We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Since my review is late posting (disregard the date of visit), I should not speak regarding the decor since it seems they've had some renovations since. For my visit I was "upgraded" to the top floor but I think it was an on the spot decision seeing that I was an able bodied person to hoof it up and down the narrow stairs.

This was a leave your key at reception type of place and there was no coming or going without their watchful eye. The assistance with things to do was always available and they even let me down to the basement to use their iron.

The area, as you already know, is very central. Key for me included the nearby Metro stop.

If they have indeed renovated the rooms, I would consider giving them another look.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamachi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    211
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
88
230
89
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

For the location and the degree of comfort offered, the price can't be beaten. The lack of breakfast isn't really a concern (unless you're used to being served in bed, maybe) as there are a plethora (!) of places within a couple of hundred yards (traditional English at the friendly Wings cafe on Drury Lane or Patisserie Valerie on Long Acre, not to mention all the Cafe Neros and St*****ks) . Arriving by taxi will require you to walk only 70 or so yards with your luggage from Bow Street.
The staff is friendly and helpful. I had a single room (Room 1) on the ground floor. If mobility is a problem for you and as the Hotel has no lift and fairly narrow stairs, you would be wise to specify upon booking that you want a single or double on the ground floor (there are no triples here I was advised). The room is tastefully decorated, with the usual flatscreen tv, desk, coffee making facilities, lovely soft carpet (which you notice when you're not used to it...), heavy curtains...
If I had one (small) gripe (about this room) it would be the bed, which is fitted exactly into the space between the external wall and the wall behind the bathroom. As I am 6'2" (186cm), my feet and head were flush up against the walls: not really a problem as I don't always sleep fully extended, but you can't help being reminded of it occasionally during the night.. Anyone 2" shorter probably wouldn't notice it.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. Great for theatre, opera, shopping, restaurants. And finally, as it's located on a pedestrian street, it's very quiet (for London).

Room Tip: Specify ground floor room to avoid heaving heavy cases up/down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect on a residential street in Covent Garden, ideal for exploring London. The hotel does not offer a bar or breakfast but with so many options seconds from the front door, this not an issue.
I stayed in room 42 in the basement and opening the door was a lovely surprise, well decorated room with a deep bath. Then in the bathroom a fabulous monsoon shower.
Friends were in twin rooms on other floors, not quite as fabulous as my room, they were however well presented and clean.
Reception were friendly and I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a central location in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Late rooms special,price around £55. Imaculate room, v comfy and in great spot. Great value at that price

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozani, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

it's a very sympathetic hotel for a couple or a family. it's in the hard of the London in a very good location. the reception it's very friendly. a best solution for someome who is looking for a good hotel, in a very good place, with a very good decoration and with a very good price. have a nice accomobation!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsiompanos i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We found the Fielding Hotel by chance having found that our chosen Radisson Hotel was fully booked. Our initial concerns about lack of breakfast facilities were soon dispelled once we saw the location. It really is in the heart of Covent Garden and with access to all the restaurants you could ever want. We were more than impressed with our room which had a boutique feel. The bathroom had underfloor heating and a shower big enough for four. Bottled water was provided along with tea and coffee. The lady on reception was friendly, welcoming and provided us with details of some of the less well known but more interesting and artisan shopping areas. This hotel more than competes with the larger hotels and will be our first choice of London hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Needtogrowup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Comfortable, good service and well-located; everything I was looking for!

Room Tip: The sitting room is a great bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chick911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#214 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#358 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 7,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing