraw cash from them to pay for it
- breakfast - the coffee is amazing (you have to pay extra for proper brewed coffee but its worth it) - and I drink double espressos, no sugar, which is a true test! I can't actually drink coffee at home now because their coffee was so good. The offerings for breakfast are exactly what I like - included with the room was continental only, you have to pay extra if you want a fry up. The breakfast had fresh fruit and high quality cereal, they were happy to provide me a jug of soy milk for no additional charge.
- we got a deluxe room - the size was excellent, for London I would go as far to say as it was almost huge, a little noisy but bearable (it wasn't noisy all the time). I love the decor in this hotel!

Its not the cheapest hotel but for three nights it was worth it for the location, service, food, and room size. I know from experience that even when you aren't in the room much, a bad hotel can ruin your trip. We had stayed with family in the UK elsewhere already so had money left over for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was a repeat visit to The Levin, although the previous time was when it was L'Hotel. New owners have renovated the premises beautifully. A small lift services the building. We had a room on the third floor facing Basil St. Although the room was not large, it was reasonably well designed, with the exception of the need to negotiate two doors from the hall to gain access. That was unwieldy and somewhat aggravating, particularly when carrying suitcases. Air conditioning was a little noisy. What sets The Levin apart is it's excellent position, very close to Harrods and Knightsbridge Underground. The location is surprisingly quiet at night. A reasonably good continental breakfast is provided in the restaurant on the lower ground level.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our fourth visit to this home from home in London. The staff are terrific, the location is central yet it is very quiet. The breakfast has good variety. The beds and linen are the very best. Just fantastic all round in our opinion. Would we go back a fifth time? Absolutely, and this time we will book a deluxe room. The only item that could be improved is the internet access which at present is available but you need a password renewal every 24 hours which is a slight irritation nothing more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fender69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#43 of 1,069 in London
745 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#296 of 1,069 in London
746 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#675 of 1,069 in London
139 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#295 of 1,069 in London
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Property: The Levin
Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing