We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather stay at home...”
Review of Mare Moto

Mare Moto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mare Moto
Ranked #307 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd rather stay at home...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked a living social deal, after 1/2 hour of knocking and phoning, we finally got in, the cleaner who spoke little English showed us through the kitchens to the wrong room, after sorting this out, our room with jacuzzi stank of stale cigarettes and was freezing. We sat in our coats until the heating was sorted. There was a broken window creating a draught, the floors were filthy, the tv, impossible to tune, the 'champagne on arrival' was prosecco.
The menu was so awful , possibly the worst meal I've had ever...
Abysmal

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isolde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    9
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having found a sizeable piece of broken glass in my starter on Friday, I was surprised when we told our waiter to be met with a shrug. It took at least 15 mins for the manager to come out and apologise, very halfheartedly - he was apparently 'dealing with another problem' at the time. A small glass of champagne was presented late and without grace for a huge failing in health and safety in the kitchen - should glass even be allowed near food? In any case, if that had been my restaurant I would have immediately sent all my staff on a customer training course - an effusive apology straight away and the cost of the meal refunded would have completely negated my need to write such a negative review. I do hope any other Mare Moto customers are not confronted with broken glass in their food or staff that lack the appropriate communication skills. Come on Mare Moto - surely you are better than this?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Mare Moto for my best friend's birthday party, and we were taken care of the entire evening with exceptional service, and very good food/drinks. We really loved that after dinner, Mare Moto turns into a bar/club - makes it pretty simple to have a wonderful night out! Great music, good crowd, and as I mentioned, the service was very good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here back in February - Although we struggled to get someone attention when we arrived as pbviously not very many rooms and we bumped into the cleaner at the back door as such and although someone working in the office - I would say it more like a BB than a hotel as such. Just not really geared up for many guests. We ate at the Pizzeria next door as we were really hungry and so that actually spoilt us then for the meal we got included in the deal - and my partner wouldnt have eaten any of the things on the menu as not a very great choice and he doesnt like Pasta. Although they were very friendly and helpful something was missing!! We got back after our night out to a concert and they had left a bottle of Prosecco in the room probably could have dome with that before /during dinner but anyway least we got it!!
The next morning we slept in really late about 9.15 but consdiering that we were on the Kings Road in London we were not disturbed by traffic at all although the room was like a ;ittle suite with a lounge !! Although everytime we moved in the bed it made a noise like it hadnt been put together very well - although it was very comfy!! Same problem in the morning couldnt find anyone to leave the room keys with felt like the Marie Celeste!! We just left them in the kitchen in the end !! BIzarre - I would not stay again as not like a real hotel !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliahar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a special offer and it was a joke! We were shoved into a corner of their packed conservatory for dinner and offered a 'special' menu of just two choices. We'd booked a table well in advance so they knew we were coming and even the waiter apologised when he showed us to the table saying 'we tried to fit you in'...

We were staying in their 'luxury' apartment, not really what was described on their websie, but even allowing for a bit of marketing spin, the fact that we might as well have been sleeping IN their nightclub was sadly ommitted! If you want to stay up 'til it closes, then this place is perfect, but we didn't and therefore had to wait 'til the music stopped just after 2.30am.

Finally forget any help from anyone, there was no one to let us in so we wasted 2hrs sitting in a cafe waiting for the place to open. There was no one answering their phones when we tried to call to get in. The staff were lovely but the lady who opened eventually spoke no english and no one else spoke to us. They are obviously trying to make some money out of fleecing people with promises of a luxury stay which turned into a complete pain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

6 of us friends (all born in February) decided to host our birthday at an awesome club in South West London! Mare Moto's were amazingly accomodating, offering us the club downstairs free of charge for our +150 guests and never charged service charge just for us being there, allowed us to bring our own accessories, music and cakes. unlike all other places we researched! They were easy to get hold of and never had any communication issues. We really had an amazing night and will be one none of us will forget! Bar staff were also fantastic and joined in on the fun by wearing our fun accessories :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

It was the last working Saturday before Christmas. We were a group of 20 for the best Christmas party. The owner, manager and staff were very professional and paid maximum attention to the minute details of excellence in hospitality. We were given very special attention and care. The food was superb and the steak was very tender. Everyone enjoyed the taste created by a fantastic chef whom we gave a big applause later. The party continued on the dancing floor till early morning. What a night! The best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Entertainment100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#208 of 1,067 in London
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#517 of 1,067 in London
139 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#565 of 1,067 in London
595 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#663 of 1,067 in London
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Moto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Moto

Property: Mare Moto
Address: 562 Kings Road | Fulham, London SW6 2DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mare Moto London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing