We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
365
287
57
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
287
57
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal opera house covent garden no lift drury lane split level great location small hotel single room narrow stairs lovely little hotel a ground floor room theatre land bottled water leicester square west end lady on reception just round the corner
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 756 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Looking at the reviews for this hotel I must believe that there are huge differences between various types of rooms. My room was certainly mediocre, small in size and badly maintained (plenty of burnt lightbulbs and non functioning plugs), not to mention that it was at the 3rd floor without elevator. The service was either indifferent or unprofessional, as they for instance completely forgot my wake up call and only called me 45 minutes later pretending that it was only a minor delay! For the rest, the position is good and the street, being a pedestrian area isn't too noisy. All in all I don't think I'm going to stay there anymore, there's plenty of other nice hotels in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Vincenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

After looking into these comments we can find no trace or evidence from staff or records kept that this is a genuine review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in June and were pleased with our choice of hotel. It was Jubilee weekend so hotels were generally busy - I think we got the last available room. The location is great, we walked to the theatre on Saturday then down to the river on Sunday for the Jubilee pageant. We found the pedestrianised location quiet and pleasant. There are no breakfast facilities, but there are plenty of eating places in the area, so it's not a problem. The only disadvantage is that there is no lift, so cases have to be carried up the stairs - and we were near the top. There is no fire escape either, but the manageress assured us that fire precautions were in place. Would we return to this hotel? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAndJoy167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we are happy to hear you would choose to return. I hope you were offered help with your cases and if not then we appologise as all staff are briefed to do this as we appreciate stairs can be hard work with luggage! A lower floor can be requested if you contact us directly and we will be happy to help. With regard to the fire precautions, we have a state of the art fire alarm that will pinpoint exactly any source of heat or smoke allowing instant identification and there is a fire escape on the ground floor at the rear of the building. The doors for all rooms and corridors are built to withstand 3 hours of fire and the Fire Service will be in attendance within minutes. The Fielding is well protected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Managed to get a "flash sale" deal which was very reasonable. We are very fussy and usually have a least some small criticism when we stay anywhere, which is very often. Had the perfect experience here at the Fielding. We were lucky enough to get the room with the bath in and it was a lovely room. Little things like not being shy with the complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee just shows that this little hotel knows that it is the attention to detail which makes all the difference. We will definately return. Bravo!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really enjoyable stay the location is fantastic for Covent Garden, & Leicerster Square Theatres Bars and Restaurants. Easy check in and great staff. The room was compact but user friendly and clean. Would we stay here again a big Yes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

What a lovely cheery review! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel may not look much from the outside but it was nicely decorated, clean, with very friendly staff and was in the most amazing location for getting around. I had a single room during the Olympics and it was nicely done and much bigger than I expected. There is no elevator (so be prepared to do some stair work!) and no breakfast available here, but you're in Covent Garden, so your food choices for all meals are endless! FREE wi-fi in the room, which was a nice bonus and it worked quickly and reliably the whole week.

By far the best thing about this cute little hotel is it's location though. On a quiet side street off Long Acre, you're about a 1 minute walk to the tube, 1 minute to the Royal Opera House, 5 minutes to many theatres, 1 minute to M&S, 2 minutes to Covent Garden Market, 2 minutes to lots of cute Covent Garden shops at the "7 Dials", 10 minutes to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and 15-20 to Big Ben and Oxford Street.

I was really impressed with this little hotel, my stay in London there was amazing and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for this really nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and the location! I'm sureyour comments will be useful to readers as you have described places to visit and distances/timings perfectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews