We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“My favorite hotel. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #59 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels, including many luxury hotels, and this is my favorite hotel ever. We arrived here after originally having booked a less expensive hotel, but when we went to check into that hotel, I just thought it was too grim and industrial to stay in for a vacation in London that we'd long been looking forward to. After looking at the reviews for the Bloomsbury Hotel, we arrived here, and couldn't have been happier.

It's everything you'd want in a London hotel. Beautiful, great location. Heck, it even smells great. The appointments are as nice, and the service is as good as any of the best hotels I've stayed at. But it's the staff who really set the place apart. They are completely wonderful -- genuinely nice and helpful, from the gentleman who took our bags at the door, to the lovely woman who booked us in, to the two concierges who took it upon themselves (bless them) to sort out a large snafu with our rental car. This is the kind of hotel you remember with great fondness, and come back to. We certainly will.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meichner27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I read with great pleasure that we have become a wonderful memory for you, much owing to our team and the beautiful building we work in.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    667
    145
    39
    16
See reviews for
344
1,331
143
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have planned our birthday party for our kids and the Head Chief-Sir Paul (very down to earth person) assisted us with all the menu and other arrangments. We are including our guest was very impressed with the selection of the menu, great tasting food, great venue (being in the center of London), room are clean and very helpful staff . The breakfast selection is also great.Our guess was also impressed that they wanted to arrange there party in the future also in the hotel .
I would definitely well come back and stay, book an event in this hotel. Im completely satisfied with our stay, the venue, the food, excellent support of the staff especially the Head Chief-Sir Paul and Maria who have help us above and beyond of there Job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. I have shared this review with our Executive Chef, Paul and Maria – they are humbled for being singled out.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
301 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 incredible days in London and on the recommendation of friends, stayed at The Bloomsbury Hotel. There were so many wonderful details about this hotel, it's hard to know where to begin. As we walked into the lobby after our trek from the airport via the Underground, there was a lovely aroma that filled the lobby and we were to discover much of the hotel, that came from scented candles that created an ambiance of feeling more like we were n a very elegant home than a hotel. The hotel staff and concierge were professional and very helpful. Our room had a king size bed and enough space to feel like we weren't cramped. And the rooms were very quiet, although the area where the hotel is located was on a busy street. A few hours after we arrived, there was a knock on the door and we were greeted with a tray of fresh fruit and desserts with a lovely note from the concierge welcoming us to London. I can't say enough about hotel and their caring and helpful staff except that on the last night we were there, when we were reviewing our plans to have to get to the airport, the staff arranged to send up complementary coffee at 6:30 in the morning so we could at least be caffeinated before heading onto our next leg of our journey. I am sure there are many wonderful hotels to stay at in London, but we felt incredibly fortunate to have stayed at The Bloomsbury which was so warm, welcoming and classy!

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor, but I think the entire building is built with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. Our team will be thrilled with your review, which is encouraging and rewarding.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love staying here, the staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The concierge can never do enough for you. Fantastic location right on Covent Garden, China Town, Oxford Street etc. Food is always delicious and the bar has a fantastic ambience and selection of drinks, always served by very friendly staff. Rooms are luxurious, very well equiped, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathroom has everything you need. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Its amazing, we always feel so special when we stay there and very well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winifred05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. It is a very warming feeling to read that this experience was one of the best hotel experiences you have had!

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A perfect place to stay for that weekend away in London. Most places were within walking distance, even The Thames, about 20 mins. Our room was 609, that although at the back of the hotel overlooking another building, it was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the little extras like bed turning down service and chocolates. The bathroom was compact with little space to put things but it was adequate for our needs. Breakfast was served until 11.30 so it gave us the opportunity to have a lie in. Service of breakfast was a little slow but when it arrived it was delicious. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none, I am delighted that we suited your needs so well, the little touches are the details that we take great pride in ensuring are right. I appreciate your feedback on breakfast, although delighted you enjoyed.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here with my friend in May. We wanted somewhere in a good location so we could go out for a meal and drinks. Couldn't have been more convenient literally 2 minute walk from tube station. On check in we were given hot towels to clean our hands and elderflower cordial.(The reception smelt amazing!) Our luggage was then delivered to our room. Our room was lovely comfortable bed, nice modern bathroom and air conditioning. My only criticism is breakfast not included in the price extra £25 each.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none, I am delighted that we suited your needs so well. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

We do also offer

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers quality boutique suites close to soho Coventry garden and Leicester square. Breakfast until 11,30 fantastic and the barman kabir is a great asset to the company with nothing a problem he looked after us well. Thank you all

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andygilbert123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience created, and that our breakfast offered until 1130 was appreciated by you. I will personally thank Kabir for his contribution.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#18 of 1,072 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,962 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing