We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pollen Street Social provides a first class dining experience.”

Pollen Street Social
Reserve with OpenTable
Pollen Street Social is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Michelin-starred Pollen Street Social is British chef Jason Atherton's flagship restaurant. A contemporary bistro offering deformalised fine dining in Mayfair, the menu places emphasis on fresh British seasonal produce. The restaurant houses not only a cocktail bar but also a dessert bar, where guests can watch the pastry chefs as they cook. A private dining room next to the wine cellar seats up to 12 guests.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Pollen Street Social provides a first class dining experience.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the moment you walk into the restaurant until the moment you leave you encounter excellent service. The food consists of the finest ingredients, exquisitely cooked and beautifully presented. The wine list is equally impressive. There must be a Michelin star or two on the way, if not there deserves to be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    412
    164
    74
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate at the restaurant for the first time in February.

The food was very good, and also good value as we had the set lunch menu.

It was very busy and had a nice atmosphere. The service was good although we had a very long wait before we got our desserts. Not that this was a problem as we were not in a rush.

We were also lucky to be sat near the kitchen so it was great to see the kitchen in action!

We will certainly eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Did not justify the high prices”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my wife visited Pollen Street for dinner on a Saturday night. We arrived on time for our booking, and were given a friendly welcome, our coats taken and we were escorted to our table straight away. The restaurant had a fairly simple decor, it was quite noisy (which we didn’t mind), and many of the tables were very close to one another.

FOOD: we were given an amuse bouche of pork crackling. We don’t eat pork, and once informed they took it away, without providing any alternative. For starters we had the sea scallop sashimi and the hen’s egg. The scallops were well presented, and I appreciated the creativity that had gone into the dish. However, in terms of flavour both starters were just ok, rather than being great. For mains we had the lamb and the seabass. Both of these dishes were excellent, both in terms of presentation and flavour. Following this, we moved over to the dessert bar (more details below), where we were given some tidbits (sorbet plus a pre dessert), followed by the chocolate ganache and the carrot cake. Again, presentation was very good, and the chocolate ganache was quite enjoyable. However, there were bits of basil puree in the carrot cake which overpowered the dish, and my wife ended up leaving half of it uneaten.

SERVICE: this was consistently good. We were attended to by many different staff members over the course of our meal, and everyone was very polite and friendly. The sommelier was extremely knowledgeable, and she was happy to advise me even when ordering wine by the glass.

DESSERT BAR: I was keen to try this out after reading many reviews about it. There are a total of 8 seats and we were seated at the far right of the bar. I think these are the best seats if you can get them, as they are closest to the kitchen (which has a glass wall), therefore giving you a good view of both the dessert bar and the kitchen. At the bar, we were attended to by the chef who seemed to be in charge of things. She was very nice to us, but at the same time you could sense the tension in the air as her and the others tried to keep up with the orders that kept rolling in. Similarly, the atmosphere in the kitchen was quite intense, with the head chef (not Jason, he didn’t seem to be around) occasionally going on foul-mouthed tirades that were very audible to us!! Although not a very relaxing way to end the meal, it was a fascinating and insightful experience.

Our total bill was £190, of which £60 was spent on drinks. Overall, I felt that the meal was not worth the price we paid. Some of the food was very enjoyable, other bits less so, but at this price level I expected more. All things considered (food, service, ambience), around £140 would have been a fairer price for this meal. We probably wouldn’t return here for dinner, but perhaps for the set lunch which offers better value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good thing I wasn't a Michelin inspector”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Some amazing flavours and brilliant dishes but with flies on the salad (two flies on two different leaves) and a bone in the flaked haddock, not good enough.

The service wasn't quite there either. Starred restaurants are supposed to know who ordered what (main courses wrong) and the maitre d' didn't know the sorbets and ice creams (but they were absolutely fabulous)

Got free choccies for the flies/bone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larrybacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favourites in London”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've been to the restaurant a few times and so far I've never been disappointed. The atmosphere is very delightful, lots of light & modern contemporary setting. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The last time I went there for lunch with my other half, we had to wait for the main course longer than usual but that was fine as we were not in a rush. The food is very well prepared - sophisticated but not too fancy or complicated. The dessert bar is a must if you have a sweet tooth!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bufoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollen Street Social also viewed

 

Been to Pollen Street Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing