We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #257 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and chose the hotel as we had to travel the Eurostar to Paris the next day. There were 3 of us and the only room big enough was in the basement. It was still small considering our luggage, and hard it carry the bags up and down. Wifi was okay. Breakfast was good. Apart from the room my other problem was storing our luggage before we left for Paris. The hotel promised it could store our bags during the day, but instead told us we could store it in the unlocked breakfast room. The meant carrying three big suitcases upstairs from our room, take it across the street to the main building, and downstairs to an unsecure room. Instead we took our bags to kings cross and paid for them to be stored in a secure room. Very disappointing.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Brit2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for the recent feedback on TripAdvisor. We take all comments seriously. We apologise about the luggage situation you have experienced but unfortunately we ask guests, when checking-out , to leave it in the Breakfast Room so they are not mixed up with the check-in luggage at the reception.
Also and unfortunately rooms are generally small in most London hotels but we offer, as a family business for over 40 years , a GREAT LOCATION, DECENT BREAKFAST AND A QUALITY SERVICE.
Again my sincere apologies.
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was very enjoyable, the staff is nice, helpfull. They answered every question; The room was in a quite place of the hotel as I requested when I booked the room. it was very clean. Breakfast was good and we had enough of food. The hotel is next to the station of Saint Pancras. Different places to eat around the hotel, a pharmacy, a post office. The location is perfect.

Room Tip: When you book a room, you can ask for a quite one. And I also asked for a hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Hotel was small as usual in London but it was very nice and clean. The breakfast room was very busy and therefore could be bigger other than that everything was perfect and the service was really nice.

Room Tip: We got a room on the first floor which was really good as the halls are really small and carrying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina_B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

An ideal location, beautifully clean and comfortable; rooms are small, as you might expect from the very reasonable price, but breakfast is above average. After our first experience of staying in this area,when the cosy- sounding family hotel turned out to be more like a scruffy backpackers' hostel, The Alhambra is a delight.

Room Tip: Some street noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent hotel, just across the road from Kings Cross. Spotlessly clean, great staff, freshly cooked breakfast.
Tea making facilities, TV, free Wifi, comfy beds, ensuite shower and loo. You can get a cheaper room with shared facilities. No lift.
Rooms are very small, but everything you need. No air con could be a problem in hot weather.
Must b the best value hotel in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Friendly and professionally run hotel in excellent location within stones throw of Kings Cross/St Pancras. We found the hotel was great for catching early eurostar.
Better hotel than many in the area we have stayed in. Compact rooms but clean and simple. Breakfast was of
high quality, well presented and served with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rooms are small, but knew that going in and was very pleasantly surprised by everything else. Booked online and check-in was seamless and accurate. On the tail end of a two-week trip with many stops in Europe, Alhambra was by far, the best internet we have experienced in-room. Each room has its own log in password (does this mean separate router for each?) and we got three computers and an iPhone logged on within seconds of arrival and it never failed. Very speedy. We are traveling with luggage and proximity to Kings Cross St. Pancras is conveniently a literal stone's throw. For location this was a fantastic bargain. Bathroom, while small, was exceptionally clean. Note that not all rooms have an en suite bathroom -- we had breakfast with a couple that was surprised to learn they had a shared bath. However, when I booked, this was not a hidden fact and the price structure, I believe, reflects this. Our room did not face the road, and was extremely quiet. Only slight annoyance was that halls are narrow and the flow of visitors across the hall sounded like they were at our door. Included breakfast was a bonus -- full English or continental offered to each guest. Plentiful staff to serve breakfast and we were in and out quickly. Breakfast room was very busy with tourists and business travelers, but did not feel crowded or hectic. Hotel always as a "FULL" sign posted, so if available, we would not hesitate to book in advance and return to Alhambra for cleanliness, decent full English breakfast, very good value, location, and wifi. (Note that their cancellation policy is very fair, as well. They even have comment cards in their rooms, breakfast tables, and lobby. Many hotels can't afford to ask for comments. I believe this is a fair and honest establishment that has been in business for years and really takes pride in their what they do).

Room Tip: Back of hotel (not facing road). Request en suite bathroom if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#546 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in London
#219 Business Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $82 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing