We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Cross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King's Cross Hotel
Ranked #415 of 559 London B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had 2 nights here. Good location for public transport, restaurants and close to Covent garden. The room was small but adequate for a short stay. Bathroom tiny but clean but very poor hot water system meaning one case of scalded feet. Breakfast was very basic but enough for our needs. The stairs are a big problem especially if you have luggage which luckily we didn't, however we understand the layout of these old buildings and stairs are unavoidable. The staff here were delightful, very friendly and keen to help you out or have a chat. We would stay here again if we required access to st pancras station but only for a short stay.

Room Tip: Don't take a large suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    45
    50
    86
See reviews for
44
81
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in room 8. The room is very small but comfortable and clean with a bouble bed. Ensuite is ok but the shower water temp is unpredictable. The room is hot at night so expect that everywhere without air con. Breakfast served was ok.Location is close to transport and eating houses. Quiet location. Not recommended for long stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

If your looking for a hotel with easy access to Kings Cross then this is perfect.

If you are also looking for the following then King Cross hotel is the place for you:
The huge pile of rubbish and rubble sacks that were out of my window.
The leak from the shower in the room above dripping onto the laminate floor in the early hours of the morning. I alerted the staff and they didn't even apologise. Clearly it had been a problem previously as there were existing watermarks on the ceiling.
The window blind was a thin piece of muslin.
Zero sound insulation in the walls, floors or doors so was woken up early.
The breakfast was terrible - The only hot options were beans, fried eggs and white toast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yates82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I guess this place survives by virtue of its location, but it is otherwise pretty dreadful. I'm not convinced that the sheets on my bed had been changed. The complete menu of the "continental breakfast" was: fried eggs, baked beans, and toast. Instant coffee (self-service). The baked beans were also half-cold...

Looking at the positives, at least I don't ever have to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

the king cross hotel is a small hotel on a quiet side road near kings cross station and is not far from the west end it is clean but there the good stuff ends we where in room no 6 on the first floor the so small you could not walk round together one off you had to sit on bed so the other person could get in the loo, in the loo you had sit side wards on the sit so you close the door,now we came to the breakfast was told it was continental breakfast but what got was one spoon full of baked beans one fried egg and two round of toast at the cost of one hundred and twenty nine pounds for the two of use i know it is london but that is being ripped off big time

Room Tip: i do not think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my friends went to stay for couple of night, brilliant service we got everything we asked for, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Also a perfect location the tube station within 5 minutes walk, nice area :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. £110 for the night (shocking!). Supposed to be a double room but v small double bed wedged against the wall on one side and a wardrobe on the other would have made for an uncomfortable night. My room was on the front in the basement with a large window just below street level whic made me a bit uneasy.

Generally speaking, it is clean and the bathroom was surprisingly good - seemed recently refrubished with powerful shower.

All in all, it's ok, but for this price I would expect more. I wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L1saLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#552 of 1,080 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#496 of 1,080 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#862 of 1,080 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#247 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#63 of 559 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#377 of 559 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cross Hotel

Property: King's Cross Hotel
Address: 60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 559 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King's Cross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your King's Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Cross Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing