We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Location, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

Rooms are small, but rate is right. The service is friendly. And oh, the location! Right in the center of London, with theater, museums, everything close at hand.

  • Stayed March 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    244
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
102
265
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2005

It was the review that said "Lousiest Hotel I ever stayed" penned by the misguided Tourist from California that suggested that the Fielding might be just the place for us. That, and its Rough Guide entry. And so it really was!
We were not "attending" anything - just going to the theatre, eating out, meeting family - simply having a good time. And for us, with 50+ years of assorted hotel disasters behind us, the Fielding was a truly delightful place to stay. It was just as it said on the label: simple, hugely friendly, quirky, unusual, and right in the middle of everything!
And as for elevators, room service, fawning flunkeys, and air-con - not to mention high security keys - of course there was none of this, but only the truly and indelibly ignorant might have expected it.
It's a fun place at which to stay. Not cheap (In truth, really very much not cheap at all - but who cares?) but just welcoming and convenient. From where else can you stroll down to the National Gallery, get pleasantly tired, stroll back for a leisurely lunch and then take a quiet nap before walking to an evening of Opera or Theatre?
Go for it! But not too many please, so the two of us can get in next time.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2005

I selected this hotel for its fantastic location, price and good reviews - not for myself, but for some business colleagues visiting London from abroad. On their first evening I called at the hotel to check that they were all right and also to ask the staff whether they would be able to re-credit my card for the deposit which I had paid on my colleagues' behalf. To my complete amazement the staff immediately became surly and offensive, culminating in one of them trying to stare me down and actually making a silly grimace in imitation of the conciliatory smile with which I was attempting to cool the situation. I had been quiet and polite in my approach (I am after all a 63-year-old professional woman well used to dealing with people in all sorts of situations, and would have been perfectly happy with a polite refusal). I didn't even dare remonstrate with these people, as my colleagues were still in the hotel and I did not want them to suffer similarly insulting behaviour.

I will never use this hotel again, and would recommend anyone else to stay well clear. I am completely shocked and dismayed that a central London hotel could countenance such behaviour by its staff.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2005

the fielding hotel on bow street is and has been our fave place to stay since the 70's
nice to see some place that does not change drastically
close to covent garden pubs opera house resataurants you name it it is there
food and people galore
folks at the fielding most pleasant and helpfull
too bad the parrot is no longer there
who cares about star rating
we are the stars and there are lots
the showers tiny
so if you have a few too many inches around you be aware to feel cramped in the shower
take a face cloth (flannel) with you
so just enjoy london and the fielding price is right also
lee carlson
toronto

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

Location, location, location. Pefect! This clean, simple hotel is in a (somehow) quiet corner of Covent Garden. We loved staying here, within walking distance of Soho, the City, Trafalgar Square, etc. The hotel was a great value overall!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Kittypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#209 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing