We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small short stay hotel”
Review of King's Cross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King's Cross Hotel
Ranked #403 of 565 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in room 8. The room is very small but comfortable and clean with a bouble bed. Ensuite is ok but the shower water temp is unpredictable. The room is hot at night so expect that everywhere without air con. Breakfast served was ok.Location is close to transport and eating houses. Quiet location. Not recommended for long stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

If your looking for a hotel with easy access to Kings Cross then this is perfect.

If you are also looking for the following then King Cross hotel is the place for you:
The huge pile of rubbish and rubble sacks that were out of my window.
The leak from the shower in the room above dripping onto the laminate floor in the early hours of the morning. I alerted the staff and they didn't even apologise. Clearly it had been a problem previously as there were existing watermarks on the ceiling.
The window blind was a thin piece of muslin.
Zero sound insulation in the walls, floors or doors so was woken up early.
The breakfast was terrible - The only hot options were beans, fried eggs and white toast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yates82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I guess this place survives by virtue of its location, but it is otherwise pretty dreadful. I'm not convinced that the sheets on my bed had been changed. The complete menu of the "continental breakfast" was: fried eggs, baked beans, and toast. Instant coffee (self-service). The baked beans were also half-cold...

Looking at the positives, at least I don't ever have to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

the king cross hotel is a small hotel on a quiet side road near kings cross station and is not far from the west end it is clean but there the good stuff ends we where in room no 6 on the first floor the so small you could not walk round together one off you had to sit on bed so the other person could get in the loo, in the loo you had sit side wards on the sit so you close the door,now we came to the breakfast was told it was continental breakfast but what got was one spoon full of baked beans one fried egg and two round of toast at the cost of one hundred and twenty nine pounds for the two of use i know it is london but that is being ripped off big time

Room Tip: i do not think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my friends went to stay for couple of night, brilliant service we got everything we asked for, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Also a perfect location the tube station within 5 minutes walk, nice area :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. £110 for the night (shocking!). Supposed to be a double room but v small double bed wedged against the wall on one side and a wardrobe on the other would have made for an uncomfortable night. My room was on the front in the basement with a large window just below street level whic made me a bit uneasy.

Generally speaking, it is clean and the bathroom was surprisingly good - seemed recently refrubished with powerful shower.

All in all, it's ok, but for this price I would expect more. I wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L1saLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as we decided to stay in London. We had room 6 which is a twin room. The room was spotless and the decor was good. Read other reviews and yes the bathroom is tiny, but for one night it is fine. We had fresh towels and soap supplied. Breakfast was cereal, eggs, beans and toast (as much as you like, including unlimited tea and coffee). We only paid £50 for the room and have no complaints. Razza on reception was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble so he deserves a special mention.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#552 of 1,075 in London
989 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#830 of 1,075 in London
442 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#82 of 565 in London
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#101 of 565 in London
587 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#373 of 565 in London
457 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 565 in London
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cross Hotel

Address: 60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 565 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $96 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King's Cross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your King's Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Cross Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing