We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-priced”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for one-night and it was perfect for our needs. Not at all fancy, but charming and surprisingly spacious. If you're looking for something with lots of amenities, this isn't it but nor is it trying to be, Perfect location if you're a theatre-goer. Close to tons of great restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't travel light, ask for a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurelmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 693 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in april in a ground floor double. the room is small but well designed and the staff were very helpfull. the location is excellent close to attractions but still quiet for central london. we found the bed quite firm and the room could do with a repaint but would stay here again. had an excellent meal at yming and the real greek.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the fielding hotel for two nights. The first night we were woken in the morning at 7:30 by kango hammers, sawing and a load of banning! The hotel is going through an upgrade and I was very upset that the management did not tell me that the hotel was going through this upgrade when I booked a month in advance. I did complain to the receptionist and they gave us the first night free for inconvenience it caused us. This hotel is a hidden gem, positioned in the heart of Covent Garden, walking distance from plenty of first class restaurants, the tube station and theatre land. All the staff we came into contact were welcoming and very friendly, our room 15 was beautifully decorated, the hotel has a load of history that is oozing from the walls. The next ime we visit London we will book into this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 15 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2greatdanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

One of my most favourite places in the world is Covent Garden and this elegant boutique hotel is located in the heart of it!! The location couldn't be better. I have discovered a place to stay when I visit London, as I always end up in Covent Garden piazza! I stayed with my daughters in March for a night in a double bedroom and the other one in a family room. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Everything was superb, beds, bath, free wi-fi, tea & coffee facilities, etc. The staff were extremely polite and attentive. The Fielding Hotel has a lot of character and an elegance that I didn't find anywhere else so far. It blends in with the whole magical atmosphere of Covent Garden. We shall most definitely stay here again and again and again! Thank you very much Grace and Ananta!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 42 and 43. Both were totally awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you so much! Covent Garden is a lovely area of London and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with your daughters in our little haven in the midst of it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

my partner treated me to the opera...a stones throw away and the night at this charming hotel.....
You will not be disappointed....from the friendly reception to a most beautiful room....large bed....a fantastic slipper bath...and the best shower I have ever had....and their recommendation for breakfast was superb......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank southseasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your room...what a nice treat to have been given.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 for a couple of nights. We had booked the hotel for its central location, and we were not disappointed. It is superbly located for the West End and for theatre land. Close to the Royal Opera House, to Covent Garden and its tube station, a pleasant and level walk along the Embankment brings you to the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey.

The hotel itself is charming. Modest in size, it has a period feel. Our room was on the second floor and was deceptively large. The bedroom was on one level and the bathroom / study area sunk on a lower level. Whilst we loved the quirkiness of it, anyone with significant mobility difficulties would find the split level challenging. If you have such difficulties, then it would be advisable to contact the hotel in advance of your booking. The room was immaculate, both in terms of its decoration and its cleanliness. The bathroom, in particular, was sparkling.

You can't eat at the hotel, but - hey - there are numerous cafes and restaurants within a couple of hundred metres. Ask the reception staff, as we did, to recommend somewhere for breakfast. They recommended a little cafe on Drury Lane (about a two-minute stroll away). I had a wonderful bacon sandwich there - thick slices of bacon sandwiched between satisfying chunks of bread! Lovely! There are also plenty of national chains offering breakfast within easy walking distance if you prefer something a little more sophisticated (by which I mean "less tasty"!).

Both my wife and I slept well here. Despite February's cold weather, the room was pleasantly warm. As others have said, there are complementary eyeshades and earplugs available, but we didn't need to use these. I did use the complementary slippers, though!

A highlight of our trip was a visit to Somerset House - again only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The entrance charge was laughable, really, given the treasure trove inside. The House contains the Courtauld Institute's superb and comprehensive range of works of art, including Renaissance art. Over the last few years we have visited world-famous galleries in Florence, Venice and Rome. And yet - I think I enjoyed this better. That's because everything's on a human scale and you can get up close and personal with some great works of art. It's not too overwhelming, really.

So - in conclusion - the Fielding Hotel is very good if you're looking for somewhere central to stay in London, It may not be to everyone's taste, but it suited us. Next time we travel to London for pleasure, the Fielding will get our business again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mineworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

This is a wonderful and informative review and I'm sure it will be very useful to other potential guests too, thank you very much indeed for taking the time to cover it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although it is more of a just a place to sleep, so I am not sure how it gets hotel name, it is still a superb place to stay. The fact that it is in the centre of Covent Garden means bars, restaurants and cafes are close by. When I stayed here several weeks ago, the staff were very helpful and the room was well-furnished. It has free-wifi too which was a great addition. The bathroom was fully-stocked with everything you need and there was a EXTREMELY comfy bed. What impressed me the most was the reasonable room-rate; it shows you can enjoy a London break without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#53 of 1,077 in London
186 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#246 of 1,077 in London
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#451 of 1,077 in London
9,900 reviews
Covent Garden
The Henrietta Hotel
The Henrietta Hotel
#416 of 1,077 in London
66 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $155 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing