We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location for all your London Sightseeing needs! My 3 sons and I first visited this hotel in December 2013. We have just had our 2nd visit and we love this little hotel more than ever. If you have lots planned for your London visit and need to be central, then look no further than The Fielding. There is no restaurant/bar facilities but the rooms are very comfortable, cosy, clean and all that you need for a great price in the centre of all that is happening. The reception staff (lots of different faces) are friendly, warm and accommodating, but if you want something special organised, talk to Grace....

Room Tip: If you require a Family room. Select the top floor. The basement room is great, but lacking light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljgrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    254
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
278
98
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped at this hotel last night and had a lovely room (12) very quiet. Very clean room with fab decoration! The room was slightly warm as the weather was so hot but the air con units soon sorted that out. Staff were really friendly at reception and were very chatty! Not far from all the sites in London! Wings was a brilliant place for breakfast which was just round the corner from the hotel! Strongly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here with my wife for one night as we wanted to have an evening at the theatre and not have too far to walk. The hotel is only about 200m from the Theatre Royal Drury Lane so perfect for us.

The hotel is small but the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room is only available from 1pm so early arrivals will need to leave their luggage in a locked store if they want to go off somewhere till then.

The room was small but clean and came with a double bed (extremely hard mattress), a TV with some Freeview channels, a hairdryer, and tea/coffee making facilities. There is no room-safe but the Reception can secure any valuables if you want to do that. The en-suite shower room has complimentary shower gel and shampoo plus toothbrush and toothpastes, which was very good to see as most hotels don't do this.

The location is perfect for most central London places and we even walked to Trafalgar Square (10 minutes) to get the obligatory Tour Bus but the Tube is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

My only complaint (and it is not necessarily one against the hotel) is that the mattress was so hard neither I nor my wife slept well but if you like a hard mattress then this is no problem. Perhaps the hotel might consider giving some options on mattress choice when allocating rooms.

If I was going to the theatre again I would definitely stay here but would need to ask for a softer mattress or at least stay out of Room 33.

Room Tip: Choose Room 33 if you like to sleep on a concrete mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night and will definitely come back. The hotel is very close to Covent Garden where there are plenty of places to eat. The hotel is very quiet and the rooms nicely decorated with a flat screen TV, wifi, tea coffee facilities and all the toiletries needed in the bathroom. We have a double and twin for the children. They weren't huge but fine for our needs. I did see one of the rooms which was very large so there is a choice. The lady on reception was very friendly and we were able to leave our luggage in a secure room before checking in and after we had checked out. The hotel has a list of places to eat. We went to a small cafe on Drury Lane which didn't look much but was perfect for breakfast. Couldn't fault the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the last two rooms available which are usually the least nice and they were both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I only stayed one night but was completely satisfied - quiet, very clean and with lots of small details to make your stay more comfortable. Complimentary slippers, eye-mask, toothbrush and toothpaste, 3 bottles of water and the usual tea and coffee-making facilities.
The single room was very small but the hotel is on a quiet pedestrian lane off Bow street, in Covent Garden, right in the heart of the theatre, cinema and shopping district. I managed to get a discounted last-minute rate booking on-line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina_Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here recently for one night as we were going to a show at the Dominion Theatre. We thought it was a really cute hotel. Our room was small, but it was cosy and comfortable. The staff that we met were very welcoming, genuine and helpful.

Room Tip: I don't think the hotel has a lift, so we had requested a first floor room, which is what we got...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely quiet location but just round the corner from Covent Garden's hustle and bustle. The outside is in need of some TLC i have to admit. Some peeling paintwork with a bit of a weather worn look. However, the staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was a superior twin and i loved the split level style. The bed was very comfortable and the hospitality tray was very generous. There was more than enough electrical sockets, plenty of complimentary toiletries and plenty of towels. A small problem with the shower room though...some cobwebs high up on wall hadnt been cleaned up.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LionessSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#58 of 1,068 in London
148 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#251 of 1,068 in London
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Henrietta Hotel
The Henrietta Hotel
#599 of 1,068 in London
34 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,068 in London
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing