We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good inexpensive location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruskin Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #584 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst visiting friends in London. We had a double room with a shared bathroom (right next door) and really loved being in the centre of London. It's about 3 blocks walk to the tube (Piccadilly and central lines) with easy connections. There is a supermarket and laundromat also a few blocks away. It was inexpensive with daily servicing of rooms and was very clean. The room next to the toilet was a bit noisy but for the price it was fine. Breakfast is a winner, toast, cereals, tea, coffee and bacon/eggs/beans/tomato/sausages. Staff were polite and helpful and wifi was available downstairs. A good find!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    111
    60
    14
    13
See reviews for
63
55
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Ruskin is a beautiful old building in Bloomsbury, the opposite of the dull corporate box. The staff are incredibly friendly & helpful, finding my partner's mislaid gold watch in a shared bathroom & returning it to her promptly.
Breakfast is a proper feast to set you up for a day's business or leisure, cooked to order plus the usual cereals & fruit juices, which would cost an extra 6 or 7 quid at a chain hotel. If you want modern decor, TV sets in every room or wipeable formica, you won't like the Ruskin, but if you want Georgian charm, original features and great views of a private square from the back windows, the Ruskin will suit you to a tee.
All areas are very clean, even if the decor is worn. We will now use The Ruskin as our pied a terre in town.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back overlook a beautiful private square populated with sculptures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Old-Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arrived at the front door and couldnt get in to start with, left our bag with the hotel as room wasnt ready. Was given a cell size room which was cold even after we had turned on the heating. Room was right next to the shared shower room which was in use from 5.45 am, even when shower wasnt being used the extractor fan came on which was all on the same wall as our bed, Cheap yes, good position yes, but would rather have spent the extra £30 and spent the night in the hotel round the corner. As for breakfast???? didnt want to risk it.

Room Tip: Dont bother pay the extra and get comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location (beside British Museum), friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms. It's certainly not luxurious (spartan rooms, shared bathrooms), but so clean that that doesn't seem to matter. I completely agree with the reviewer who said, "You won't find better value in this area" -- or, I would add, anywhere else in London. The hotel is being updated fast, so the bargain that it is may not last. But I'm keeping my fingers crossed. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bathrooms, and the door to each floor, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not a bad hotel perfect if you just need a bed in London. Rooms are small but very clean, tea and coffee in the room. The staff are good very friendly and the do a good breakfast, full English and a selection of cereals. The hotel is right next to the British museum and less than 5 min walk to a tube station. In all a good location, good price, good breakfast.

Room Tip: As for a room that is not in the bacement the rooms in the nacement can be nosie
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in October/November 2012. As others have mentioned, the hotel decor is dated but everything is very clean. The rooms are simple, they have full length mirrors, a sink, a window (mine had a nice view of the British Museum and the pretty street below), a wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities, and most importantly, a comfortable bed.

The shower rooms were immaculate and looked newly refurbished (cream marble floor/surfaces and modern fixtures) and there were a couple of shower rooms on each floor. The shower itself was powerful and stayed hot.

The staff at this hotel were remarkable. Upon returning late at night back to the hotel, I was sitting at the bottom of the stairs using the wifi on my tablet. A member of staff came out of a nearby door and nearly died from fright at the unexpected sight of me sitting there, but promptly recovered, laughed and then offered twice to open up the lounge area for me so I could sit comfortably.

On the day I was due to leave, I woke up late for checkout (I assumed it was 12pm, my booking said 11am, I woke up to a maid knocking on the door at 10:56). I called reception to ask if I could pay for an extension, and was told that this was not possible but I could have an extra twenty minutes. I thanked him, and when I asked downstairs how much I owed them for the late checkout, he told me that I didn't have to pay anything. He was then kind enough to let me use a shower room to freshen up, after I had checked out. Lovely staff.

In short, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in London on a tight budget for any amount of time. If you don't mind leaving your room to use the toilet/shower, or slightly dated decor (I found it charming) then you will have no problems here. The closest underground station, a shop, Bloomsbury Square and the British museum are just a short walk away, and as the title states, you really won't find a private room cheaper.

Room Tip: I would choose a room closer to the ground floor for a better wifi signal. It says it is only availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for alomst a week in October. The room I had was pretty narrow, but functional. There are still constructions going on in the building, and the room service only took care of the bed, but not the floor. It made me wonder how often they had hoovered the carpet.

I was a bit disappointed when I found out there was no liquid soap in the bathroom, and one of them didn't even have a tab. There was a simple wash basin and running hot water in the room, but all in all, it was very simple. Well, not much more to expect. I didn't go to London to sleep in a B&B. But SOHO was within walking distance for me, so I had a good time. When I got tired, I could find my way back and had a little nap. Sound proof wasn't so good, though. I was woken up by late showers at night. But heating was on all night. That was nice.

Breakfast was average and a little salty to my taste. I was expecting a buffet, but it truned out to be orders. Plus they'd watch you like a hawk. It would be hightly unlikely if you had expected a hearty first meal.

By the way, the stairs were a bit narrow and squeaky, so if you have bad knees, you may choose the lift. However, during my stay, it was not functioning properly. Or, perhaps they turned it off. There is something funny about this hotel. It felt like they all somehow got the job the first day even though they were very very friendly. The doorman is young Japanese (I assume) seemingly in his 30s and runs it like a student house, and the dining room gave me an impression of school canteen/Chinese or Indian Takeaway.

An American lady who also stayed during my visit said the staff were very very helpful with her needs, ie. currencies, credit card etc. But if you want to get to some where, you'd best have your smart phone or you'd better learn how to read a map. Streets in London can be a bit confusing sometimes, but that is another story...

All in all, I had a good time there. If sleeping is not your priority in London, this hotel can be an OK choice.

Room Tip: Make sure there are windows in your room. London can be pretty warm even in Autumn. Most "affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#667 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#587 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#748 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#581 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#464 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23-24 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruskin Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ruskin Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing