We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Arch London(London)
$307
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$283
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$248
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$154
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$258
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $466/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
359
283
57
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
283
57
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal opera housecovent gardenno liftdrury lanesplit levelgreat locationsmall hotelsecure roomsingle roomnarrow stairslovely little hotela ground floor roomtheatre landbottled waterleicester squarewest endlady on reception
Filter
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 742 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in June and were pleased with our choice of hotel. It was Jubilee weekend so hotels were generally busy - I think we got the last available room. The location is great, we walked to the theatre on Saturday then down to the river on Sunday for the Jubilee pageant. We found the pedestrianised location quiet and pleasant. There are no breakfast facilities, but there are plenty of eating places in the area, so it's not a problem. The only disadvantage is that there is no lift, so cases have to be carried up the stairs - and we were near the top. There is no fire escape either, but the manageress assured us that fire precautions were in place. Would we return to this hotel? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAndJoy167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we are happy to hear you would choose to return. I hope you were offered help with your cases and if not then we appologise as all staff are briefed to do this as we appreciate stairs can be hard work with luggage! A lower floor can be requested if you contact us directly and we will be happy to help. With regard to the fire precautions, we have a state of the art fire alarm that will pinpoint exactly any source of heat or smoke allowing instant identification and there is a fire escape on the ground floor at the rear of the building. The doors for all rooms and corridors are built to withstand 3 hours of fire and the Fire Service will be in attendance within minutes. The Fielding is well protected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Managed to get a "flash sale" deal which was very reasonable. We are very fussy and usually have a least some small criticism when we stay anywhere, which is very often. Had the perfect experience here at the Fielding. We were lucky enough to get the room with the bath in and it was a lovely room. Little things like not being shy with the complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee just shows that this little hotel knows that it is the attention to detail which makes all the difference. We will definately return. Bravo!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really enjoyable stay the location is fantastic for Covent Garden, & Leicerster Square Theatres Bars and Restaurants. Easy check in and great staff. The room was compact but user friendly and clean. Would we stay here again a big Yes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

What a lovely cheery review! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel may not look much from the outside but it was nicely decorated, clean, with very friendly staff and was in the most amazing location for getting around. I had a single room during the Olympics and it was nicely done and much bigger than I expected. There is no elevator (so be prepared to do some stair work!) and no breakfast available here, but you're in Covent Garden, so your food choices for all meals are endless! FREE wi-fi in the room, which was a nice bonus and it worked quickly and reliably the whole week.

By far the best thing about this cute little hotel is it's location though. On a quiet side street off Long Acre, you're about a 1 minute walk to the tube, 1 minute to the Royal Opera House, 5 minutes to many theatres, 1 minute to M&S, 2 minutes to Covent Garden Market, 2 minutes to lots of cute Covent Garden shops at the "7 Dials", 10 minutes to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and 15-20 to Big Ben and Oxford Street.

I was really impressed with this little hotel, my stay in London there was amazing and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for this really nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and the location! I'm sureyour comments will be useful to readers as you have described places to visit and distances/timings perfectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As indicated in several other reviews, this hotel has some very good qualities. Foremost among these are its location and the helpfulness of the staff. As is typical in the downtown locations of big cities, the room is small and very expensive (I paid $300/night for a double with sitting room). The problem is that the hotel is in a noisy location, and unless you are a very sound sleeper this will dominate your experience with the Fielding. Let me be more specific. Each night I tried to go to sleep around 11 pm. For the first 2 hours, patrons outside the bar, located just 1/2 block away, carried on in loud voices (often yelling). The Fieldings' windows are an old style and not at all soundproof, so I could easily make out the conversations even with the windows up. Once this party broke up, around 1 am, some residents of the Fielding started arriving back at the hotel with the inevitable slamming of doors and loud hallway discussions. The floors creak more loudly than any hotel I have stayed at, so if your upstairs neighbor arrives after you turn in for the night you can plan to hear every footfall. Around 2 am things calmed down, but by 5 am the garbage collectors were at work and the noise began anew. This went on all three nights I stayed at the hotel. I want to emphasize that the noise was the only problem I experienced at the Fielding, but if one is unable to sleep in their hotel room (particularly for $300/night), then the only choice is to give a poor ranking. I also want to emphasize that if you are the sort of person who sleeps like the dead, you will have a good experience at this hotel.

There are some other minor negatives: no breakfast is provided and there is no elevator: hauling luggage up 3 or 4 flights of a narrow staircase can be a challenge.

Room Tip: My room was no. 20 and it was loud. There might be a side of the hotel that is more quiet, but I don't think so.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChemGeek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and what a shame that noise disturbed your stay with us. There have been some temporary changes made to waste and recycling collection times due to the restrictions in place for the Olympics and Paralympics period and, combined with a huge influx of visitors to London, that contributed to our usually peaceful environment being affected at times. A lot of our guest reviews comment on the suprising peace and quiet in such a central location and we are disapponted that you felt this was not the case for you on this occasion. We hope you still enjoyed Covent Garden and have some happy memories of us too..............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews