We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #365 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Salisbury, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here with my family for two nights with two rooms. I found the 'boutique' style hotel team quite unfriendly and staff were cold and uninterested. Yes, the location is good, but the hotel has some big faults that would stop me ever returning:
1. Room decorations are tired. Carpets are badly stained and furniture chipped.
2. Breakfast is in a dark and hot basement with too many table crammed together.
3. The gym has one treadmill so expect to queue for it.
4. The rooms are hot, the air con does not work and the windows wont open.
5. Banging doors through the night was a huge disturbance.
Overall I was really disappointed. I'm a HH Diamond member and this is one of the worst Hilton's I've stayed at. Shame, as this was a holiday trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your visit to The Trafalgar Hotel.
We are indeed are a boutique style hotel, different from other Hilton properties.
We do our utmost to make every guest stay a memorable one. I am sorry you did not bring to our attention the details of your stay during your visit so action could be taken to ensure a pleasant stay.
We have recently tried our breakfast on the Ground Floor space, this has been moved to the restaurant based on feedback received from the majority of guests.
I do hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    872
    407
    147
    92
See reviews for
524
1,115
153
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

You can't beat this hotel for location -- it is within easy walking distance of Leicester Square, Soho, Covent Garden, Westminster Abbey, etc. And our room (deluxe upgrade for 10 GBP, which was worth it) had views of Trafalgar Square. But wow, those beds really are as hard as some of the other reviews have mentioned. After a long day of walking around and seeing the sites, you don't exactly want to fall down on the mattress equivalent of a plywood plank. The bathroom floor also looked like it had experienced some type of chemical attack -- the tiles were scarred with some type of spattered liquid that had long since dried after turning some unsuspecting person into a comic book villain. Oh, and the VERY loud housekeepers going around, banging on doors and yelling at each other in Chinese at 8 a.m. was a nice touch. The sore spot on my rib cage from where I slept and the housekeepers' inconsideration were soon forgotten, however, when we walked out the front door and straight into Trafalgar Square. Great place to sight see; not so great to, you know, sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10 GBP upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor message. It is concerning to learn you did not like our beds, and the fact that we were not aware of it during your stay. We would greatly appreciate if you would kindly email me marli.sadzinski@hilton.com the room number so I can investigate if the mattress needs to be changed.
Our Executive Housekeeper has been informed regarding the noise in the corridors and corrective action has taken place to avoid this to reoccur.
We hope to see you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I and our teenage son had a 6-night stay at the Trafalgar ending December 20, and we loved everything about this hotel. You can't beat its location within walking distance to most major attractions and West End plays, as well as happenings in Trafalgar Square. From the moment we checked in, service and accomodations were superb. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning and food was good and service was excellent. Staff were especially friendly overall, for help with directions, obtaining an electrical adaptor, allowing us to go up to the rooftop bar to take pictures (stunning views by the way), hailing a taxi, printing out emails for us, etc. This hotel and its staff are top-notch and we would recommend to anyone. We will definately be staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonTraveller52046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing with Trip Advisor readers your experience at The Trafalgar Hotel.
I am glad the location, service and facilities of our hotel were a plus to make your visit to London the most enjoyable.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Trafalgar has an excellent location, just on a corner of Trafalgar Square and walking distance from sights and restaurants.

Our room had a fantastic view over Tragalgar Square, room 203.

The sound insulation was impressive, even though the room was facing a busy street, our sleep was not disturbed.

The food was very good!

I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsBryne_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your message.
We thrive on daily basis to deliver a great service to all our guests and I am happy that you had a lovely stay at The Trafalgar.
Looking forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Booked four king deluxe rooms at this hotel and only one room was in the category booked. No mention has been made of reducing the prepaid price of the rooms. I decided to not even bother checking into my room, as the front desk tried to totally gloss over the fact that the room being assigned to me was not what I had already paid for and were going to assign me a room with a twin bed. My brother ended up having to move rooms because the shower overflowed into the rest of the bathroom.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the mix up with your reservation on your arrival.
I can assure you this was a one off situation, and corrective action has been taken to avoid this to reoccur.
I do hope you will reconsider your decision, and will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just back home after a lovely stay in London with my family at the Trafalgar Hotel in London. We occupied 4 rooms at the hotel - ages ranged from 16-83 yrs old - everybody had a great time. Location is brilliantly central. Nice rooms and tasty breakfast. Lobby Bar is really nice and the Rooftop Bar has a superb view. Staff are very friendly. A particular thank-you to Tom for whom nothing was too much trouble, who organised superbly and who had a permanent smile for everybody ... despite being very, very busy. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: all of our rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay with us. We value your feedback and were happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am happy to learn that you found our hotel to be clean, new, centrally located and our staff to be friendly and professional.
Your compliments have been passed on to our team members, in particular to Tom.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

With a location right in the heart of Trafalgar square, location is the key for this property.

Upon arrival on a busy Friday night, you would be thinking you'd stepped into a nightclub...as close to the TINY check in area is the downstairs bar where lots of people come after work, as well as visit the amazing roof top bar upstairs.

Highlights:

The service delivered by Marli when our luggage was lost by the airline and she went and over and beyond to ensure we were looked after.

The breakfast in the basement....fantastic service and high quality food (and great looking room)

The concierge (Tom? and another guy) and the security guys at the front

Quiet property within the rooms...you can't hear anything which is fantastic

Lowlights:

Check in staff were uninterested, rude

The room itself with the landing which had a chair and desk was not at all functional and quite dangerous at times.

We would definitely stay again should we visit London, as HHonors Gold and was given all the benefits

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinxyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Trafalgar Hotel with Trip advisors readers. It is encouraging to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Was delightful to meet to assist you during your stay, Tom is also sending his regards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#178 of 1,068 in London
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,068 in London
853 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing