We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #249 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The staff are very friendly, it is in a good location, 1 minute walk to kings cross station and a 10 minute walk to Euston Station and only a 25 minute walk away to Oxford street. The room was nice and clean. Would fully recommend anyone to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmac9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    879
    225
    55
    27
See reviews for
460
689
219
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fjellhamar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Small, nice and very clean hotel, and polite and serviceminded staff. Very central location, near Kngs Cross. My 16 year old son and I had a very pleasant stay. Nice english breakfast. Wireless internet not optimal capasity, but did work all the time. I won't have any problems returning back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerFjellhamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great little hotel & B&B. A short walk from St. Pancras station but you must cross Euston Road to find Argyle Street. We enjoyed our 4 night stay in Room 2, which faced the back. It was quiet and had full sized windows. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Fire doors everywhere and smoke alarms in rooms and hallways. Suggestion: bring your own soap! Miniature soaps provided. Breakfast was very good and served in a comfortable dining room downstairs. The Piccadilly line around the block will take you everywhere in central London. Everyone on the staff was so friendly and helpful. They even opened the breakfast room early so that we could have a bite to eat before our flight. Outstanding. The Alhambra is family owned, they take pride in their hotel and it shows.
We will return on our next trip to London. Recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vzqzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Surprisingly quiet despite being a stone's throw from St Pancras. Reservation thru booking.com
I'd echo everyone else's comment about the welcome - German guy could not have been nicer or welcome warmer - first impressions count!
I was on the 3rd floor - not suitable for everyone as no lift - with shared facilities. Bedroom more that ok for 1 night - and very clean as was the shower and toilet facilities.
If I need excellent short term accommodation on a budget close to amenities this is a perfect venue.
And the "thank you' email afterwards was a sign of an organisation who has thought about service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Clean, comfortable, central and did as it said it would. Good breakfast. I needed a bed and wanted to walk from railway stations and to where my business was to be the next day. This made it cheaper and more comfortable to come down the night before on the train than on the morning of the visit - even factoring in the hotel bill. This would make it a bit of roulette, but when what you want is a clean bedroom with relative quiet and good location, this ticks the boxes and is more in keeping than wasting money on a bigger brand name hotel. I found no faults or concerns with what I was told would be the room and what I paid. Straight, honest good value. Not flash or grand, but that is exactly the point. I will stay again, and logging this on Trip advisor will remind me of the name of the Hotel - ALHAMBRA as in Spain and the theatre in Bradford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My daughter and stayed here for 1 night only, but it was a great experience! Room and bathroom very small but was spotlessly clean, the included breakfast was delicious. The service was awesome, the young man that checked us in also helped us with our bags, very nice and helpful! The hotel also is on a great central area, practically across the street from Kings Cross and about 5 min from Euston Station. Great Hotel!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swede80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a delightful hotel the Alhambra is. We were greeted with a warm friendly smile at reception and the young man there carried our case up the stairs to our room. Our room was very nice and most importantly, very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and so too were the pillows. We slept soundly. The following morning we were due to get the train, as we were off to the Battlefields of Flanders so, were concerned about how long breakfast would take as the hotel was full. We needn't have worried. We were served swiftly without being rushed. The breakfast choice was excellent; properly cooked and presented. The hotel is perfectly situated for all amenities. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Alhambra and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were across the road from the main hotel and there are no lifts (although our case was carried up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#367 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#103 Best Value Hotel in London
#219 Business Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing