We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #347 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a great hotel for a number of reasons ... location and the staff however are its standout features. I want to give it 5-stars as we enjoyed our stay very much but can't as the rooms need upgrading in our opinion but the room we had was more than acceptable, even given the noise from the rooftop bar each night.

On location .. everything is close by, be it buses or metro straight outside the door, restaurants or supermarket across the road. London's many key attractions simply a stroll away including theatre in Convent Garden or the excellent shopping of Regent & Oxford Streets.

On staff .. polite, attentive, accommodating! Thanks Michael @ the rooftop bar for introducing us to Italian beer. Brilliant time sitting up there watching London do its thing. The view can't be matched.

On hotel .. it's trendy and therefore modern so if you're looking for a more traditional English decor experience, look elsewhere if you must. All in all, semi-tired room aside, can not fault the hotel. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay in London special. We were mum, dad & a 6 year old boy. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear SteveAussie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

We are very happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

The feedback about the rooms is very important for us.

I am at your disposal for your future visits,

Warm regards,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
There are newer reviews for The Trafalgar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our stay at the Trafalgar Hotel was very pleasant. Although the building was of the times, the interior was very modern. The staff was most helpful and quite enjoyable to visit with. Our room was spacious and clean. The top of the hotel has a nice outside bar that overlooks Trafalgar Square. The hotel itself is within walking distance of many landmarks. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning served in the basement. The fruit and pastries were delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotsofSnowHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear LotsofSnowHere,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, I would like to thank you for all the good feedback.

I am at your disposal for your future visits,

Warm regards,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times & really love the cool atmosphere & stylish bars & restaurant. The staff are very helpful & really do make an effort to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

The rooms I have stayed in have all been excellent, fantastic beds & great bathrooms with lovely toiletries. The food in the restaurant & at the rooftop bar is of high quality.

The rooftop bar is a big attraction & there are many visitors who are not residents, therefore my advice would be to book/reserve a place in advance with concierge/reception to ensure you get access & seats. The views over Trafalgar Square & you can also see the Palace of Westminster the London Eye & the Shard. There is a good wine list & extensive cocktail list. They are not cheap but definitely worth treating yourself in such a great venue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Boosh12345,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, all your feedback is of great value for us.

I am your entire disposal for you future visits,

warm regards,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The title of my review reflects my overall grading. This hotel is stunningly situated, many of London's top visitor sites are in easy walking distance, as is the South Bank centre. The staff were friendly and attentive, especially Ahmed in the breakfast room. The bar area on the ground floor was good too, (unfortunately we didn't have an opportunity to try the rooftop bar). However for the price we paid I felt the room was a little bland and underwhelming, and the 5th floor parapet blocked quite a lot of light coming in from the window (although there was a small side view of the square too). The bathroom, although large with a separate shower, was very sterile and functional in style. Although it was cleanly presented, there were one or two minor defects (cracked floor tile etc.) which ought to be dealt with, as this is so noticeable in such a minimalist setting. On a positive note, housekeeping was excellent, the bed was large and comfortable and the room was very quiet. I might return, but if I need a hotel in this area I might investigate other options before booking.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SLG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear SLG29,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

Your feedback is very important to us.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you for make the most out of your stay in London.

Should you wish to come back to London please do not hesitate to contact me directly,

Sincerely,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at The Trafalgar with a group of 8, we had asked for one family room and it was really spacious, there were two large double beds and it could easily accomodate a family of four. The other two rooms were spacious too, and as we were all travelling together, they had made sure that the rooms were all close to one another. As we booked a package deal, the breakfast was included and it was really excellent, large continental buffet and lots of additional warm dishes (english breakfast) which you could order and which were included in the price. Very friendly staff also. We also had drinks at the Vista rooftop bar one night, and the view is magnificent, the drinks are a bit over priced though, when you compare with what you pay just outside the hotel. There were some minor problems with our rooms, like airco that did not work properly, toilet that did not flush and electricity that did not work for a while, but I must say that they fixed it immediately! My brother in law celebrated his birthday while we were there and they had arranged for a nice surprise in his room, with chocolate dipped strawverry's, some cakes, drinks.... So overall, we are very satisfied with our stay there, they really do an effort to make your stay as comfortabel as possible, we would certainly come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurtenwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Kurtenwendy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you for make the most out of your stay in London.

We truly value your feedback about the incident with the air conditioning and the toilet.

Should you wish to come back to London please do not hesitate to contact me directly
Warm Regards,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent location for our visit to the theatre , when we arrived we were given a room with a disabled shower room , due to my health problems I require a bathroom, after numerous phone calls we were moved to another room, which had a bath (the staff were not aware of this)!! The room was lovely as was the hotel, the roof bar is excellent, well worth a visit. Breakfast was good a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Mention on booking if you require a bath, as we were told a lot of rooms only have showers.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Lintel17,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, all your feedback is of great value for us.

I am at your disposal for the future visits.

Sincerely,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Really happy with our stay here. Had a third floor room (303) overlooking Trafalgar Square. It was a good size, lovely large comfortable bed, very clean, and a large bathroom. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin C, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear SamB41,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor,

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the view from the room.

I am your disposal for your future visits,

Agustin Cervo
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,072 in London
1,183 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,072 in London
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $332 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing