We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab 4 star Hotel at reasonable price in Central London”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #57 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab 4 star Hotel at reasonable price in Central London”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Bloomsbury hotel is very central but situtated in a very quiet street, the hotel has been newly refurbished, on arrival at reception we were handed heated cloths to refresh our hands,"great after a long journey" the staff are very good and extremely helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, We sampled the food a few times and was impressed with the standard, it was tasty and portions were good, We booked the lazy weekend which allowed you a long lye in the morning and drinks to the value of £25.00 in the bar, "great cocktail choice"
I would recommend this hotel and intend to return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear MaryNIreland,

Thank you very much for your positive review of The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is great to read such positive feedback and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do look forward to your return visit.

With best regards,
Michael Musgrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    762
    173
    45
    16
See reviews for
448
1,585
172
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights based on a travelzoo promotion and reviews. However, when I logged onto the hotel website, I could not get the promotion. We did not try the restaurant or bar so cannot comment. One minor issue - it took 3 inquiries to finally get a bar of hand soap on our last night.
Free internet connection (but no printer to print out boarding pass). Location was good. British Museum around the block from hotel. Five min. walk to Tube stop Tottenham Court Road on Central/North line. Buy the tube day pass for L5.60 and go all over. There is a TKTS booth at Leicester Square for discount play tickets. Don’t be fooled by all the booths when you exit the tube. They are not the real TKTS booth and charge you more. Take a one hour train ride to Windsor Castle. Be prepared that all of the attractions are expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labern116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear labern116,

Thank you for your review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies on the printer not working. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here on your next visit to London.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Many of the reviews here, even positive ones, do not give enough credit for how *under*priced this hotel is relative to the usually astronomical rates at london hotels. The main selling-points here are the fantastic location--down the street from the British Museum, about a minute's walk from the Tottenham Court Road tube station, and within comfortable walking distance of a host of other great areas/sites--and the modern, sophisticated look of the place. Standard rooms are on the small side, but still very comfortable with a great bed and nice linens. Breakfast is, indeed, a rip-off, although when we checked in we were very clearly informed about the price--if you reserve in advance it drops to 15 pounds, still a bit on the expensive side, especially when there are a lot of cheap cafes in the immediate vicinity.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Don't expect incredible luxury, but expect to pay a budget price for a very comfortable experience that you would normally get at a mid-range boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbw000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear dbw000,

Thank you for your positive review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted you had a great stay in London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

stayed here twice in July with work. The location could not be handier. Come out of Tottenham Court road tube and turn right past the Dominion Theatre
The hotel has had a refurb since it was Jury's. It's now even nicer. Rooms are on the small side unless you upgrade but are bright, modern a touch of luxury even and have everything you need inc tea/coffee.
In July and August- they seem to be doing a B&B deal of £120pn which is super value for the location and the standard of the food. Staff are pleasant and helpful.
Will certainly use again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonmcauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear sharonlovesspain,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bloomsbury Hotel and for the positive comments. We do look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed here before when it was Jurys and although the price has gone up a bit, it is all the better for its renovation. Really nicely styled room and an Ok size for London. Our room only had a shower and no bath but it was still good.

Location is excellent a few mins walk from Tottenham Court tube and eaily walkable to covent garden.

Reception staff were really efficient and it was a nice touch to welcome you withe hot towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear joel76,

Thank you for your positive review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted you like the changes that have taken place and continue to do so. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I love this hotel and have stayed here three times. It's a perfect base for a weekend in London.

It's recently been refurbished and the newly redecorated rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are small but great. The old character of the building also adds some charm to the lobby area.

The location is excellent- just off New Oxford Street, beside the tube, close to Soho and West End yet in a quiet street so you are not disturbed by noise.

It's great value for what you get and for the location and there are often good offers available.

I have not eaten here but have used the bar which is fine.

Keep returning to this central, comfortable hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear genzer,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am happy that your stays with us are enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

great hotel - great location - rooms are not too small and are all newly furnished this is by far the nicest hotel for the money we have stayed at in London would deffo stay again and recommend it highly
nice brekkie lots of choices - very polite staff
great hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear daisydunne,

Thank you for your review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and for your complements regarding breakfast. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,220 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,069 in London
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing