We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped accomodation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #247 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cramped accomodation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night after an international flight back to the UK and paid over £100 for what we were not told at the time of booking was in an annex across the road from this small-ish hotel.

The room (No2) was down a small tight staircase in the basement and we had difficulty getting suitcases through doors and into the small room where there was little space to put them, far less open them.

Outside the window of the room (which faced the street) there was a ladder lying on the ground which I took to be the means of escape in case of a fire in this annex. Hmmm, how would small children or elderly and/or obese adults be expected to negotiate this and over the top of the fence above a wall, especially in the dark and/or heavy rain, snow, sleet, hail etc - not very well I suspect.
Is that an approved means of escape?

Again, the breakfast room back across the road in the main building was small with far too many people in there. I have never experienced such a cramped breakfast or dining room.

The food was OK and the staff friendly enough though and the room was clean and I could smell fresh paint somewhere.

On booking in during the evening of the 5th March, the young man, on my enquiring, told me there were 52 rooms including the annex and that they were pretty well full that night.
At even £100 per room, this equates to somewhere between £5,000 and £6,000 and it appears from the website that many rooms are much dearer at £123, £153 and £168 so we are talking large sums of money here, even by London standards.

I know we will not be staying there again, though many will because of the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor and share your experience.
We are sorry if we have not met your expectations. As a small, independent Family Business for over 35 years, we do try hard!
With regards to the ladder found in the back yard of the hotel, may I assure you that in no way it would be a means of escape in case of a fire. All fire exits are obviously clearly visible and with signs throughout the hotel, in line with the Fire Regulations.
As we run a very succesfull family business please bear in mind that during certain times there could be a waiting time for a table, as in fact happens in many other restaurants. That is why, on check-in, we advise guests about it.
We are glad to hear that you found the LOCATION GREAT!
Again my sincere apologies.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    879
    225
    54
    27
See reviews for
459
689
219
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Alhambra Hotel for three nights in December 2013, just after Christmas. We chose Alhambra because it was about half the cost of just about any other hotel we could find on Booking.com. Yes, the toilet and shower are not in the room, but we never really had to wait on anyone to use them, the rooms are small, and there are narrow staircases and no elevators, but other than that it was clean and everything we needed for a home base for our days in London without breaking our budget. The location is great also - right near King's Cross and St. Pancras International Train Stations and their underground station as well. They serve a full English breakfast in the morning, which I would recommend (we also tried the continental breakfast, but it only had about half of the things they advertised). Even though the hotel did not feel busy, the breakfast room was always full and you may have to wait in the hall for a table, or share a table with another couple. Alhambra Hotel was everything we needed it to be for a fun London trip, and an amazing value in such an expensive city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayland44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback. It is great to hear that you found the Alhambra Hotel an amazing VALUE-FOR-MONEY hotel with CLEAN Rooms and a GREAT LOCATION. Our English Breakfast is renowned among guest reviews for being FRESH, FILLING and FAST.
Once again thank you for the positive review.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Was taken to London as a surprise by my wife to see a show, and we stayed in the Alhambra for one night. Lovely location, friendly staff, clean and adequate room, free wifi and a nice breakfast but we had a terrible nights sleep - we both thought that the room we were in (Room 16) was uncomfortably warm - and this was with no heating on. The windows were fully open when we checked in as well. Whether the problem came from our location in the hotel (I think we were above the kitchens) or not we don't know, but it was almost impossible to breathe in the room without having the windows fully open - and Kings Cross isn't the quietest of locations in London to have your windows open.

So, a bad nights sleep in a lovely room accompanied by police sirens and traffic noises.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoldsFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the recent feedback which means so much to us.
We are sorry if you have experienced some issues with the room temperature. There seems to be a problem with the plumbing. We are looking into it at the moment and expect to have it sorted very soon.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed at the Alhambra several times. It provides clean and comfortable accommodation, providing you don't have a large amount of luggage. The rooms are small but adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The freshly cooked breakfast is so much better than those buffet style ones in far more expensive hotels. And, above all, the situation is great for anyone travelling to or from the Continent by train. Local transport by bus, tube or taxi is virtually on the doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor. As a return guest it is good to know that we met your expectations once again. Great to hear that you found our staff friendly and our breakfast is generous and fresh.
We look forward to have you staying with us again soon..
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on my own,was sitting an exam and so needed peace and quiet to do some last minute revision and have a good nights sleep.
Stayed in room 12 and with fire door closed over not a sound to be heard.All boxes ticked, clean,comfortable,Wifi, t.v.-,adjustable heating, tea/coffee facilities and SPOTLESS ! really clean and shining throughout hotel.
Owner a lovely gentleman,cooks a tasty breakfast and son in law friendly and helpful not forgetting the front of house staff-great team.
Could leave my luggage there and borrow brolly after checking out-returned for case around 4pm. Would have no hesitation in staying here again. felt very safe,this was very important as I was a single traveller.
Nothing too much trouble.Nicest hotel on the street.
Thanks to all

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FREEFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
A special thank you for posting such a positive comment about the Alhambra Hotel. It really means a lot to us to hear that you were happy with your stay, specially with the fact that you found your room CLEAN,COMFORTABLE and that everyone was friendly and helpful.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently stayed at your hotel for one night on our way to France.

The check-in process both online and in person was very easy and friendly. The room met our needs perfectly being clean, large enough and well equipped with tea makings, hair dryer, etc. The Wifi worked fine even though there was a sign saying it was out of service.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was filling and equipped with some helpful advice and conversation with the cook (who may be the owner?).

Location is great for Eurostar, St. Pancras and Picadilly line.

We would recommend a stay here, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and that you found our staff very friendly.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Didnt think it was possible to get a hotel in London for under £100/night, or at least one you'd want to stay in, but the Alhambra was a pleasant surprise and proved me wrong

Yes, its basic, yes it's a bit small, but the rooms were well kept, new decor, comfy and clean.

I didnt have breakfast as I was up and out early, and theres a Costa at the end of the road

Location good, handy for Kings Cross, I walked from Euston and it took maybe 10 minutes

Staff were polite and made sure everything was OK

Free wireless was another bonus, it wasn't the fastest but seemed to work ok, enough for Facebook and email but probably wouldn't Skype on it

Overall really happy and would stay there again

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the recent feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to learn that you found the Alhambra Hotel VALUE FOR MONEY in London.
We offer a great location, clean room and a great customer service.
Again many thanks for sharing your experience at the Alhambra Hotel with us.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#368 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#540 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in London
#219 Business Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing