We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel as part of threatre stayover for my daughters 21st”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel as part of threatre stayover for my daughters 21st”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great weekend in London with our daughters and her friends. Very friendly staff, rooms are small but very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable, I enjoyed one of best nights sleep...in a long time! Brilliant location for getting around this fabulous city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Karen C

Thank you for your fantastic review.

A great nights sleep, great location and proximity is a ideal foundation for a superb experience. We are grateful you choose the Doyle Collection to enjoy your family break.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,132
    726
    163
    43
    16
See reviews for
407
1,503
160
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you want good service and high standards you need look no further, this hotel ticks all the boxes. Beautifully appointed rooms and free wifi throughout the hotel is a bonus. The staff are very friendly and keen to please. Lovely bar and good food. The reception/lobby area has large comfy seating and throughout the hotel scented candles burn so a beautiful aroma is everywhere. Great location, walking distance to Leicester Square, Covert Garden and theatre land. Oxford Street shopping is on the door step too as well as the British Museum. We had a perfect weekend break here.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear denise h

Thank you very much for your review. It is so good to hear that you had a great time in London, that you choose The Bloomsbury Hotel London to be your home from home.

The candles are beautiful and a real favorite in the local community and regular guests who stay with us!

I delighted we 'ticked' all boxes and I hope this will make us your preference for future visits to the capital.

With Best Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday, the hotel was lovely. The staff were really nice, and the room although small was very nice and clean. The location was ideal, right down the road from Tottenham court tube station and the Hakasan Restuarant. We had cocktails in the bar before we went out for the evening and the bar was cool, would recommend to stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattzzzz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Matzzzz76

Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted your birthday celebrations went well and that we were fortunate to be your host. Our location and proximity to some of London's major attractions and award winning restaurants is such a benefit to all of our guests.

I very much hope you will come back to experience the hotel once again.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for one night in a suite. From arrival to departure, all staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. All areas were spotlessly clean and of very high standards. Suite was very spacious and well decorated. Landseer Bar was a lovely way to end an evening out, relaxed and stress free.
Will definitely visit here again, ideal spot for West End and sightseeing. Worth paying that little bit more for a quality hotel

Room Tip: Suites are well equipped with coffee maker, kettle etc, iron/ironing board, mini bar. Ideal if stopp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Karen H

Thank you so much for your kind review of your experience with us and your time in London.

It is great to read such wonderful comments, it is very motivational for us here at the hotel.


I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel personally on your next visit with us.

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has a great location just of Tottenham Court Road, so close to Oxford Street and theatres and you can easily connect to other parts of the city via the Underground.
A very comfortable hotel with almost a "boutique" feel about it. Rooms are on the small side but certainly large enough for a short stay and they are very well furnished and maintained offering some nice details such as complimentary Nespresso. Reception staff give a pleasant welcome and the restaurant offers a good menu. Overall a great hotel for a business or short leisure stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear CJMarbella

Thank you very much for your review! I am delighted you had a good experience and the location was ideal for you.

Your comments about our Nespresso machines and the other details in the hotel remind us of the importance of attention to detail. I appreciate you taking the time to make mention.

We very much hope to welcome you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Bloomsbury Hotel seriously expands your view on price/performance ratio against similar hotels in this part of London. Make sure you stop by the Landseer Bar. Perfect mix of dining and bar, professional and personal atmosphere, well selected wine menue. The outstanding service staff needs to be pointed out. You have a sophisticated question about Wine? Ask for Jeff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Patrick R

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and comments about Jeff. I am delighted you have given special merit to one of our team members, equally so, I am glad you enjoyed the wine offering and service in our hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a wonderful hotel, the location is excellent and the hotel itself is warm and welcoming. We had a super room, spacious, furnished to a high standard, clean and comfortable. From arrival to departure the whole experience was brilliant. A special mention must go to Jeffry, what an asset to the hotel. Working in the reception bar, nothing is to much trouble, he even treated me to a wonderful honey and lemon drink for my sore throat ! Thanks Jeffry for making our stay extra special. It was our second visit, and from now on every time we go to London The Bloomsbury will be our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDHarris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear CDHarris9

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jeffry was of note to you, I will be sure to share your review with him.

I hope you are feeling better, and hope on your next stay with us will be as enjoyable as this one.

Best wishes

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Cancelon, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing