We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel,excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Paddington
Ranked #406 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2007

Hotel was fantastic. Our room was very large, aswell as the en suite. It was exceptionally clean, and the staff were also very friendly.

The location couldn't have been better. You can walk to the underground without even having to go outside as the hotel is park of Paddington Train Station, which was also beneficial for getting to Heathrow aswell! Even with this you could not hear the station from the room, which was very quite.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borahorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,552
    593
    221
    157
See reviews for
661
979
404
1,200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

Prepaid the room at an excellent rate - for London. Location at the Paddington Station is great for anyone arriving or departing via Heathrow. Also an excellent business location being on the Rail, Tube and Bus lines. The hotel was clean and the staff was great. Check was fast, but not really friendly. My room was spacious by London standards. The room was also very, very clean. Bathroom actually had enough space to move around in.

Nearby shopping and dining is excellent. Even the food court at the Rail Station was excellent. Hotel itself was peaceful and quiet.

Would definately stay at this location again.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

Have just returned from a surprise weekend away in London where we stayed in The Hilton in Paddington.

My fiance chose the hotel primarily due to it's location as we didn't have much time after arriving to get across London as we were going to a show - the location couldn't have been better. We literally stepped off the station platform into a lift and into the hotel Check in was easy - no fuss, member of staff was training so was a little slow but has to happen.

Our room was a Deluxe room on the 3rd floor and was great - airy, large and comfortable. It had everything we needed from hairdryer, ice bucket, coffee perculator and we liked the 2 single duvets on the double bed - no fighting for them.

Hotel service was fine - nothing fantastic, but perfectly pleasant.

We had dinner on the first evening which was included in our package. We arrived after 9pm and found everything to still be very fresh and a great selection. It was a biffet with great soup, cold starters, a vast selection of main courses and FANASTIC desserts. The restaurant was quite busy so not romantic or intimate but it did the job.

Breakfast was great - again a huge variety of meats, rolls, salad, yoghurt etc, toast machine, cereal, everything you could think of for an English breakfast and then juices, coffee, pastries - great.

One negative is the price of drinks - £8 for a small glass of wine and £4 for a cola. We bought drinks and snacks from M&S and Sainsbury underneath in the station which was open til late.

This hotel is a great hotel for transport links with the tube and trains just underneath and the bus just outside. We even found a number 27 bus which went directly to Camden from the hotel (24 hr).

Would definitely use this hotel again

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Trace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

Wonderful hotel for a young couple looking to explore London.

The location is virtually perfect for commuting -- directly atop both the Paddington national rail (for trips to/from Heathrow) and tube station (to get downtown.) Also, a few of the city bus lines run past the hotel -- a form of transport we wish we had explored earlier in our stay. The immediate neighborhood isn't especially noteworthy, though Hyde Park is just a short walk away.

The room was gorgeous and spacious (and we are used to American rooms.) Well lighted and decorated with very modern fixtures. No view, but you can't have it all. It did not come stocked with robes or slippers -- one thing we have come to appreciate -- but they were delivered after a quick call to housekeeping.

Service overall was great. One minor complaint -- we needed just a set of silverware in the room to eat a cake we had brought along, and room service charged 3.50 pounds for the delivery. We thought a nice tip should suffice.

One of our favorite aspects of the hotel was the complimentary breakfast. While we expecting the standard Continental fare, it was a first-class buffet complete with made-to-order omlettes, delicious tomatoes, and pastries. We even stashed a few muffins in our rucksacks to keep us during our long museum expeditions. Don't tell anyone.

We would HIGHLY recommend the Hilton Paddington to anyone visiting London (as long as you are willing to ride the tube).

One other tip -- if you are looking for a great, cheap meal near the hotel, stop by the soup counter in the national rail station. Amazing!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Timmeh!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire - England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2007

What a lovely hotel, we have just returned from seeing in the New Year at the London Eye & stayed at the Hilton Paddington. We were a little dubious when we booked as last summer we spent 2 nights at the Hilton Hyde park & it was terrible.

we booked through the Hilton website & dinner on the 1st night as well as breakfast on both mornings was included. Our room was outstanding, with a terrace & picture window on the 5th floor overlooking London, views from the London eye to the Albert hall without going onto the terrace. A large comfortable bed with 2 duvets (stops any fighting) was lovely as we are both over 6ft & with a flat screen TV at the foot of the bed. The bathroom had a bath & seperate shower & was spacious.

Considering the hotel was fully booked & had a large New years function taking place we were not disturbed at all by noise or drunken revellers I am very pleased to say. The only down side was we had to queue for breakfast on the following morning as the hotel was full, but a small price to pay.

The pens are also made from recycled sources, fantastic :-)

Location was fabulous & staff were polite & courteous we would reccomenfd this hotel & will definatley be staying there again.

  • Liked — Our fabulous room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2006

I stayed at the Hilton Paddington for two nights in July of 2006-one night at the beginning of my trip and the other night before returning home. I choose the hotel based on it's location to Paddington Station.

Check-in is not until 3:00 (I knew this when I booked) and as I arrived at 12:30 from Los Angeles I was a little exhausted. The front desk stored my luggage and I went walking (always recommented after a long flight to get out the cobwebs). I felt very safe in the area and I headed straight for Hyde Park.

I did not eat at the hotel or use the mini-bar. There are nice restuarants in the area and the train station also has food options. I bought a sandwich and a soda to take to the park for a picnic. Later I bought milk and fruit from Sainsbury for breakfast. Beware of the mini-bar. They are always over priced and they are electronically loaded. This means that even if you move things to put in your own stuff, the item will be billed to your account. However, a quick phone call and it was removed with no problem.

When I went to my room, I found it clean and adequate in size. I knew I wasn't staying in the room long so I don't expect glamor. My only compaint was the jack-hammering that I could hear. I took a shower and it sounded as if the room was vibrating. I tried to take a short nap, but it was very loud. I gave up on the nap and went back outside. When I returned after dinner, the noise had stopped and I had a quiet night.

The next day I spent walking in the park again until I had to catch my train for Oxford. The front desk again held my luggage and gave me info on how to catch the train . Very helpful and pleasant.

I spent my second night after my two weeks in Oxford area. Upon check-in, I asked if the jackhammering project was finished. I had not complained before because it stopped and it was before 5:00 p.m. But I did tell them that if it was still going on now I would like a room far away from the workers. I was informed that they were done and they upgraded me to a nicer room. I thought that was a nice touch. The front desk again held my luggage until check-in time. I took the train to Windsor for the day and had a great time.

I would recommend this hotel. When reading other reviews, I often find people are very critical when perhaps it is not warranted. European ratings are not what Americans are used to and just face it, you are not at home having your mommy taking care of you.

  • Liked — loaction to train station
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itraveleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2006

Arrived late from the airport, and checked into a small room with queen bed and room for little else. Ordered a light dinner (soup and salad) from room service and it was quite good. Rooms are highly variable - I have had much better - in this hotel with those on lower floors being better than those on the upper floors.

Lttle needs to be said of the location: excellent. Three or four subway lines have direct access; the Paddington Express takes 15 minutes or so to the airport; and the Great First Western Railroad offers access to Southwest England and sourthern Wales. None of the subway lines are handicapped accessible, hower.

My computer died on my first night there; don't know if from a power surge. So, I had to use the business center for Internet access - at an astonishing price of GBP5 for 30 minutes! Simple access to a computer cost the same. Outrageous! I found a small internet shop directly across the street that charged GBP2 for an hour! And provided fair coffee besides!

The Executive Club is an insult. A room convered to a club room by removing the bed and putting in a couple of tables and uncomfortable chairs. They would be better off closing it and simply saying they are providing a free breakfast instead.

Breakfast was, however, a treat! A full English breakfast complete with black pudding, fried bread and beans was served in a buffet piping hot. Great. Treated a friend to dinner there and found it to be quite good, if expensive.

The prices of vitals in the minibar are astronomically expensive. But like the Internet Shop across the street, there are two markets in the attached train station (open until midnight) that sell diet cokes for GBP0.63 as compared with GBP4.50 in the minibar. They also offer good sandwitches, fresh fruit, wines and other good stuff.

The area around the train station seems safe and accessible. A nearby street had 10 restaurants ranging from a couple of steak houses to Indian and Italian. By appearance, not great but certainly acceptable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on the first floor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MortyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#581 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Property: Hilton London Paddington
Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Business Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Family Hotel in London
#315 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington
Hilton London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing