We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. Again.”

Pollen Street Social
Reserve with OpenTable
Pollen Street Social is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Michelin-starred Pollen Street Social is British chef Jason Atherton's flagship restaurant. A contemporary bistro offering deformalised fine dining in Mayfair, the menu places emphasis on fresh British seasonal produce. The restaurant houses not only a cocktail bar but also a dessert bar, where guests can watch the pastry chefs as they cook. A private dining room next to the wine cellar seats up to 12 guests.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Again.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant simply over delivers. This is my second visit to the restaurant, this time with my partner on our anniversary weekend in London.
There was a great vibe in a bustling atmosphere on a Saturday lunchtime. The service was as good as it gets and I have to single Manu who was sensational throughout. We had to beg him to stop bringing us extra treats by the end! The wine list was taken off us (in a good way, in a ''we're going to look after you'' way!) and were brought different glasses with each course, all of which were perfectly chosen and interesting.
Between us for starters we had 'Soft hen's egg, asparagus, truffle puree, parsley & smoked Lincolnshire eel soup' and 'Cauliflower & Squid'. Main courses were 'Best end of salt marsh lamb, braised shoulder, Jerusalem artichoke & goat's curd, spiced aubergine' and 'Roasted squab pigeon, salt baked red cabbage, beetroot stained onions, yakitori pigeon offal'.
It's certainly up there in the best food experiences we've ever had, I could dedicate 300 words to the beetroot stained onions alone! Simply heaven!!
The desserts, cheese, petit fours, more treats, treats again....
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. We'll remember this experience for the rest of our lives!
Thank you to everyone and Manu in particular!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFoodLover1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,460
    418
    167
    74
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but glad I wasn't paying!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Works lunch with as few colleagues and clients. Bit of a treat, it's a lovely looking room and service is just so - super-efficient. Food generally impressive and loved the quail starter (brunch style!) But my John Dory was a bit of a bore taste wise and a bit light portion wise. For that level of food (mains anyway) price was extremely steep and hard to justify I think. It was overall enjoyable but prob wouldn't return with my own money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessicalambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very high quality dining experience!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Whilst our appetites had been whetted, in both senses, by reading others' reviews, this evening out at PSS definitely exceeded our expectations. The restaurant and its incorporated drinking and food bars are contemporary in styling, and the attentive staff gave the occasion a very special feel from the outset. The courses selected within our table group were magnificent - creative, visually very interesting, and delicious - and our 3 course meal was topped and tailed with delightful additional offerings. Without imposing himself on us, the sommelier twice engaged in helpful discussions with us, as we explored our wine selections. The service generally was impeccable. My own gluten-free needs were provided for in an impressively seamless way.
(Also: our outing was in fact a birthday celebration and, although there were no outward indications given by us, the restaurant's prior knowledge of this led to a birthday card on our table on arrival, and the provision of a generous portion of cake (from the dessert menu?) as we prepared to leave - all very impressive!)
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDFJun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great interesting food but far too noisy for a lunchtime business chat”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my second visit to Pollen St Social the first being a private meeting room Board dinner which I rated as excellent. This time the food was every bit as good, though being in the main restaurant at a lunchtime it was just too noisy for a business discussion between the 5 of us, and that was on what must have been one of the quietest tables. Some would say it was great atmosphere, but I would say it was too noisy to communicate successfully. I would certainly go again to the restaurant for the food and ambiance, but not for a business discussion involving more than one person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBZASING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Food perfection”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited for a weekday lunch and had a fantastic experience. Very stylish place. Busy and bustling and buzzing with life. We chose from the set lunch menu and were not disappointed. We chose three courses and were delighted to receive extra treats! At £29.50 this was very well priced for the quality and variety of food served. Portions were not massive but we left feeling comfortably full. We thought of it as a mini taster menu and Mr Atherton himself was at the pass plating up our food!

We started with delicious dips and olives. The bread served looked amazing but as Im sensitive to wheat, they kindly cooked some bread especially for me. No restaurant has ever gone to this trouble before...why not?? I can't thank them enough for being so considerate.
My starter was watercress and pea soup with tasty, tender rabbit. It's presentation and taste set the standards high. My pork main was so tasty I didn't want it to end but when it did I was presented with a surprise melon sorbet which refreshed my palate perfectly. We both had the Eton Mess for dessert. I usually prefer savoury courses but this was divine and looked too good to eat.

Sadly service was a little bit slow at points. Staff were all lovely without exception but they were constantly flying around which made things feel a little chaotic. Maybe that was partly due to the position of our table? For the majority of the time we were served quickly and given an explanation of what we were about to eat. However we had to remind them about a missing drink order and had to ask twice for the bill. The maitre d' was effortlessly polite, friendly and charming and made us feel very welcome.

Signposting for the toilets was lacking (they're downstairs)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mealpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollen Street Social also viewed

 

Been to Pollen Street Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing