We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #57 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Bloomsbury on Friday and Saturday night and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay. A very smooth check-in, room was ready and waiting for us and the concierge was so helpful. We stayed in room 206 and although we did not have a view, it was very quiet and I had a very very good nights sleep. The room was spotless and well equipped. Bathroom was spotless. We were so close to the west end and we were able to walk to both of the shows we had booked. Also breakfast was such a relaxed affair, served up to 11.00am which enabled us to have a long lie in on Sunday morning. I would definately stay here again. No complaints whatsoever. 5/5

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHeavenDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear HolidayHeavenDundee

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your 5 star review!

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,167
    737
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
416
1,530
163
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DUBAI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to the Bloomsbury and I highly recommend it.

Reception area has a calm vibe compared with most other hotels that are all hustle and bustle. Check in was swift with an extremley pleasant and professional host. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious by London standards. The room is well equipped also has good temp controls and a spacious bathroom with seperate shower.
The room was cleaned to a good standard each day.

The location is perfect a 1min walk to Tottenham court road station. Local shop and restraunts right out side with a supermarket and pharmacy at the end of street. Within Walking distance to Oxford street, Leicester square and Covent garden.

This is a well kept hotel that has charm and character. Rooms are well maintained.
There are often good rates to be found which is an added bonus.

I have stayed in several hotels in London but Bloomsbury remains top of my list. I will be returning to stay on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCIE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Brucie43

Thank you so much for your charming review! It gives us great pleasure to know that you have chosen to return !

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent a superb time at the hotel. We had a lovely welcome by the staff; nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and well-equipped and quiet. How civilized it is, too, to be able to go down, at the latest by 11.00 a.m., for breakfast and still find a wide variety of food to eat. We are not "morning" people so this was a treat not to have to rush and we could take our time to wake up! The Bloomsbury Hotel is approximately 20-25 minutes walk from the theatres in the West End which was ideal for us as we had come up so see two plays. We walked to Camden Market as well. Another bonus. It is possible to eat an evening meal at the hotel, but there are plenty of nearby restaurants if you wish to eat out. Nonetheless, the food is very reasonable in price; they do a cracking hot chocolate. The hotel is very near the Dickens Museum. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. We shall stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear marple5

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It gives me great pleasure to know that our team contributed so much to your overall experience.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a fine hotel with a relaxed atmosphere that you feel as soon as you walk in the front doors, thanks to the soft lighting and scented candles burning in the lobby that feels more like the sitting room of a large home. The location is convenient for the West End, shopping on Oxford Street, Soho, Covent Garden and the British Museum. The Tottenham Court Tube station is just 5 minutes away and the hotel is easily reached by taxi from Paddington Train Station if you are arriving in the UK via Heathrow.

Rooms are quiet and well-appointed with comfortable beds, good quality linens and pillows. The hotel has a small but well-equipped fitness centre, although there is no pool. The business centre is located at one end of the lobby with terminals, printer and scanner. Wifi is available throughout the hotel.

The staff members are very friendly and helpful. All requests are met with a smile and fulfilled as soon as possible.

Breakfast is served in the lower ground floor restaurant that also serves as the dinner time restaurant. Breakfast is either from a buffet or from the menu and is well-prepared. The dinner time experience did not match up with expectations created by the rest of the experience at the hotel. The food was not so well-prepared and the prices too high for the quality delivered. You will have a better experience at nearby restaurants for less money.

For a central London hotel in this location with the level of service and quality of rooms the Bloomsbury is a very good value proposition well-worth your consideration.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are definitely on the small size. If you will be spending time in your room and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear RobMat23

Thank you so much for your glowing review! I am so pleased that your time with us and in London was of great enjoyment.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Lovely place for a Saturday in London. Room was great and staff very friendly. Great breakfast and room had plenty of space, nespresso was great, bathroom was very nice with a great shower. Quick to check in and out and again very friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdandyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear mcdandyandy,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very pleasant stay - the Bloomsbury has a great relaxing feel to it. Cosy comfortable room and not at all noisy. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - would especially recommend the burger! Our only quibble was the breakfast. The buffet style breakfast was fairly limiting and wasn't replenished - we had to ask. Overall though we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Lezz58

Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted your stayed was enjoyable, I am also grateful for your comments in regards to breakfast - I will personally talk to the team and share this with them.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great hotel, in a central location for a reasonable room rate for London. What more could you ask for. Our room was clean and cozy. Didn't have a great nights sleep due to the fire alarm going off three times but that aside would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Alison R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. First and foremost I am delighted your stay was enjoyable. I do apologise for the alarm disturbance, it regrettably was out of our control in this instance.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London on your next visit and if there is any further I can do please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing