We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room and ok size for London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #57 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice room and ok size for London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed here before when it was Jurys and although the price has gone up a bit, it is all the better for its renovation. Really nicely styled room and an Ok size for London. Our room only had a shower and no bath but it was still good.

Location is excellent a few mins walk from Tottenham Court tube and eaily walkable to covent garden.

Reception staff were really efficient and it was a nice touch to welcome you withe hot towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear joel76,

Thank you for your positive review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted you like the changes that have taken place and continue to do so. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    729
    163
    44
    16
See reviews for
409
1,506
160
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

I love this hotel and have stayed here three times. It's a perfect base for a weekend in London.

It's recently been refurbished and the newly redecorated rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are small but great. The old character of the building also adds some charm to the lobby area.

The location is excellent- just off New Oxford Street, beside the tube, close to Soho and West End yet in a quiet street so you are not disturbed by noise.

It's great value for what you get and for the location and there are often good offers available.

I have not eaten here but have used the bar which is fine.

Keep returning to this central, comfortable hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear genzer,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am happy that your stays with us are enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

great hotel - great location - rooms are not too small and are all newly furnished this is by far the nicest hotel for the money we have stayed at in London would deffo stay again and recommend it highly
nice brekkie lots of choices - very polite staff
great hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear daisydunne,

Thank you for your review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and for your complements regarding breakfast. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We chose the Bloomsbury Hotel after reading the some good reviews on it. Booked a week stay at deluxe room which we paid higher for the comfort with amenities like bath robes and slippers. Here are our experience with hotel.

The Good:

Hotel is nice being recently refurbished. Friendly service at the restaurant, and concierge; especially Brian, the head concierge, who helped us with the tour & show tickets. Food was pretty good at the restaurant and we visited twice since we were too tired to get out to explore on other restaurants for 2 nites.

Location is okay with Tottenham station around the corner but we did not particularly like the neighborhood near this station.

The Bad:

There are steps to get to the lobby which we did not really like; especially if you were struggling with your big baggages. Of course, we could leave the bags on the street and go into the lobby to request concierge to pick them up but there must be someone watching the baggages while another go get the concierge.

Front desk was ok but lack of smiles. We had a little disappointment during check in with the front desk guy. When we make comments about the room that reserved for us too close to the elevator (we requested a room away from elevator) and wanted to take a look at the room. He abruptly snatched back our reservation form showing an attitude problem. It was bad to have guests forming a first bad impression right at the beginning.

Hotel seems to be a little under staff maybe due to the current economic situation. Concierge is very helpful but sometimes, they are not available because only one was on duty. We were told that there was no housekeeping available until after 9.00 am when we were running out of coffee and sugar in the morning. Operator did not volunteer to help unless you asked.

Two days in a row, false fire alarm went off 4 times in early morning. One time in one day and 3 times in another within 1 hr. We called to check and was told they were trying to fix it. No morning call necessary for that morning. A good insurance not to oversleep.

Room has free internet connection but was not wireless. Refrigerator is locked with beverages and have no space for your own beverages.
Basin was leaking and we need to place a towel underneath it.
Not sure if it was fixed but the towel was placed there till we left.

There are many other hotels in the neighborhood to check out if you want to live in this area. It was ok to stay here if you want a newly refurbished facility.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear pepysway,

Thank you for your review on The Bloomsbury Hotel both positive and negative. Unfortunately some of the negative things are areas out of our control due to health and safety but the others are areas we will work on to improve.

Once again thank you and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

I booked a Friday night out in London as a treat for me and my girlfriend and choose this hotel to stay over for the night,I read lots of the reviews on here and decided to try it out,I'm so glad I did because we both had a lovely stay after a long day and a night out.The hotel is fantastic both inside and out and the staff were all very polite and helpful with our needs,it's also in a perfect location for all the sights/bars/restaurants around the West End,a couple of minutes walk and your right in the mix! The rooms are superb with large LCD TV's and a nice bathroom too,last but not least I'd like to mention the beds,they are so comfortable! we had a king size bed and both slept really well,I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolbalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear Kolbalio,

Thank you very much for your feedback on The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is with delight to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in June 2009. The hotel was wonderful. Good service, vey modern and clean and bright. Our room was smaller than rooms we've had in other hotels, but was stil an OK size. Location wise is excellent for getting to Covent Garden and the theatres. We didn't eat at the hotel as we stayed on a room only babsis so I can't comment on the food, but there is a great little cafe just across the road which did lovely lunches and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallopine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear Scallopine01,

Thank you for your positive review on The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted you had a great stay in London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Beautiful hotel in a great location, perfect as a base for exploring London and at a reasonable price - what more do you ask for! We stayed for three nights last week and were very impressed by the cleanliness, decor and furnishings in the hotel. We had a packed schedule upon arrival in London, so much to see and do (including a day at the Tennis Championships in Wimbledon!). We ate in the restaurant twice. On both occasions the restaurant staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the food was gorgeous! Compliments to the chef! We had a few drinks in the bar each night, the staff are very friendly and attentive. The Bar Manager, Pritan, in particular went out of his way to please us and also made us some super cocktails! Overall our experience in this hotel was fantastic! We look forward to our return in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deputy-Manager, Deputy General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear RainieL,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and we look forward to your return in the future.

With best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing