We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a central location with lovely rooms”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #59 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business. I would guess it's been given a makeover recently, as the room was lovely, a good size and the furnishings and bathroom looked pretty new.
The public areas are very classy, well furnished and beautifully decorated. Rooms are stylish with good facilities - the one I had even had a coffee machine. Bathrooms modern and very clean with good quality toiletries.
Staff were very helpful and the check-in and -out were quick and efficient.
Restaurant and bar are in the basement, well decorated and modern. Breakfast is good, plenty of choice both cooked and continental breakfasts and service was quick.
The only thing that seemed to be missing was guests! I stayed on a Saturday night and the bar and restaurant were quiet, though there seemed to be more people about the next morning.
Would certainly recommend the hotel - it's in a good location, not far from British Museum, Oxford Street shops and Covent Garden. And it's high on my list of favourite hotels in London, so I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takeabrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,810 - 2,816 of 3,384 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

I spent 17 nights at this amazing hotel, it was my second stay there(within 6 months),and the service was excellent as usual.Special thanks to Zain,,Adnan,Brian,Gary, Paulo,Gary,Nalef, the front desk people (all),the General Manager and the duty manager,Mr.Chris Bowen and his staff notably Tanveer and Aashiq,the Polish guy in the lobby bar, the room service people, the housekeeper and Mr Jamaly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HemyS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BloomsburyDirofOps, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Your comments will be passed on to the team here at The Bloomsbury Hotel and all mentioned will receive a personal commendation.

Kind regards,

Larry Casillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Top quality hotel. Staff very helpful and knowleable.
Beds beautifully comfortable. Room very quiet until everyone started showering in the morning - but that is only a small annoyance.
Good location for museums, shopping, eating - secure NCP car park only a few yards away.
I would definitely stay here again, and also recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breaktaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Excelent hotel. Very nice and relatively spacious rooms, well maintained and furnished. Relative to othher big city hotels the rooms are not crouded and you don't suffer a claustrophoby feeling. Continental breakfast (part of our deal) was excelent and rich.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpfull. Great Location- close to Covent Garden , theter land , Trafalgar but in a very quiet place. Plenty excelent restorants in the neigborhood.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adomvatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The Bloomsbury is EASILY the best hotel that my husband and I have ever stayed in! The staff was so polite and accomodating, and provided exeptional service throughout our entire stay. The location is great (a two minute walk away from the British Museum), and the whole hotel was beautifully decorated and very modern. Our room was huge, even by American standards, and had a very comfortable pillow top bed with a fluffy comforter and pillows, a fully stocked desk and writing area, and two separate seating areas. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, a lighted sink, and a separate shower area with a large rain shower head and several separate wall shower spouts. Extra comforts included plush robes and slippers, plenty of extra towels, ample personal hygene and travel products, an in room espresso machine and fully stocked tea station, an in room safe, a television in the jacuzzi tub, complementary sparkling and still water and snacks, and maps and directories for London placed neatly on the desk in our room, just to name a few. The staff also held our luggage for us, free of charge, after we checked out so that we could spend some final hours exploring the city. I would rate this hotel with five stars based on the decor, service, location, and extra comforts, and am truly surprised that it is only rated with four stars. We found this hotel fairly expensive, but better priced than other comparable hotels in London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eighthwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BloomsburyDirofOps, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent visit. I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed everything The Bloomsbury Hotel had to offer. Also, many thanks for commending our service staff, who do their very best to cater to all of our guests' needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Although it is expensive we knew this before we booked so no real surprises there.
Our room was not ready for us when we arrived - not the best of starts - and not what you would expect for an establishment such as this.
The concierge service in respect to finding us bookings or getting access to places was useless.
Thats us done with the negetaives - everything else was positive - the room was excellent the ensuite bathroom was immaculate, the towels and bathrobes clean and fluffy, the room was decorated in the best taste, was well maintained and was very spacious and quiet.
The hotel restaurant and bar were very good and the staff only too pleased to assist - they understood my wifes Ceoliac allergy and recommended and adjusted things in the kitchen to suit - they even had gluten free bread- made her feel very comfortable - great! This ensured they received big personal tip from me!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank BeeBeeScotinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I found the Bloomsbury Hotel to be a solid 4 stars. The room size was pleasant for London, the bed comfortable, and the little extras appreciated - a good selection of magazines were in the room, the aromatic toiletries were nice, and the Nespresso Krups machine a convenient touch. The staff we encountered were polite and efficient, and the hotel was clean and elegantly decorated. The shower is an in-bath affair, which are never terribly comfortable to use, but it did the job.

Breakfast in the morning was enjoyable - the buffet selection had an array of museli toppings, some cooked meats, fruit, and the usual fare. From the hot breakfast, I had the waffle with syrup, which was thick and chewy and simply lovely - a good start to the day.

On the same street at the British Museum, this is a good hotel for the tourist, with Tottenham Court Road being the nearest tube station. Although I usually stay in other London locations, the Bloomsbury Hotel was comfortable and may draw me back to the Bloomsbury area in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraelizabethg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BloomsburyDirofOps, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I am also very pleased to read your feedback of our team, services and product and most importantly that your positive experience with us will be the driving force to bring you back to Central London. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury Hotel.

Best regards,

Larry Casillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,032 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,077 in London
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,663 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,482 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $220 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing