We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel, fun for a weekend getaway close to theatres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #350 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seaforth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good business hotel, fun for a weekend getaway close to theatres”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Professional business hotel, with good solid amenities including bars, restaurants close to theatre districts. Rooms pretty spacious for London. Very close to local parks for runs and work outs. Fun after business roof top bar and restaurant. Walking distance to Covent Garden.

Room Tip: Choose rooms face Spring Garden road, a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SwissSeaforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear GUest,

Thank you for your fabulous score and for your great review!

I am delighted to have read that you found our location to be excellent, as we are located in the city centre, and our guestrooms to be spacious and comfortable.

It is also great to learn you visited our Vista Bar and enjoyed the great atmosphere and spectacular views!

I look forward to greeting you on your next stay with us!

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernanez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    855
    392
    142
    86
See reviews for
503
1,080
151
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Hotel is ideally located for theartre land and the West End and was great value for money. This was a great hotel to meet friends and enjoy the atmosphere of the Rockwell bar and late night drinks on the roof during summer months. If you remove that element from your stay it becomes just another Hotel in London. It is still a Hilton and comes with all the usual top quality service but without atmosphere I would only recommend it to people who like a quiet life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimthetraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate the Trafalgar Hotel with four our of five stars!

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and commented on our great location and up beat atmosphere. I would like to inform you that we provide the same entertainment for our guests and non-residents during Fall and Winter. Due to weather conditions, we do close our exclusive Vista Bar although we continue to provide the same music and service in our Rockwell Bar.

I do hope to be able to extend another warm welcome to you soon!

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernandez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Centrally located, this hotel is awesome. The staff was so helpful directing us where to eat, drink and how to efficiently get around town. Rooftop lounge is spectacular. Only glitch was we didn't know how to work the AC unit the first couple of days. Once we told them, they immediately adjusted it. Also a little noisy at night time. They definitely have the best complementary breakfast I have ever experienced. We will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your opinion regarding your recent stay with us and rating The Trafalgar with a very high score!

I am delighted you had a great stay with us and mentioned our fabulous location, helpful staff and exclusive Vista Bar views!

We aim to make our guests have a memorable experience and am thrilled to see we provided that!

I look forward to extend a warm welcome to you soon!

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernanez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overall a good hotel some attention needed in bathroom water all over floor does not dry up poor workmanship in bathroom. Staff helpful. I wanted to bring the bed back with me. Not sure weather its worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great scores!

I am delighted to have read you had a good experience during your recent stay with us and also mentioned the helpful staff.

I would like to inform you that, at The Trafalgar, we are very aware of what needs to be refurbished regarding the guestrooms and have already started by upgrading the hallways.

We are currently painting the third floor and inserting brighter lights. After this project, we will start with the guestrooms.

Please understand that this is a long process although we are very excited to see the end results and learn guests opinions.

I do hope you return to the property in order to see these changes!

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernandez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pros: location. Walking distance to everything. Safe and clean with a concierge. Amazingly quiet as you are literally in the middle if the city.
Cons: interior hallways are crazy dark with ultra mod purple lights. Practically blind if you still have sunglasses on. Technically wheelchair accessible, but hallway lighting and sharp edged modern furniture make it suboptimal.
Breakfast vouchers are expensive and they give you the hard sell upon Checkin. Right next door, Garfunkels sells Breakfast for 5 pounds. The rooftop bar was never available to us: closed for weather or too full; no special priority for hotel guests.

Room Tip: We were right above the lobby club with no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read that our great location and helpful Concierge caused such a great impact on your stay!

You also mentioned the lighting in the hallways and would like to inform you that we are currently refurbishing the Hotel and starting with the guestroom corridors. They are being painted a lighter colour and we are also changing the lights to make them brighter. After the hallways we will continue to the Guestrooms.

We are very confident that our guests will appreciate these upgrades to the Hotel.

As for unfortunately not having the opportunity to go to our exclusive Vista Bar, I do apologise if you felt that we did not offer our in-house guests priority although we actually have a space reserved for these. Please understand that we do try our best to give access to everyone although we do have a limited area.

I do hope this does not discourage you from coming back as we would very much like to extend another warm welcome to you.

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernandez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't fault being in Trafalgar Square. The bar is also lovely. However the rest of the hotel is just ok. The refurb mentioned in the response to another review can't come soon enough as it really was too dark to see your room number for example.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJEDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback! I am delighted you commented on our Vista Bar and great location!

As you mentioned, we are currently refurbishing the Hotel and very excited to see the end results. Although, please understand that this is a long process and does take time. We are first focusing on the hallways. We have decided to paint them a lighter colour and make the lights much brighter and will be finished very soon!

I do hope you come to visit us, once again, in order to see these improvements and have a memorable stay with us!

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernandez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A really great hotel with an amazing location, right slap bang in the Square. Not much of a view from the room but the rooms were well appointed with everything that you might need. Very comfortable too. Staff are friendly and welcoming. A little bit on the pricey side but worth it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina H, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to score The Trafalgar with such a fabulous score!

I am delighted to know that our great location and friendly staff helped your stay become a memorable one!

I am very much looking forward to greeting you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Christina H.
Guest Relations Manager
christina.hernandez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,088 in London
1,072 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#249 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing