We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID the 1st Floor at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton London Paddington
Ranked #396 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AVOID the 1st Floor at all costs”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of previous occasions because its location is terrific if you are coming from Heathrow Airport. However I had not realised that I was simply lucky on previous occasions to have escaped the horror which is the first floor accommodation. The windows are not double glazed and front onto a busy street. From approximately 4.30 a.m. there was a unbearable noise from deliveries (bottles rattling etc.), noise of bin removal and revving buses. I contacted reception and they could not have been more unfazed by my complaints. I think genuinely that it is outrageous to charge for overnight accommodation in circumstances where it is impossible to sleep. Very very very disappointed and not a little angry.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    1,596
    611
    228
    162
See reviews for
688
1,013
416
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We booked a weekend away and paid for the Hilton with Tesco vouchers. It would have been expensive had we not used the vouchers. The room we booked was Executive however we emailed, prior to arrival, to ask if there was any chance of an upgrade as we were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary. They upgraded us to a Queen Suite, which had a separate room with a sofa bed for our 16yr old son. Ideal for us. Our bed was huge and extremely comfy.
The Executive lounge (which you can go into if staying in an Executive room or above) - we highly recommend, overlooking the commuters at Paddington Station - is a great place to have a complementary drink, or 2, after sight-seeing all day. Alcohol hours are between 6pm and 8.30pm and are accompanied by some hot and cold nibbles.
We found all the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great - lots of choice and plenty of it.
We went to see "We will Rock You" at the Dominion Theatre which we throughly enjoyed - although it was extremely hot in the theatre, don't know how the cast felt!.
Tower of London (Beefeater tour recommended - the guide was extremely entertaining) and the crown jewels are a must see.
Enjoyed the London Eye - again extremely hot inside the capsule - but there is a side in the shade if it is a hot sunny day like it was this sunday. Great entertainers around the Eye area as well. The Charlie Chaplin look-a-like mime artist was brilliant.
All in all had a great weekend and loved the hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

It's perfect if you fly to Heathrow and then get the Heathrow Express. There's a direct access from Paddington Station to the Hotel. Unfortunately we flew to Gatwick, but Paddington undergraund is in the Circle Line, wich takes you to Victoria Station in less than 15 minutes.

Hotel services are excellent, as also the room. Beware of the automatic minibar, which charges automatically every item you touch. There should be no problem as there are lots of signs explaining this in the outer side of the minibar and also inside the door.

Concierge service makes you enjoy the full days if you check-in early the first day and don't leave the city until late on the last day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janS0L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I had a reasonable idea of what to expect from this hotel having stayed at other 4-star properties in London, but this was by far the best one yet - plush public areas, friendly and courteous staff, and somewhat unusually for London, surprisingly large rooms! Mine was a standard double, but had every luxury I needed - flat-screen TV, full en-suite, mini-bar, music system, minibar, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee making facilities (including a coffee percolator!) and air-conditioning.

Don't be put off by the fact that it is actually part of the station building - I never once thought that I was anywhere other than in a luxury hotel, and ended up having a thoroughly enjoyable stay - I'd have no hesitation in returning again.

Tip - if you go room-only and need breakfast, a good alternative to the hotel is a pub called the Mad Bishop and Bear, which is just inside Paddington station... a full English and orange juice came to just over £5.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

A good, international-standard business hotel. No problems, no complaints. Very good buffet in the Executive Lounge for both breakfast and evening cocktails. But the main selling point is that it is only an escalator ride away from the Heathrow trains, which could be worth the earth to a jet-lagged traveler.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May 2009. We chose the hotel due to it's location as we had an early morning flight to catch upon our departure. This hotel's only saving grace is the location. They know that they can treat customers like dirt tonight and still get bookings next week. My guess is that business travelers may come back because of the proximity to the airport train but that leisure guests do not return.

We had booked a King Junior Suite. Our flight arrived late on a Friday night. When we checked in we were told, with much fanfare, that we had been upgraded to a Queen Hilton Suite. This was a nice touch and we were off to what seemed to be a solid start!

When we arrived in the room it was small, very hot, and had an odd layout. The living room was a windowless interior room with no TV. It did have an awkward tiny half bathroom. The bedroom area was cramped. It had a queen sized bed that was tucked in from wall to wall. There was little room to get in and out of the bed and nowhere to set your suitcases. The windows looked into a light shaft with no view.

Was this really one of their best suites as the check in agent had explained? How was this considered an upgrade? I tried to make the best of the situation but after 15 minutes the room had shown no signs of cooling down. I called the front desk.

I explained that I would like to be moved back to the king suite that we had booked. The agent was extremely rude. He told me that there was no way he could move me and that we had not paid for that type of room. He then went on a rant about how the King suite was three floors tall and that we would have to pay another $100 pounds to move. I believed that he had misunderstood me so I asked him to look up our booking information.

When he looked at the reservation he acknoledged that we had reserved and paid for a King junior suite and so he then changed his statement to "there is no guarantee when you book" and you have to take what is available when you check in.

Apparently his manager overheard the conversation and finally jumped in to solve our problem. He immediately offered to move us to another room. This room had a wal of windows that faced the street and therefore was much cooler despite the A/C not working properly. Although it was just one large room there was a sitting area with plenty of room to set our luggage and it was much better.

I found some other odd things considering it is a full service Hilton. There was no concierge on duty Friday or Saturday. Our room service order came up ice cold. The mattress was extremely firm with springs poking my wife as she rolled. As previoully stated the A/C was intermittent at best.

I urge you to pick another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP3CHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Everything was sensational here, staff great, breakfast fantastic, super location only negative the room was stuffy and despite the engineers looking at the a/c it still didnt cool the room down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#580 of 1,067 in London
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#196 of 1,067 in London
920 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Property: Hilton London Paddington
Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Business Hotel in London
#280 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Family Hotel in London
#315 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington
Hilton London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing