We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for Theatreland stay”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #218 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Theatreland stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Location was excellent. A couple of minutes walk from Covent Garden and very handy for Theatreland. Comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were a little small, even the superior room we stayed in. There was no bar or food available on the premises but this was really not a problem as there were many places to choose from nearby (This is probably the reason they stopped catering and it is a sensible idea in the circumstances). The receptionist directed us to a reasonably priced cafe for breakfast which was excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenW710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing us and we're glad you enjoyed sampling and supporting the local cafes and restaurants.You are exactly right with your observation, we stopped serving food many years ago for that very reason as we are spoilt for choice here and like to support them too.......and agree, the breakfast cafe round the corner is.......excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    248
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
270
95
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here just one night during the Olympics but this was a hidden gem of a hotel. Located in a wide alley walkway near Covent garden, this hotel has a real B & B feel to it. Staff was very accommodating with our arrival time and our luggage upon leaving. Comfortable bed and even though it was small, the bathroom was so well done we didn't even notice. We left a couple pieces of clothing there and they found them and after some email communication sent them back home for us. There is a nice little Italian restaurant (Zizzi) just outside the hotel where we sat and had some bread, wine and dessert.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattB440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments and we hope your clothes enjoyed the extra few nights with us after you had gone home....they were model guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, being amongst the "fortunate few" to get Olympic tickets for the Dressage Finals at Greenwich Park!
Location,location,location!.....The Fielding is just 50yds from The Royal Opera House, and 250yds from Covent Garden Underground Station....so,so convenient! It is a small hotel with a real "homely feel". We had a very warm welcome from reception upon arrival. Rooms are quite small, but have been recently refurbished and are tastefully furnished and decorated. Lots of wardrobe/drawer space and clever use of mirrors make the room appear bigger. Rooms have air-conditioning, which was useful as we stayed on 2 of the hottest days this Summer! Bathroom was beautifully tiled and my Wife loved the TV. at the end of the bath....perfect way to enjoy watching "soaps"! Bed was comfortable but "light-sleepers" beware....this is Central London and is never quiet!
Hotel offers "room only" accommodation...no bar or restaurant facility....however this is not a problem as bars/cafes/restaurants are in abundance "right on the doorstep".
Thus if visiting London to enjoy shopping, sight-seeing, or seeing a West End Show, the Fielding is a "real gem"......another of London`s "hidden" Crown Jewels!
We loved our stay and Great Britain won Gold and Bronze Medals.......simply brilliant!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We're really pleased we contributed to your Olympic experience and to be awarded a 'Gold' is fantastic......Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just returned from staying in this hotel for 6 nights during the Olympics. I had booked a suite but when we arrived the one we were given was directly above the main hotel entrance making it pretty noisey and the decor wasn't good. The hotel staff were excellent and offered us another room at the back of the hotel which was perfect, quiet, modern and very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location with everything you need on your doorstep. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and will definately return when we next visit london.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are dleighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to give you a room that suited you well. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Small hotel hidden in the back streets off Covent Garden. Rooms are modern with good facilities and great shower. Bed are very comfortable and was supplied with slippers and eye masks.

Free wifi and good Tv topped the package.

Probably the most memorable aspect was the decorations - large mirrors, pictures and wall handings. Very tastefully done.

Remember no breakfast supplied but lots of Cafe's nearby (Tea/coffee in room anyway).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and we're very pleased you enjoyed the decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Basic hotel, nothing fancy. but clean and quiet. Friendly staff. We had a family room on the top floor (3 flights of stairs no lift). Lots of space by London standards. Could not beat the location! Within a few minutes walk of Tube station as well as Covent Garden Market. close to a ton of great restaurants. Could grab the tube to get anywhere in town. Perfect location! We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieBL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are glad you enjoyed Covent Garden and you overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very nice hotel, warm welcome by reception, this hotel is in a quiet location so no problem with noise from traffic. We stayed in a ground floor room which was split level, no bath just a large shower but plenty of space in the room and it was clean. Only stayed one night, worth the money for the location and will probably stay again

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpoodlepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and just to let you know we have two rooms with baths so, if you would like one of those next time you stay....... we will try to arrange it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#142 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#251 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing